We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint Marks B&B and Inns
Finaghy, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely find”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were finding it difficult to find somewhere outside Tallahassee when we found this Guest House in St Marks and it turned out to be a little gem. Andy and Denise did everything to make us welcome even giving us a rendition of Danny Boy on the piano on our arrival ( I think he spotted the Irish accent) ! The room was beautifully appointed and it was a pity that we couldn't stay longer but we were on a touring holiday and short of time. It's worth a diversion to stay there. PS Hi Maddy. Stay USAF

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
What a wonderful time we had with you guys. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
42
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I spent Monday evening at this B&B when we visited our son in Tallahassee. St. Marks is just a short ride from Tallahassee and this B&B as well as the town makes the trip well worth while.
The service was outstanding and the room was great. If you want to totally relax and get away from it all the Sweet Magnolia is definitely the place to go.
We will plan on staying here every time we go to Tallahassee.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room and it was great and close to the back porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We really enjoyed meeting you guys and sharing war stories:). We certainly hope y'all will return on your next visit. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We love this place and this amazing little town. We stumbled upon this comfy, cozy beautiful home years ago and made plans to visit again. Our recent visit was such a pleasure. We are so delighted that although the owners have changed the hospitality continues to exceed our expectations. Denise & Andy are delightful hosts and could not be more welcoming. Their home is so relaxing. The house is very clean. Breakfast was delicious every morning. This Bed & Breakfast is the perfect home away from home. We cannot wait to visit again. Thank You Both so Very Much for making our stay so incredibly wonderful! See You Again Soon! Michele & Fabian

Room Tip: Just tell Denise what your situation is and she'll recommend the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
What a great time we had ! Thank you so much for such a nice review. Hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed here on a trip to Tallahassee for an FSU game. We had a large room with a whirlpool tub and a big screen TV. We were served wine and cheese in the afternoon. Breakfast featured homemade biscuits. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay for the live jazz on Sunday afternoon. We are looking forward to two more stays there during football season.

Room Tip: We were very happy in the Magnolia room which we were told is the most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We so enjoyed having you here with us at The Sweet Magnolia. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Trip Advisor is our #1 source for referrals and bookings. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is far away from the Florida of resort and tourist trap fame. Love the small village atmosphere of St. Marks, the fabulous history of the area and especially this gem of a B&B. Reportedly a former brothel in this old port city, the Sweet Magnolia Inn does indeed make your stay very sweet indeed. And the jazz on Sunday afternoons is such a surprise. Stay here away from the crowds of Tallahassee, the Florida capital city just a straight 25 miles or so north of St. Marks, Fl.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakullarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again here in beautiful, historic St. Marks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wish all hospitality encounters were like this one! Whenever I head to Tallahassee, this is my
Go-to place. Try it, you won't be disappointed. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, reliable wi-fi relaxing. Wish they were dog friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much. We feel your "pain" about pet policy. We are working with an allergist to see what can be done regarding guests with allergies. Hopefully we can accommodate our furry friends in the very near future. Please visit us again soon.

Denise and Andy:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So we are loading our bag at 10:03 am in car just before rain downpour. Guy comes outside and says "no breakfast this morning". And I say are we too late? Guy mumbles something and walks away to his house separate from property. Breakfast is until 10. I will give him that. But since we were the only guests and the closest restaurant is at least 40 minutes away he could have offered cold cereal or something. I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denisewaters940, Owner at Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
There could be absolutely nothing further than the truth about this review. Guests were using back exit to run to their car in the rain, when Andy ran out to their car and asked them if they were or were not staying for breakfast. They replied that they would be in after the rain slowed. That was at 10:05. At 10:35 we saw them driving off without any explanation. We were both in the kitchen/dining area waiting for them to come and eat the breakfast that we had prepared: Sweet Potato Hashbrowns, Buttermilk Bisquits, Bacon, Sausage and Eggs that we prepare to order upon entering the dining area. We always have juice, coffee, yogurt and fruit on the bar in the dining room for any early or late risers from 7am-12pm daily. Also, the review stated that the nearest restaurant to get breakfast was 40 miles away, when the fact is that the nearest place to get breakfast (other than where they were staying), is exactly 1 block away and The Capital City of Florida which is Tallahasssee, is only 17 miles away. So sorry that some people just cannot be satisfied and must resort to this type of dishonest and hurtful posts to try and make up for the damage that they did to their suite. Honesty is a virtue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Marks
7.9 mi away
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Wakulla Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wakulla Springs
383 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
#2 of 2 in Crawfordville
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites-Capital District
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 803 Port Leon Drive, P.O. Box 55, Saint Marks, FL 32355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Saint Marks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Marks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sweet Magnolia Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing