We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not what we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint James City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Fort Myers / Pine Island
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Spent New Year's Eve/Day at this location. This KOA is also an Encore property, and caters to seasonal and annual campers (snowbirds). There are lots of *permanent* mobile homes here, and the feel is more of a retirement community than a camp site. If you are travelling with children, this may not be the campsite for you. My son (10 yrs old) didn't find any children here to play with. The pool area is simple but adequate. I was a bit disappointed that the hot tub/spa was closed/under construction and it wasn't noted on the KOA web page as such.

The folks that work here are friendly and helpful. The campground itself is more like a very large parking lot. There are a few ponds/lakes toward the back of the campground. If you want a shady site, there aren't too many available. The campground did accommodate my request for a shady site, but most spots are in the full sun.
The campground is super quiet at night.

The campground offers fire pit rentals for $5 per night. I requested one upon checking in, but there weren't any available. One became available on our last night there, and one of the campground workers brought it to our site and told us we could use it for the night free of charge. Firewood is available for purchase at the campground. There is a small store with some groceries available on property. There is a Winn Dixie supermarket about 5 miles away that stays open until 11PM. Firewood is available for purchase at the campground.

As for Pine Island itself, if you don't fish, kayak or boat, there isn't much to do. There aren't any beaches on the island. While visiting the area, we went to Sanibel Island and stopped to look at Periwinkle Trailer Park. Next time we will be staying there, as there is much more to do on the Sanibel/Captiva Islands.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cooldoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived late for check in, but our key to the cabin layed in a box waiting for us. The cabin was simple, but we knew that when we booked it. We did though miss a refrigerator for cold drinks, because it was around 95 Fahrenheit / 35 Celcius when we visit start june. The cabin has air condition.
The pool area is very nice.
The campsite is good for a couple of days but no longer, because it is a little bit far from everything (ex. beach).
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramefelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Pine Island is a fisherman's\ kayaker's\ boater’s paradise but be warned there are no real beaches. You have to have a boat to get to them or drive to them. I would recommend this to people who like to get outdoors. There is a great bicycle trail from one end of the island to the other and many, many places to explore. The KOA is a great choice for campers because it has a number of amenities to keep the kids occupied during the down times. It has a great pool and hot tub. A nice club house where you can play pool or games and also a tennis court and a basketball court. Plus it has three ponds where you can put a line in or the kayak \ canoe. We were completely comfortable letting our kids go off on their bikes and felt very safe there. We stayed in the camping cabin and it is just that, a simple place to sleep. The single had one double bed and a bunk bed set. The double has an extra set of bunk beds. The mattress is just your typical camp foam bed and we put our inflatable bed on it and slept great. This is mostly an RV resort and from what I gather and during high season Oct thru March it is pretty packed with retirees. But most of them had headed home when we went for Easter weekend. The staff was fabulous, told us how to get around and where the best places to fish and launch our kayaks where. They have events for the campers and kids to enjoy. Overall it is a very good choice for an inexpensive option to stay on the island for a week and gives the kids plenty of things to keep them occupied.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoxyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We rented a cabin at this campground. The cabin wasn't much larger than a closet. The camp ground is more for someone who is looking to park their camper for a month. It is not a true campsite. Pine Island isn't a very good location either. There are no beaches anywhere on the island. Te closest beach is Ft. Myers Beach which is a good 45-50 minute drive. Be very careful when considering this campground or Pine Island. Do plenty of research to make sure you understand what is around.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlwuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the Kamp and Care weekend. Unfortunately this KOA reminded us of a parking lot with a pond in the middle. The sites were clean, restrooms were clean, pool & hot tub very nice. Staff was wonderful, we are just used to having privacy and calm. The bugs were out of control and the noise from the frogs and whatever else kept us from sleeping all night. If you are from the north and are looking for a long term place to park your trailer I would recommend this place, but for a family looking for a weekend getaway visit one of the many state parks Florida has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverGirl0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Very nice park with jacuzzi & pool open both early and late. Staff great!! Very welcoming. Paved, wi-fi, cable. All the conveniences of home. Beautiful bay views and resteraunts nearby. Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The place has a pool and jacuzzi not very much more. The lake you are supose to fish in is surrounded by weeds. They clean the bathrroms from 7am-8am about the time you decided you have to pee. And there were killer mosquitoes and sand flees I looked like I had chicken pox by the time I came home. But it was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annonted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to KOA Fort Myers / Pine Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Fort Myers / Pine Island

Address: 5120 Stringfellow Road, Saint James City, FL 33956
Location: United States > Florida > Saint James City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint James City
Number of rooms: 363
Also Known As:
Koa Fort Myers / Pine Island Hotel Saint James City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing