We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to eat”

Harry A's Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice place to eat”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

nothing fancy...more like a bar atmosphere but we were seated outside in the courtyard which was private and very nice. it was newly built. went early to beat rush crowd since we had little ones with us...they enjoyed it too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon3765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    158
    96
    50
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad bad food”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We ate here in August. The grouper sandwich tasted like sawdust. The sampler platter was lukewarm, so the cheese in the cheese sticks and poppers was still in solid form. One good thing, the beers were ice cold.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The A stands for AWFUL”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited this place August 2012. The service and atmosphere was mediocre at best but acceptable except the incessant flies and slow service but the food was awful. I had the Captain's Platter. I should have been clued in when I saw Captain spelled as "Captian" on the menu. They can't even get this right. The platter was not edible nor were the island patters. The cook must have misunderstood our request for 'grilled' as 'greasy'. He/she must also like to use lots of salt to hide the flavor of the food. I thought I was going to get a headache from the seasoning and grease.

The smell of garbage permeated the patio from the back alley where the dumpster and kid section is.

I do not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Funny server, food was good”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Food was good had oysters which were very good. Child's fish sticks were great and portion was huge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining with Dogs”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I, too, had the opportunity to lunch with dogs at this place. It was our sunburn day and we started out in Cape San Blas driving and exploring the area. Lunch brought us to Harry A's, and originally we were seated on the patio in back but the wooden doors that opened to the alley let in the garbage smell. It was so bad we asked to move inside. And while we were outside, a couple of good size dogs were wandering around. No one on staff seemed to mind, like it was a common thing. After we moved inside and ordered, a big black dog came over to our table and plunked itself down to wait with us for our food. I asked the waitress what the dog's name was and she said she didn't know. It belonged to someone who was working in the building, but the owner/cook's dog was around somewhere as well. Huh? So now we're thinking that the food inspectors in the area give thumbs up to food establishments allowing dogs in the building. We can't help but wonder what else is going on that we don't see. Cute stuff on the walls, Service was average, and the food was fair but I bet if that dog could talk he'd say that he loved sitting next to my son who accidently dropped some fries on the floor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAtlantaSoozeeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry A's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Harry A's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing