We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better and better!”
Review of Black Palm Restaurant - CLOSED

Black Palm Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
St. Pete Beach
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Getting better and better!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Black Palm is another must do in Pass a Grill.. Great food, love the live music on the weekends... outside seating on a warm night with great wine.. A hidden gem!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    29
    9
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Valentine's Dinner”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were fortunate to get a late reservation on Valentine's evening. The 4 course dinner had more than enough choices for an excellent evening. We started with a light Caesar salad and then progressed to excellent seafood entrees ending with delightful desserts. The live music ranged from great (saxophone) to marginal (keyboard singer still learning the music). The room was packed and quite noisy, largely due to the size of the room, and the fact that it was too cold to eat on the beautiful patio.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, KY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Enjoyed a night out at Black Palm with several friends. Unfortunately, it was to cool to sit outside. We had a wonderful round table for 6. Waiter was very informative, however after taking our order, we never saw him again. We were very perplexed by the service. Another waiter brought our food, then we had another waiter to replenish water and drinks, another waiter to bring check. So who got the tip ? The salads were very fresh and wonderful presentation. Enjoyed several tapas which were very well prepared. The only negative thing I could say about the BP is how loud it is. It was a Friday night and very busy, but it was so very loud that there was no conversation during our visit; we could not hear one another. The ladies rest room was immaculate !!! Hats off to the management for this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tapas!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Black Palm, nesteled on historic 8th Ave in Pass a Grille is a must for anyone vacationing in Pass A Grille. The atmosphere is wonderful with a large indoor bar and seating with original art, also with a large patio for outdoor dining. The food ranges from a wide variety of Tapas to a nice selection of entrees and desserts. The Paella is an excellent choice. Mostly cuban influence on the menu. (the website lists the full menu).

The service was top notch. (Kevin was the best). The food is a little pricey, but very good. The overall experience is worth every penny. And they accept reservations!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

On a chilly January night, my wife and I stopped in and had a great meal of soup and a variety of tapas. The food was great, interesting and well prepared. Service was even better, informative and friendly. Watch out the serving are larger than you think.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Palm Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing