We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouper to die for”
Review of Dockside Dave's - CLOSED

Dockside Dave's
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grouper to die for”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time July, 2013 and it was recommended by a German gentleman that rents a room beside us every year at Sabal Palm. It is a small little place where locals got to eat on a regular basis, that's how you know it's good. The prices are reasonable as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gulfbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    128
    34
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grimes
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual dining with great seafood options”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very casual place for seafood and other local food. We had the grouper which was excellent, along with gator bites and shrimp. Staff is,friendly and helpful in choosing food, offering tips on what to order, never disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overlooked for years!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a recommendation from friends. We have been visiting St. Pete beach for over 20 years and have never tried Dockside Dave's until this trip. Boy have I been missing out, Everything about our visit was outstanding. The food, service, prices and atmosphere were great! Our server was very friendly and really seemed to like her job. She answered any questions we had about the menu and even made suggestions. I ordered the black grouper sandwich and waffle fries. There are several ways they will prepare this item, I decided on "country fried". My wife ordered a cheeseburger and waffle fries. My fish sandwich was delicious. It was very crispy and flavorful. My wife always orders her burgers well done. A lot of places seem to have a hard time preparing it this way, as they usually come out medium our medium well. This burger was an exception. It was thoroughly cooked and had a nice char-grilled taste. My wife almost felt guilty putting ketchup on it! I would highly recommend Dockside Dave's. The food is excellent and the service is outstanding! My only regret is I wish I would have known about it years ago!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cst247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellant! Friendly reasonably priced.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband an I ate there 2 nights in a row an loved it. Owners and staff very friendly. Gave us great traveling advise. Heading to the keys.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Grouper”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If your lookin for great food reasonably priced then you have to try this place.Grouper Philly is my favorite and onion rings are great.Not fancy casual dress is ok,you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Dave's also viewed

 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 
St. Pete Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing