We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to host a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sirata Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had our wedding reception at the hotel in the Royal Palm Ballroom. We chose Sirata because of that room and their menu. All of our family and friends stayed at the resort and had a great experience. My vendors also loved working with Sirata too. There are so many options for rooms too which helped with my family members with kids (like rooms with bunk beds). They were awesome with last minute reservations also. We had our room in building 1 on the 8th floor facing the Gulf, it had an awesome view of the beach and I'll always remember it. Everyone loved the food and experience at the resort. It has a great location with stores and restaurant all around, many within walking distance. I wouldn't buy anything from the shops on the resort, heard they were pricey but just down the road is a CVS, Walgreens and Publix. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Sirata is always running internet deals on their website and if you plan ahead like around 90-120 da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeyHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,078 - 3,084 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just completed a family vacation at the Sirata in mid to late April 2012. Before going into details about the facility, etc. I want to express that during the course of our stay we encountered a family health emergency that was totally unforseen. We were traveling with 7 people including three children and had two rooms. Our original stay was to have been for five nights, but when a member of our party needed to be hospitalized it became quickly apparent that our stay would need to be extended. Being from Connecticut and some 1200+ miles from home made things stressful enough as you could imagine. The Sirata was so sympathetic and understanding; despite being filled to capacity, they went out of their way to provide additional rooms for us to extend the stay. Their compassion, understanding, and efficiency took one less stressful situation away from us and we will always be grateful for that. The facility is exactly what one would expect in a beach community. After reading the many reviews, it occurred to me that many people do not know the difference between a family oriented beach resort and a five star resort. Truthfully, as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is pleasant and accommodating, the food at the resort has a decent variety, is tasty, and is kept at a fair price, and the facility offers enough activity to keep guests of all ages occupied, the resort should be considered at least "Very Good". The Sirata gets an A+ on each account. We stayed (other than the additional night needed) in Building 4 in the suites on the second floor overlooking the area near Harry's. I cannot say enough about Harry's Beach Bar and Grill, its staff, its food, and its atmosphere. If you don't like the atmosphere at Harry's then you really should have stayed home! The live music, the fire pit at night, and the overall experience betrays the fact that you are steps from a very busy thoroughfare (Gulf Blvd). It seems as though you're on a private island away from everything. The pools are clean and very well kept; don't miss the hammocks, although falling asleep in one without enough sunscreen can be perilous! Ditto the experiences at RumRunners and the Compass Grill; both are terrific! The prices may somewhat alarm at first, but wait until you see what you get for the price! My 8 year old niece had the child's prime rib which could satisfy the most hungry of adults. The waterslide was amazing and the kids agonized daily over which they enjoyed the most; the pools, the slide, or the wonderful Gulf waters. Oh yeah, if you're from the Northeast, what's not to like about clean white sand, water that's clean, warmer than it ever gets here (other than perhaps the South Jersey shore), and has that "Caribbean" quality while still being here in the U.S.? Other than the need to do the "Stingray Shuffle", the beach is about as good as it gets anywhere! Once again, if you don't like this beach, you should stay home. We can't wait to go back (this was the second year we visited the Sirata). One more thing about resorts; if you're a family with young kids, beware of those "5 star places". While their facilities and amenities may bowl you over (as will their price), their atmosphere can very frequently be far too stuffy as can their clientele. You certainly will not encounter that at the Sirata. So while the "Big Pink Place" may look appealing, you may want to do your homework first, especially if you have kids or teenagers. Time and again, I would choose the Sirata. For those who wonder, all's well that ends well; our family member is doing fine and recovering to full health. Next year, I'm going to beat that WallHooky! Thanks, Sirata, for helping us get through a very stressful time! Hope to see you next year! Best regards, 7Time's Dad, Connecticut

Room Tip: If there is a need for a suite, try asking for Building 4 facing Harry's; you won't regret i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OTKChamp7Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Sirata few days ago. The only thing we like is the location. Otherwise I would not give even one star for this hotel. The reservation agent told us all three pools at hotel are heated pool. But it was not right. The hotel tried to save money. None of pool is heated. In our room, I killed one small roach. Found a half of bottle water was on the window after we check in. No idea where it came from. And some blood or cafe stain on the bed linen. Nobody pick up a phone at front desk to talk to those issue. I could not find someone to change a bed sheet . It was before 10 pm. about compass restaurant , we would thought they should have good seafood menu. Not only they do not have good menu, but also food are terrible . No wonder there were only few guests. They do not how to cook. Even simple as sauté vegetable .
We won't go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Fatben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February, 2011 and February, 2012. We have stayed in Building 3 and Building 4 both were end units. We love the St. Pete's area. This location is great for walking on the beach, watching a wedding or two at one of the many resorts directly on the beach, take in the wonderful sunset then off to dinner.. We can't wait to go back in 2013 :)

Room Tip: End Units directly on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Upon arrival, the front desk staff was fabulous. Our room was clean, the beach was great. We had a great time at Rum Runners, the staff and atmosphere were top notch! We thought the food at Compass Grille was also very good.We loved that there were plates and silverware in our quite- very nice! I do wish that they had done something a little special for us as we were there on our honeymoon, which I made sure was well noted in our reservation. Also could have used more lighting in the bathroom vanity.Overall, we would come stay here again, completely satisfied with the time and money that we spent here!

Room Tip: Enjoyed the separate living room and kitchen space in the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaleyPmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here last April and returned again this year. Since we were familiar with the layout of the property, we opted to stay in the main tower (Building 1). We chose the most premium accommodation (Gulf View Executive Suite), and we were pleased to have a room on the 8th floor (the top floor of the building). The Gulf view was spectacular from our private balcony, and we didn't get any noise from the pools or bars in our room. (We did get some noise in the hallway from loud-talking guests as they walked to their rooms; the downside of the room design is there's no foyer from the doorway to the room as with many hotel rooms.)

You can't beat the location. The beach is fantastic, and we love the beach cabanas (available for $15/day, but we purchased the resort saver package for $20/day that included the cabana rental, internet access, and parking). If you get a Sirata card (order it from their website -- it's free), you get 10% off food, drink, and sundries purchases at the resort. I think this is a very nice perk offered by the resort.

As I and many others have mentioned, it's not a luxury resort. It's a very good moderate resort on a wonderful beach in a laid-back, fun slice of the Florida Gulf shore. The beach bars are fun and make for a festive atmosphere. This visit I realized what I like best: I don't feel like I'm getting gouged, price-wise, on a daily basis. I have stayed at a number luxury resorts before ... sure, the linens are luxurious, and the bathrooms nicely appointed with rain shower heads, soaking tubs, high-end products, plush robes, etc. ... but these luxury resorts often tack on 18% gratuity to each and every [overpriced] food purchase you make, and the rooms will be double or more of what you pay at Sirata. If you're looking for a place to stay on one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida, this is the place!

My one complaint is with the sofa sleepers. We stayed in a suite last year and this year, and both have the same old, worn sofas with unusable sleeper mattresses (no protection from the springs!). Our daughter had to sleep in the same room as us on the second queen bed. Even if she was able to use the sofa sleeper in the living area, there's no door between the two rooms ... so keep that in mind. The suites in Building 4 have doors between the bedroom and living room, but the location isn't as nice as Building 1.

After reading the reviews, it seems Sirata could do a better job of explaining in greater detail the different accommodation types and locations on its website. It seems there's a good deal of difference between the rooms with the "awful" bathrooms that people write about and, say, those in Building 1 (for the record, Building 1's bathrooms are fine ... nothing spectacular, but not horrible like I've read about here). I suggest you book through the hotel directly, and call them to find out about locations and room types. (For example, I was interested in the beachfront accommodations but found out by calling Sirata that these are standard hotel rooms, where we need a suite for my family). I think this will save a lot of disappointment.

Looking forward to going again next spring!

Room Tip: Call Sirata directly to help you select the room type and building that best suits what you're l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sirata Beach Resort as a family from April 13-20 2012. There were 7 adults, 2 children, and 2 infants.

The location of the resort is walking distance to all the amenities. Restaurant, grocery store and places to shop are all within 5-15 min walk. The liquor store is right across the road :)

The rooms are very dated. We ran into a few minor problems but the rooms were clean and came with flat screen television and a small fridge. Our bathroom toilet was constantly broken (it was an easy fix but still annoying)

The beach is simply amazing! But it seemed like there was a cost for everything.
The pools were very nice and always clean. It was a good place for us and the kids to hang out.

This is definitely a family/elderly people resort. We never ate at the resort restaurants. We always walked to a place to eat. I highly suggest Snappers, Cafe Luna and Crabby Bills for great food!

There is plenty of kid oriented activities around the resort. There is a big water slide (which u have to pay to use) arcades, swimming pools, gift shops etc..

The gym is pathetic! Its very small. Once 4-5 people get in there is feels extremely crowded. Only some free weights and some weight machines for working out and 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical and 1 bike for cardio.

Overall we had a very good experience and had a lovely time. The grounds are very neat and the beach is the best! Rooms are very dated and bathrooms are small. Resort is very close to all your needs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brrob25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirata Beach Resort

Address: 5300 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $148 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirata Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on 13 privately owned beachfront acres directly on the Gulf of Mexico. This St. Pete Beach resort is family owned and operated for three generations. There are 3 beachfront pools, 2 whirlpools, fitness center, kid's play area & arcade and many water sport options. Compass Grille is a casual dining restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rum Runners Bar & Grille is located poolside and beachfront for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Harry's Beach Bar is a local institution featuring a casual menu, lounge setting around a fire pit directly on the beach. Both beach bars feature live entertainment on the weekends. There is something for everyone from a pool cabana, a beach cabana or hammock and the sunsets are are always amazing in the Sunset Capital of Florida located on the #1 Rated Beach is the US. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sirata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirata Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Hotel Sirata Beach
Sirata St Pete Beach
Sirata Beach Resort Florida
Sirata Hotel
Sirata St Petersburg Fl
Sirata Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing