We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St George Inn
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Inn(St. George Island)
$165
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gibson Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$145
$126
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Apalach Inn(Apalachicola)(Great Value!)
$94
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mainstay Suites(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$129
$109
MainStaySuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Inn(Port Saint Joe)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Hill Lodge(Port Saint Joe)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
57
44
33
26
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
44
33
26
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairswithin walking distancesecond floortotal escapethoroughly enjoyed our staycoral suitegrocery storeolder innfresh paintcookie cutterrelaxing atmosphereflat screen tvflorida seafoodthe blue heronsunrise roomundergoing renovationsbeautiful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 201 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Staying at the St. George Inn is a lot like staying with relatives: sure, the bed squeaks and the toilet runs unless you jiggle the handle, but the people are very nice and accommodating, and the place is clean.

And St. George Island is a treasure. It's so rare to see a beach in its pristine state.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GamecockFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

we were on the second floor. there was dog poop on the frist floor and second floor porches in several places that had been there for a long time. no control for the air conditioner in the room. the front doors would not close tight. the bed was old.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank james271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We got to the island too late to book a condo so we wound up here. Overall it felt much much safer than the only other hotel on the island (Buccaneer Inn). There we some large parties going on there and I did not feel comfortable being around people who were getting drunk.

The hotel has new management and is the first building on the left as you come onto the island. We paid the spring rate of $163.50 a night (tax and all fees included) for the 3rd floor Stargazer room. No elevator and 3 flights of stairs is a real workout. The interior has recently been renovated and everything looks quite nice. This particular suite has 2 rooms. The master has a king sized bed, sink, small fridge, a 13 inch TV (not kidding, but who comes to the beach to watch TV anyway) one small window and is nicely decorated. The bed slept well. The living room is tiny with a pull out sleeper which my son chose not to use. He slept on the sofa. The room also has windows and a french door that leads out to a semi private sitting area overlooking the bay. The view is quite lovely. You are about 250 yards from the water. There was an eagles nest across the road that was fun to watch in the morning as the eagle came and went. The 3rd floor is the top floor and the only floor to have semi private outside sitting areas. On the lower 2 floors the outside sitting area is also a common walkway used to get from room to room so there is little privacy. Water pressure is really anemic on the third floor and showers took forever.

The hotel is across the road from the beach (150 yards). If you like crowds you will love it. Their beach access is right next to the public beach access and public parking area. We chose to go to the state park instead at the end of the island. The park is 9 miles long so you have over 18 miles of shoreline and some really isolated pristine beaches. We were here to fish so I have no comments about anything else on the island. The fishing was good by the way. They tell me it stays good till the water warms up in late June.

Overall I liked the hotel. This inside looks like a very cozy bed and breakfast. The outside has not been renovated yet and is not much to look at. Actually it is quite ugly. There was also no water out side to wash the sand off your feet after walking on the beach.

Was it worth it? Hmmm. A bit over priced for what you get. There are no freebies at all. I could have gotten a condo for the same amount (as a walk in out of season).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KeithinConyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Jan and Richard were wonderful hosts with great knowledge of the island. They took care of what few needs I had with a smile. The room was lovely and cozy and just a short walk to the beach. I can't wait until we return. The St. George Inn is truly a hidden treasure of the south. A definite must stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kittenpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

It was an okay stay
Cons:

I didn't like how close the toilet was to the sink. you were literally pushed against the sink.

Also, the main door into the inn was propped open, I didn't mind in the day but it seemed unsafe at night, even though we were in a locked room


The pros:
Easy reservation process wth Anchor LLC
Nice comfy rocking chairs on the wrap around porch.
We had a nice comfortable bed
The soap, shampooes they provided was great, much better than typical hotel soaps
room/inn was quiet
we were able to book on a short notice and for only one night.

There are only two places to stay on the island if you aren't renting a house. We only needed a place for one night. The other place is the Buccaneer in where I heard from other friends that stayed there that it wasn't that great.

Just expect a basic, no frills place

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews