We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with relatives, only you have to pay”
Review of St George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St George Inn
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Like staying with relatives, only you have to pay”
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Staying at the St. George Inn is a lot like staying with relatives: sure, the bed squeaks and the toilet runs unless you jiggle the handle, but the people are very nice and accommodating, and the place is clean.

And St. George Island is a treasure. It's so rare to see a beach in its pristine state.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — The bed wasn't very comfortable
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GamecockFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    32
    26
    40
See reviews for
44
101
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
griffin ga
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2008

we were on the second floor. there was dog poop on the frist floor and second floor porches in several places that had been there for a long time. no control for the air conditioner in the room. the front doors would not close tight. the bed was old.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dog poop ;old bed not clean
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank james271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We got to the island too late to book a condo so we wound up here. Overall it felt much much safer than the only other hotel on the island (Buccaneer Inn). There we some large parties going on there and I did not feel comfortable being around people who were getting drunk.

The hotel has new management and is the first building on the left as you come onto the island. We paid the spring rate of $163.50 a night (tax and all fees included) for the 3rd floor Stargazer room. No elevator and 3 flights of stairs is a real workout. The interior has recently been renovated and everything looks quite nice. This particular suite has 2 rooms. The master has a king sized bed, sink, small fridge, a 13 inch TV (not kidding, but who comes to the beach to watch TV anyway) one small window and is nicely decorated. The bed slept well. The living room is tiny with a pull out sleeper which my son chose not to use. He slept on the sofa. The room also has windows and a french door that leads out to a semi private sitting area overlooking the bay. The view is quite lovely. You are about 250 yards from the water. There was an eagles nest across the road that was fun to watch in the morning as the eagle came and went. The 3rd floor is the top floor and the only floor to have semi private outside sitting areas. On the lower 2 floors the outside sitting area is also a common walkway used to get from room to room so there is little privacy. Water pressure is really anemic on the third floor and showers took forever.

The hotel is across the road from the beach (150 yards). If you like crowds you will love it. Their beach access is right next to the public beach access and public parking area. We chose to go to the state park instead at the end of the island. The park is 9 miles long so you have over 18 miles of shoreline and some really isolated pristine beaches. We were here to fish so I have no comments about anything else on the island. The fishing was good by the way. They tell me it stays good till the water warms up in late June.

Overall I liked the hotel. This inside looks like a very cozy bed and breakfast. The outside has not been renovated yet and is not much to look at. Actually it is quite ugly. There was also no water out side to wash the sand off your feet after walking on the beach.

Was it worth it? Hmmm. A bit over priced for what you get. There are no freebies at all. I could have gotten a condo for the same amount (as a walk in out of season).

  • Liked — The freindliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — 3 flights of stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KeithinConyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Jan and Richard were wonderful hosts with great knowledge of the island. They took care of what few needs I had with a smile. The room was lovely and cozy and just a short walk to the beach. I can't wait until we return. The St. George Inn is truly a hidden treasure of the south. A definite must stay!!!

  • Liked — Overall value and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kittenpurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

It was an okay stay
Cons:

I didn't like how close the toilet was to the sink. you were literally pushed against the sink.

Also, the main door into the inn was propped open, I didn't mind in the day but it seemed unsafe at night, even though we were in a locked room


The pros:
Easy reservation process wth Anchor LLC
Nice comfy rocking chairs on the wrap around porch.
We had a nice comfortable bed
The soap, shampooes they provided was great, much better than typical hotel soaps
room/inn was quiet
we were able to book on a short notice and for only one night.

There are only two places to stay on the island if you aren't renting a house. We only needed a place for one night. The other place is the Buccaneer in where I heard from other friends that stayed there that it wasn't that great.

Just expect a basic, no frills place

  • Liked — location/wrap around porch
  • Disliked — bathroom needs updating
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This place is dirty. Very dusty, and lack of quality cleaning. A/C vents were filthy. Staff was nice but there are NO ammenities, except the pool. It is NOT a B&B, no coffee, cookies, etc. (except in room). No soap, shampoo left in room on second day. Problem at St. George is there is no competition. AC unit could not be adjusted, and we almost froze (in July).

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — dust
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

Booked in here for three weekday nights in late April...they required advance payment for all nights ahead of time, even though it was shoulder season and they rarely fill up the rooms.

The Inn is apparently owned and operated by a property management firm called Anchor Vacations, located in the same building as the rooms, which were of satisfactory quality, the exterior needed some refurbishing and the pool area looked unappealing (although the water looked clean).

Before booking, I asked for assurances that they had strong wireless internet connections in at least some part of the building...and the woman receptionist gave me those assurances. I booked on a main floor room, as she said that would be a stronger signal. The signal in all parts of the building ended up being weak and unpredictable...I was knocked off my company 'VPN' dozens of times, and unable to download email messages.

More importantly, I made clear to the receptionist when arriving that I would NOT be staying the third evening, which he and I agreed would qualify me for a refund on the third night based on 48 hours notice...after leaving the property, I called and spoke with the 'guest services manager', who, better understanding the situation, agreed that I was due a refund and promised to send it out promptly. He stated he had the authority to do so.

One other pertitnent note, the Inn refuses to offer credit card refunds, stating that any refund agreed upon will be satisfied by a company check being sent out.

Calling back ten days later, I discovered that the check had still not been issued or sent out...the woman in the Anchor office was very discourteous, actually quite rude, and stated that no refunds are due on prepaid stays at the Inn, for any reason, once the person has arrived, according to a written contract that guests sign.

I calmly explained my particular situation and the reason for an exemption...she said the gentleman I spoke with did not have the authority to approve a refund, and that it needed to go through another woman, one of the managers at Anchor.
I reminded her that my stay was also weekday, and the Inn's few rooms were only half full, so they were not turning away other potential guests.

When I mentioned my interest in contacting state or area tourist organizations to express my concerns, she replied that I had no legitimate claim due to the agreement I signed when arriving.

There are very limited daily rental accomodations on St George Island itself...and some are of fairly poor quality for the price....I would recommend visitors enjoy beautiful Apalachicola and take the half hour drive over to the island.

Otherwise St George Island is an interesting stop over along the beautiul Florida Peninsula, the State Park in particular is beautiful with nice facilities.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank twincitiesterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
8.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
377 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
8.8 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
141 reviews
8.6 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrabelle
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Inn

Property: St George Inn
Address: 135 Franklin Blvd, St. George Island, FL 32328-2839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St George Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Inn is located on beautiful St. George island, a little known barrier island on northwest Florida's "Forgotten Coast". The Inn is ideal for people wanting a simple getaway of one or two nights, or longer, on St. George Island. This quaint, old southern style inn, is just a short distance from one of America's top 10 rated beaches with pristine white sand and crystal clear water. Our innkeepers greet guests with smiling faces and southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your St George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel St. George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing