We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest place I've ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest place I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My daughters (ages 17 and 21) and I just came back from a week-long stay at the Coconut Inn and I can't say enough good things about it. First of all, Pass-a-Grille is a great place for a relaxing and laid-back beach vacation. There are no big hotels, condos, boardwalks, etc. -- just a lovely, quiet beach. The Coconut Inn is small and as close to the beach as you can get - you have to only walk across a little residential street and you're there. It was faster to get to the beach than other places I've stayed that were advertised as "on the beach." The rooms all have a complete kitchen with full-size appliances and has all the cookware and dishware you need (even wineglasses)! I made all our meals and also made use of their brand-new, huge grill. The grounds are very clean, with a small but really nice pool that has fountains and even a jacuzzi-type "spa-cove" in one corner.
They provide some really nice touches that are inexpensive to provide, but make your stay nicer -- full-size bars of Ivory soap (instead of those awful smelling little bars hotels usually give you), a roll of paper towels for the kitchen, a dustpan and brush, and dish detergent. The fridge is full-size, with a normal-sized freezer, so you can buy a bag of ice if you need it (there is no ice machine). They also will give you towels for the beach and have beach chairs, pool toys, floats, and noodles -- all of which are great when you are flying in and can't bring all that stuff. Who wants to check a suitcase full of beach towels on an airplane? The Publix grocery store is about 10 minutes away by car, but there is also a nice little supermarket within walking distance that has everything you could need, including very nice-looking chicken, steaks, and even kabobs.
Best of all, though, is the staff. I can't say enough wonderful things about Eddie, Anna, and Ed who manage and clean the Coconut Inn. They are lovely people and will get you anything you need. They were frequently asking us if we wanted anything and if they could help us in any way. They worked very hard to make our stay a pleasant one and kept the rooms and grounds clean and well-maintained. I enjoyed talking to them very much. I also talked to Joe, the owner, when I made my reservation and he sounded so friendly also that I am sorry I missed him during our stay.
All in all, this is just a wonderful place with the friendliest , nicest staff I've ever encountered. They really make the Coconut Inn an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfanfrompgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Coconut Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
Thank you SO much for your review and for choosing Coconut Inn. We are glad that you discovered and enjoyed Pass-a-Grille as much as we do. We are also very proud of our staff and feel lucky to have them. Hope to have you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    94
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
178
247
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Coconut Inn for two nights in June. Overall it was exactly what I was looking for. As a native Floridian, I wanted that "old Florida" feel for a beach location, and the Coconut Inn was perfect. The rooms were remodeled with brand new hardwood floors, a comfy bed, new kitchen appliances, updated bathroom, and flat-screen tv. If I could describe the place in one word, it would be "quaint." The location is perfect; right across the street from the beach, and within very short walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We stayed in room #5 and could see the beach from our front balcony where we enjoyed relaxing on the lounge chairs and enjoying the view and ocean breeze.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We were very pleased to find this newly-renovated gem. The staff is one of the friendliest and most helpful we have ever known. They worked very hard to work things out to accomodate my husband and me as well as our son and his family. Everything is very
clean and comfortable and just steps away from what we think is the best of the Pinellas County beaches. The bathrooms could be bigger, but, hey, how much time are you going to spend in there anyway?

Ed & Lois
Odessa, Florida

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1nivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

When at St. Pete Beach, we usually stay at an upscale hotel in the middle of all the hustle & bustle. This trip we decided to "wing it". We headed to St. Pete without any reservations or knowing where we would end up.

It was after business hours when we arrived in St. Pete & we worried it would be difficult to find a place. We drove around looking for the "perfect" place. We've always enjoyed the atmosphere of Pass-a-Grille, so we drove further south.

We happened upon Coconut Inn and called the number on the sign. Eddie answered and was accomodating from the start. He told us about an available studio & even let us look at it before we made a decision. We loved it & the rate was affordable. We decided to go to the grocery store before we unloaded. When we returned, Eddie was there ready to help us unload...a whole Suburban full!

We loved that the beach was just a short walk away. The beach is clean and uncrowded. The Coconut Inn offers beach chairs for it's guests but we brought our own. If you're on the beach at sundown, don't let the ringing bell scare you....it's not sharks, just a tradition in Pass-a-Grille.

The intercoastal waters were also a short walk in the opposite direction. That was great for night-time fishing. Our 12 year old son was determined to catch a shark! :) No sharks were caught this trip but we did see a manatee and a dolphin one evening. It was relaxing just sitting on one of the many benches, listening to the water, birds & sea life jumping around in the water.

Restaurants, a convienence store, a laundry mat (for those long stays) and numerous art stores/boutiques were also close by. You just can't beat Coconut Inn's location!

We spent time at Ft. Desoto, which is just a short drive away. There my husband & son fished while I acted as the Paparazzi. They had a wonderful time catching all sorts of fish at the Gulf Pier. We also saw a manatee any numerous dolphins! We could not have seen so many dolphins, so close up, for so long with a "pay" excursion! The dolphins came right up to the pier and would even chase the catch that was being reeled in......be CAREFUL!

At the beginning of each day we would see Eddie, Anna &/or Ed. They were fabulous hosts! Always making sure we were enjoying our stay and checking if there was anything we needed. We had the most interaction with Eddie, who was always happy to give directions or suggest a restaurant or local shop. Our son loved Eddie and we appreciated his kindness.

At the end of each day we would return to a clean room stocked with plenty of bath towels. The enitire property was always clean & inviting. The pool was a great way to relax after a long day in the sun. I found it a little too warm if the hot tub feature was turned on. If the feature was off, it was perfect! My son loved the unique fountains at the pool. Be sure to tap the fountain housing.....it makes the water "jump"!

There are only a few things we would liked to have seen:
1. Kitchen linens
2. A broom in the room, for the sand that creeps in & any crumbs after cooking/eating
3. Some sort of discount for stays over 3 or 4 nights

The flat screen TV w/ cable was nice to have & the bed was oh-so comfy! In regards to other reviews, the bathroom is small, but hey, I'm there for the beach! The air conditioner was great.....not noisy at all!

We were extremely pleased with our 5 night stay! No more pricey hotels for us! We will definitely go back......maybe even making it a Family Tradition! Next time we'll probably go for the 1 bedroom, the extra room & privacy will be appreciated as our son is a growing boy.

Thank you Coconut Inn & Staff!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memoriesof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Me, my mom, and my three young sons just spent four nights at the Coconut Inn. We were in unit 11 and thought everything was perfect. The room had everything we needed and slept the five of us comfortably. The bathroom was small but functional. The furnishings were all from Ikea-surprising but cool. The pool is small but very nice. My boys were crazy about the fountains.
The managers, Eddie and Anna, were always available and super friendly. They provided daily housekeeping and lots of clean towels. We used the hotel provided beach chairs every day.
There are several restaurants, an ice cream shop, and a few cute boutiques within walking distance. The beach is just a few steps from the motel.
Our family has been making an annual trip to the beach for the last five years. We've stayed at a different motel in the St. Pete Beach area each year. This is the first motel that we are planning to return to.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeKFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a jewel of a place, brand new, clean, all IKEA appliances, well designed. Best value on the island. The staff is accessible, friendly and very helpful, they really do want you to have a great time and are working all the time to keep the place spotless. Ana, Emilio and Eddy are so warm and hospitable, it's like having family without the dysfunction.
This place is like staying in a plush key west compound without the smell of beer in the morning and at half the price.
Steps from the gulf, several dolphin sightings a day, quiet, we had the best vacation in a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdalenacooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My family and I stayed in the studio apartment for 2 nights and loved the place. Upon arrival we were greeted by management. They were very friendly and helped us with our luggage. They even asked if we would like to see the room first to make sure it would work for us (we were traveling with a 4 yr old). The room looked just like the photos and was very clean and new looking. The studio apartment is a bit small but we had no problem living there for a few days. If we were staying longer we would opt for the 1 bedroom apartment. The pool and surrounding deck areas were great. My son loved the pool (with the cool fountains) even more than the beach (although the beach and water were beautiful). My wife and I appreciated the pool side seating and little table right outside of our suite door. We were able to put our son to sleep and be within eyesight while we watched the sun go down and sipped on cold beer.

Beyond the inn the adjacent beech was fantastic. The inn is right across from the public beach entrance, taking about 3 min. to walk. The beach was clean and free of crowds. The water was shallow, sandy, very warm and crystal clear. We saw many fish and a ray. During low tide a few tidal pools offered our son an adventurous spot to search for sea critters.

The surrounding neighborhood is very casual and residential. The north end of the island is all high rise buildings and busy. This is the sleepy south end. About 1 block south sits a few places to eat and an ice cream shop, some eats are better than others. We loved the pizza and pasta at Gennaro's (very authentic NY style pizza) and we liked the Warf (very local, casual and great steamed shrimp). Both of these are about 10 blocks north. Another great thing about the location is its proximity to Fort De Soto Park; about 15 - 20 min. via car. Well worth the trip. The north shore beach rivals those in southeastern mexico. Go early on a weekday to avoid the crowd.

All in all the Coconut Inn was the perfect family getaway. A very friendly staff, kid friendly, nice rooms, great service and a good value. We will return again and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archibrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,865 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sabal Palms Inn
Sabal Palms Inn
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
3.0 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Inn

Property: Coconut Inn
Address: 113 11th Ave, 113 11th Avenue, Historic Pass-a-Grille, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Inn is steps away from the sparkling Gulf of Mexico on historic Pass-a-Grille Beach. Recently renovated, Coconut Inn offers brand new modern studios, one bedroom and two bedroom units. All units have fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the pool, complimentary bicycles, gas grill, beach chairs and free Wi-Fi in the outdoor courtyard. Laundry facilities available. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber of Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. 2015 Winner of the SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Coconut Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing