We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flea for your life”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of St George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St George Inn
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flea for your life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked last minute room, 2 nights, for our family of 4 and our dog. Checked in after midnight. Queen bed for my wife and I and a pull out couch for the kids. Both mattresses had fleas. The pull out mattress was worn it was unsleepable. Kids end up in our bed where the fleas are eating us all now. would have left that evening if were not so late. Next day I told them I would not be staying the second night and I requested my money back. They told me they could not credit my card with a refund and if they approved my refund they would mail a check at a later date. They said the owner was the only one who could approve refund and he was out of the country for an extended period of time. I got his cell # from someone I knew on the island. Left many voice messages and he finially called back. He said he would get our details and call back. Never did. Finially got ahold of him again. He promised he would call back next day witha determination. Never did. 6 weeks of this was too much. Had to dispute charge with credit card. Hotel is old, dirty. Personnel is poorly trained. I could go on and on about what is wrong with this place, but just read the other reviews, it is amazing how close to our experience others have had. Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 999disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    30
    26
    39
See reviews for
41
97
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the room named "Total Escape". This room we were later told, has the smallest bathroom. Small, OK, I can deal, but nasty, gross and moldy, I can not! (see photos of the shower stall) I felt like we had no privacy since there was another room directly across from our entry door, like 40 inches away. We looked around the whole place and some of the rooms on the upper floors are bigger and seem more private. There was also cat hair in our room, on the bed, etc. The one good thing about SGI Inn is that it is in a good location to walk everywhere on the island and close to the bridge to drive to Apalachacola. I would do my best to stay somewhere else. But if you have no other option, pick any other room than the "Total Escape"!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cubgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cotter, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 small dogs stayed at the St. George Inn for 2 weeks over Christmas & new Years. Moonwatch room with large bath was clean with new furnishings ( microwave, fridge, coffeemaker & TV and furniture). The music from Eddy Teach's Raw Bar across the street was loud but not loud enough to keep us awake. We actually enjoyed it.One of our dogs had to make an emergency afterhours (7:30 to 11:30 PM ) visit to the vet. Christina and her daughter Katie took care of the other dog for us.Christina ande Monda go beyound the call of duty to cater to you every wish.Unless you are looking for a Hilson Garden Inn or Sandals Resort type of place, you can"t go wrong with the St. George.

Chuck & Jane

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwfj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the St. George Inn this past weekend. We were there for 3 nights. The room was wonderful. Comfy bed, nice, big room. Kristina and Mond treated us, and our dog Axel, like family. It's within walking distance to everything! We had an awesome stay, and have already reserved our same room for the chili cook off!!! Can't wait to go back'

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJones7161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed there for a long weekend getaway. The building style resembles the 1900 to 1920s era. The room was clean having been recently updated. We stayed in the Coral suite. There are only two motels on the island and this one allows pets and the other one does not.
There are not any elevators so keep in mind if you want a third floor room with a view there are plenty of steps. A bar is located just across the street that plays loud live music, not a real problem in the off season but in season you need to be aware of this.
The rooms could benefit from additional sound insulation. More noise transmits between the walls than one would expect. Keep in mind you are staying at an Inn and not a motel or hotel with concrets or block between the rooms.
The current staff is very friendly and helpful with information about the area and with making your stay as pleasant as possible. If not for the current staff I would not give a four circle rating.
The Inn is in need of some maint., updating, and general repair.

Room Tip: The best scenery is on the north side facing the bay but so is the bar with the live music. The sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in the Sandpiper room for 3 nights in September 2012 and loved it. King bed with a queen sleeper, kitchenette, and plenty of room for our family (2 adults, 2 small children). There are wrap-around porches on each floor of this plantation-style inn, so it's easy to catch the nice evening breezes, even if you've got kids sleeping.

The inn is right across the street from the beach and just around the corner from the market and several good restaurants. Yes, yes, Eddie Teach's is right next door and they DO have a band every night, but it didn't bother us. In fact, we ate there and the food and people were just great. This inn is right in the heart of where you'd want to be in St. George.

It's the type of place where unless you ask for attention, you won't see anyone. So you do have to ask for new towels, to have the room cleaned, etc but everyone was very accomodating. We understood that we weren't staying at the Ritz Carlton. No big deal. We felt very secure while we were there, and since it was the off-season we essentially had the run of the place, and got to pick our room.

The owners are from France and the common areas are furnished with their family antiques and heirlooms. Very cool.

Great place to stay for an Old Florida feel, especially if you have small children. If you're looking for the Branson-style crazy of Panama City or the glossy mall feel of Pensacola, you won't find that here - and for that we were thankful.

Room Tip: Ask to see what's available - they will show it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etac679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

this place is a pig sty. The paint is peeling everywhere and the floor boards feel like they will give way with each step. This place is so run down and dirty and broken that they should pay you to stay here

Room Tip: do not stay here under any circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrybl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
8.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
8.9 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrabelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Inn

Property: St George Inn
Address: 135 Franklin Blvd, St. George Island, FL 32328-2839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St George Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. George Inn is located on beautiful St. George island, a little known barrier island on northwest Florida's "Forgotten Coast". The Inn is ideal for people wanting a simple getaway of one or two nights, or longer, on St. George Island. This quaint, old southern style inn, is just a short distance from one of America's top 10 rated beaches with pristine white sand and crystal clear water. Our innkeepers greet guests with smiling faces and southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your St George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel St. George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing