We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sirata Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Independence, Missouri
13
Reviewed May 17, 2006

We were at the Sirata in May 2006 and loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a broken foot and we were trying to figure out how I was going to get to the beach. A maintance employee approached us to let us know that they had special wheelchairs for me to go to the beach. He told us to wait and went and got it. The wedding reception food was wonderful as was the Mangrove Grill.
The only problem was housekeeping. They missed cleaning our room on one of the days we were there. Overall our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,225)
There are newer reviews for Sirata Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,862 - 3,868 of 4,225 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
311
Reviewed May 10, 2006

We have just returned from a week at the Sirata. The hotel has the potential to do better - it desperately needs up-dating. Our room, which had apparently just been re-decorated(????) was tiny, we could not pass each other easily and the bathroom was like a shoe box. We did have a good view of the gulf but it would have been nice if our balcony was not a walkway. The room smelt as if it needed a good airing but the windows were screwed into the frame and unless you want to display your room and belongings to passers by, had to keep the door closed. We didn't experience any direct problems with the staff however, the hairdryer in the room was broken and despite several requests, it was never fixed. I was very disappointed in the management for not dealing with a large group of adults who each day were drunk and very loud around the pool, drinking and eating IN the pool -sometimes from glass bottles. There are signs - no eating / drinking etc but guests and staff alike chose to ignore this even though small children were playing nearby. To difficult to deal with perhaps. I think this hotel is overpriced and considering the number of hotels along Gulf Blvd - I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New England
118
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Just returned from the Sirata. Stayed a week (4/24/06 - 4/28/06). Since we use this site to gather information for our yearly vacations I thought is was only fair to return the favor.

HOTEL PROPERTY: Average: Clean and well landscaped. Attractive exterior. Limited parking.

HOTEL LOCATION : Average: Publix short walk down the street. Plenty of rental car agencies.

BEACH LOCATION: Above average: Beachfront. Great views. Easy access to and from the beach. Beach showers, hammocks and palm tree covered picnic and seating areas. Alittle bit of a walk to the oceans edge from the hotel property.

HOTEL ROOMS : Average: Adequate for the age of the buildings. Kitchenette was a nice feature. Rooms in need of updating. According to the display in the hotel lobby room renovations are scheduled for this year (2006)

POOLS / HOT TUBS : Average: Pools and hot tubs are alittle on the small side but kept very clean. Plenty of poolside chairs. Between the three pools there is more than enough space for relaxation and tanning. Multiple shaded areas if you don't want the sun. Need to get poolside towels daily from the towel hut.

FRONT DESK STAFF: Average: Not overly friendly. Front desk seems to be run by mostly young adults (under 25) who have little knowledge of the area or Hotel business.

CONCIERGE : Above average: Excellent. Friendly staff. Eager to please. Very well versed in their job. Know the area, events, attractions and have plenty of contacts. (concierge closes early evening around 5:00 p.m.)

ON SITE HOTEL FOOD AND BEVERAGES : Average: The food and drinks at the Sirata (Harry's, Mangrove Grill, RumRunners and Durangos) are somewhat expensive and the selection is limited. The food could be better. We are not picky eaters and we had to return a few meals. However, after returning the meals the manager immediately approached us apologized for the errors and provided us with new meals at no charge. Only saw the poolside waitress twice in a week.....

OFF SITE LOCAL DINING: Below average: Not much in the area. Need to travel inland. (speak with the concierge they will point you in the right direction based on your desires)

HOUSEKEEPING: Well below average: Room was never really cleaned. Towels were replaced, beds were made, large daily garbage was removed but that is about it. No vacuuming of the room, no cleaining of the showers, sinks or countertops. Tissues, shampoo, soap and toliet paper were left unfilled. If you needed supplies you had to ask for them. (a microwave was left sitting in the hotel walkway for days before finally being removed).

SECURITY: Average: For the most part only visible at the front gate to monitor incoming and outgoing vehicle traffic. On many occassions we witnessed people from other hotels and condos accross the street walk in off the beach and use the pools, chairs and amenities Sirata guests were paying for. Better beachside security and monitoring is needed.

OVERALL RECREATION: Average: Good access for a fee to cabanas, parasailing, water bikes etc. (Jetskiing is not done in front of the Sirata hotel or any of the other beachfront hotels for that matter because of St. Pete Beach town codes it is done off site as is the dolphin watch and snorkling.)

KIDS RECREATION (15-under): Well below average: We have 4 children under 15 and there was not much for them to do after swimming. Beanbag toss, ping pong, a few small games at the bar. Pay as you play video arcade games ($$$$ ) and one pool table are available. Sirata's "Kisdcape" which is advertised as offering shell hunts etc. is only running on the weekend. Why? No idea. Kidscape should be offering activities for children 7 days a week at various times throughout the day.

HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT: Average: A few bar singers and small bands make it lively. Things seem to quiet down early. TV's at each bar are a nice feature.

LOCAL ENTERTAINMENT: Below average: Not much in the immediate area for entertainment. Need to go inland. (speak with the concierge they will point you in the right direction based on your desires)

MISC.: You may want to have access to a car. Wether you rent one for your entire stay and pay the $8.00 per day parking fee or rent one for a day here and there this will allow you to travel inland to take advantage of the restaurants, entertainment and attractions. (cab fair and car services are rather pricey to travel away from the hotel). Plenty of reputable car rental agency are next to the hotel.

IMHO: Hamburgers and barbequed chicken breast sandwiches with chips cooked by the Sirata kitchen staff on a large outdoor barbeque grill on Harry's deck every afternoon would be FANTASTIC. We have seen this done at another resort. Guests love it and the hotel makes some very good lunch $$$$$$$$$$$$.

Hope this helps. Time to start planning our next vacation..................

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Washington, WI
111
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Our family of four stayed at the Sirata from April 17th - 23rd. We booked the resort based on the reviews posted here, most of which were very favorable. We were nervous about a couple of the reviews which were negative, and after spending a wonderful week there, I truly do not understand how anyone could find fault with any aspect of this resort. We are not "travel snobs" but we do have reasonably high expectations for our vacation dollar - the Siratat met and in many cases exceeded our expectations.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the layout is perfect, the pools are clean, beach bars are fun and have great food and drinks. The resort staff is very friendly and hard working. We had one minor maintenance request and it was taken care of immediately. Our room was cleaned very well each afternoon. Several reviewers really went into detail about how drab their rooms were - our family does not book hotel rooms with the intent of critiquing every aspect of the room's decor, nor do we spend much time in the room. Our room was clean, spacious, well laid-out...I think some people are expecting 5 star luxury for budget prices!
The beach is beautiful, surrounding resorts are nice, parking was not a problem at the Sirata at all. Nearby groceries, drugstores, restaurants all add to the convenient location of the Sirata. Our daughters are young teens and they found plenty to do here and were never bored.
We would highly, highly recommend this resort if you plan on staying in St. Pete's Beach - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Just got back from the Sirata. Two familes, both stayed in the Exec Suites up on the 7th floor of the main building. View of the beach and gulf are priceless. Room, for as much as we were actually in them, was just fine. Everything worked, house keeping staff kept us in plenty of towels, rooms ALWAYS kept VERY clean. Hotel is in a great location to other attractions...things to do. Devil Rays game one day, Busch Gardens another and fishing another. The rest was spent at the pool, beach and Rum Runners which plays great music by the way. Pools were fine, clean, hot tub nice at night. Restaurants aplenty, all around. Definatley go back !!!

Stayed: April 2006
4  Thank Toesindasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

The hotel itself is okay. Nice beach, decent pool, and I guess it depends on what kind of room you get because I could see that some of them were old and rundown, but the buildings w/ more floors were newer and nicer. We got upgraded for "free", and ended up getting charged for the oceanview in the end, which we didn't sign for. Also, someone ordered room service, charged it to our room, and even though they produced a signed slip that wasn't signed by me, they still made me pay for that too. Staff was so rude, manager was mean to me when I questioned my final charges. DO NOT use the phone in room....outrageous rates! Security was all over you. I understand this is for the safety of the guests, but it was a little overkill. The entire stay was a nightmare. I would rather spend more money and be treated better, or less money and not expect as much. This was overpriced for what you get.
I suggest spending time in a hotel where the staff and manager actually care about their guests. It is NOT here.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelbs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Our family of four stayed at the Sirata for two nights (luckily no more) on April 1-3. I booked this hotel from their internet site and paid the extra for an oceanfront room. The exterior of the hotel itself was very inviting; however, the room had much to be desired. At first glance, it seemed like a nice-enough room, but after being in it for several minutes the reality set in.

The whole hotel is actually several separate, older beach hotels that have been combined into one large "resort". The beachfront units are located in a 3-story, L-shaped building with exterior hallways and balconys that I could see. Attached to this unit is a smaller, two story-unit which appears even older, and the two hotels form a U-shape with a courtyard in the middle. Behind these units (towards the street) are a newer tower (approximately 8 floors) which appears to be the newest building with the shops and convention rooms in it. Then, alongside all these units, stretching from the beach to the street is a separate, four-story building also with exterior hallways but no balconys. There are 3 separate pools, each very small but clean and adequate. There are also two fun bars on either side of the "main" hotels. We did not eat at either of the on-site restaurants, but they seemed to be nice and typical Florida cuisine.

The room that we occupied was an end unit on the third floor, and it did have a decent view of the beach and ocean, but nothing compared to the view we had several years ago at the Island Grand down the beach. Being only 3-stories tall, I would think that any room below the third floor would not have much of a view at all. Our room was average-sized, with two queen beds, a bureau, refrigerator, and a chair (no table). The whole room was dated and could use some major renovation. When entering the room, the bathroom sink is right beside the door, on the outside of the bathroom, and if someone is using it you cannot exit or enter the room. The "bathroom" was a tiny cubicle with barely enough room to turn around in and you had to stand in the tub or up against the toilet to close the door. The room was carpeted, with tile being at the entrance, in front of the sink, and in the bathroom. This is where the problem comes in... I must assume that the tile is never mopped, but only swept, because we noticed that the bottoms of our feet were black with dirt (even right after showering!). It was so bad, that it rubbed off on the sheets and turned the tub black when stepping in to shower. This only leads me to believe that the carpet is just as dirty, but it is not so apparant because it is a dark green color. I know that beachfront hotels can be somewhat messy (sand and such from the beach) but this was beyond anything we have ever experienced anywhere else. All in all, the rooms were so bad that we definitely will not be returning to this hotel...ever. The beautiful beach and friendly staff cannot make up for the grimy feeling I had just being in the room.

Perhaps there are other rooms at the hotel which are in better shape, but I will not be taking any chances. We have stayed at the Island Grand and absolutely loved it! There is also a very decent Howard Johnson's for the budget-minded right down the road (stayed there in 1997).

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyfromohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $144 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing