We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute location , but uncomfortable sleeping”
Review of Coconut Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at Coconut Inn in order to enjoy a little leisure time to end a work trip. We enjoyed the quaintness of Pass a Grille and the tiny, beach community, but would not go back to Coconut Inn. We were in room number 5, a studio with a beach view. The problem was sleeping; we heard our neighbors' every move and word, water running in pipes on both sides of the room, and the washing machine and dryer running below us at all hours. We were also affected by the cheap IKEA bedding and very poor quality mattress. The room was ver clean, but bring your own pool and beach towels as they are not provided.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank familyvisitor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 703 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed here. Again, room was super clean and staff was extrememly nice. Check in was very easy and staff showed us to our room. Although we didn't use it, they have a new outdoor patio area with a grill, stove top, fridge and bar area. Looks very, very nice.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms with an ocean view, which we were lucky enough to get this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We (Franz, Nora and Paula from Germany) just came back home after spending three perfect weeks at the Coconut Inn in Pass-A-Grille! The location of that nice and cosy hotel can not be beaten, the sea and the Boca Ciega bay are only a stone throw away, same as shops and the historic 8th street of PAG. We loved the heated pool and took the bicycles (they are for free!) for a nice stroll through the town. As we were at the Coconut Inn for the second time, we know different 2-bedroom-appartements and they are all highly recommendable! Just recently, a beautiful outdoor patio which can be used for BBQ was opened. The staff of the Coconut Inn was our cherry on the cake :))) They were extremely helpful (and funny too!) Special thanks to Edi and Emigdio!!!! We already miss you and can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

In the heart of a great little town. Wonderful 10 room boutique hotel in a great lil town that rolls it's one street of commerce at about 7pm, just like we like it. Relaxing and living the beach comer life at its best.
spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, with all the kitchen pots pans and utensils you could expect.
our room was serviced every day with towels, soaps, everything you could ever expect. The staff was exceptional, friendly, helpful, and happy as clams. They even washed the dishes we used, greasy frying pans, the whole works.
Bicycles at the ready for exploring the area were a great touch, we put many miles on them.
As charming as can be, in a great local, with exceptional staff, at a very reasonable rate.
We will go back, and recommend to anyone that will listen.
our room #5 was small but we didn't care, the view was probably their best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mix9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in room 6 for 3 nights over a gorgeous 80-degree December weekend and it was just awesome! The Coconut Inn was a perfect place to completely relax. It's a block to the gorgeous, very mellow beach -- in addition to all the beach enjoyment you would expect (reading, walking, swimming), the sunshiny days wrapped up with picturesque sunsets AND we got to see dolphins swimming every day. After watching the sunset, you can walk the 1-minute back to the hotel and sit in the heated pool-- we didn't realize at first, but the little hotel pool is actually a big hotel hottub. I don't know if it's always that warm, but it was 98 degrees, which is just heavenly to experience the last few minutes of sunlight and transition into the evening. The room was nice and roomy, and I loved having a kitchen in the room-- we stopped at the whole foods on the way from the airport to Pass-a-Grille which worked out perfectly--a stocked fridge with all the foods we like to eat. Rooms 4 and 5 face the beach, which is totally great... I may like 6 just a little bit better because it's in the corner with it's own entry stairs, so there is no reason for anyone to walk by the room on the way to their room which gave it a more private feeling. The staff was really friendly, the room was clean every day (they even cleaned a dish I had left in the sink!). The Coconut Inn was a great find and I am already looking forward to going back!! As much as I loved our stay and will totally go back, I will say that the mattress is firm, so if the plushness of the mattress is your highest priority, then this will not be your place. If clean, comfortable, home-away-from home with amazing sunsets is your goal, then the Coconut Inn is a worth checking out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The Coconut Inn was awesome..Very clean and room was perfect for two..#4 only downside was bed and pillows were very uncomfortable..but spa pool helped...Service was superb!! Cute little town off beaten track..Sunset to die for!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed in room 5 for 3 nights in November. The Coconut Inn itself is incredibly charming. Picture perfect, extremely clean, prime location. We walked across the quiet street to walk on the soft white sand at the beach. The beach was perfect for long, quiet walks, with a lot of shells, and sea life. We enjoyed the sandpipers, pelicans, and dolphins! The sunrise in the morning and sunset at night was so beautiful and peaceful. Our short stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,927 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
429 reviews
0 mi away
Havana Inn
Havana Inn
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
718 reviews
3 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Inn

Address: 113 11th Ave, 113 11th Avenue, Historic Pass-a-Grille, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $184 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Inn is steps away from the sparkling Gulf of Mexico on historic Pass-a-Grille Beach. Recently renovated, Coconut Inn offers brand new modern studios, one bedroom and two bedroom units. All units have fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the pool, complimentary bicycles, gas grill, beach chairs and free Wi-Fi in the outdoor courtyard. Laundry facilities available. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber of Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. 2015 Winner of the SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Coconut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Coconut Inn St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing