We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for Campers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saint George Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Lovely site, as others have written. Sites are very close together, and you will be watching your neighbors cook and everything else while you are in camp. Better if you can retreat into a camper. Our experience was in a tent, next to a massive camper with a noisy air conditioner. Not that pleasant. There's also no relief from the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We visited the park while on a road trip along the Florida panhandle and what a first impression!
It is located near Apalachicola around the "big bend" of Florida. It was a blustery day with sprinkles of rain and we still found it to be beautiful with its white sand, dunes, and emerald water.
It is very well maintained and well worth the fee to enter the park.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MKBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent onE night there. Not on the water-about a short drive there with very adequate parking and nice beaches -- on the Gulf of Mexico.
Sites have electric and water-park has dumping station. Staff was very friendly. The bathroom we were close to was modern and clean.
Beautiful area on the island. Near Aplachicola, Port St Joe, and Mexico Beach. This part of Florida is very different from the more populated areas to the south. Very laid back, Great seafood, which seems to be good despite the oil spill.
BE SURE AND MAKE RESERVATIONS AHEAD (like months ahead). SNOWBIRDS MAKE RESERVATION WAY AHEAD AND KEEP THE PARK OCCUPIED ALL WINTER.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Neill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Florida has great state parks and this is among the best.
Miles and miles of little used white sand beach. Grat for shelling.
Nice campground with 50 AMPs and water- $28/day.
Kayaking and other boating on the bay side. Apparently the fishing is good.
Bonus while we were here - a volunteer astronomer. Drop by in the day and look thru his scope at sun spots. Nighttime we saw the moons of Jupiter and he pointed out visible constellations and major stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to St George and it was wonderful. The park is very large and right on the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Like most FL state parks, the spots are somewhat small and close together but most have vegetation around which provides some privacy. Both bath houses are very nice which is great for us as tent campers.

St George island doesn't have a lot to do. Our visit was in January and too cold to enjoy the beaches. However we still had a great time. We will definitely come back again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank tackaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We left St. George Island State Park after a 10 day stay yesterday. The weather was perfect and the bug situation was an issue but we used citronella candles. Bug sprayer came 2 days a week. Fishing is a must if you like to shore fish - use sand fleas and you'll have the best luck on the beach. The beaches are so beautiful and thankfully the rangers at the state park are serious about keeping it that way. At the very end of the beach accesses (Sugar Hill) there is a combination lock/fence to go out about 6 miles more to the east end of the island. Keep in mind, no facilities and you better not leave anything but your footprints. You have to pay about $6.50 to go out to this part of the island and access is limited to about 20 people each day. Each site has a fire pit. There are lots of tents and if you go on the Bay side you see a beautiful sunset, beachside has sunrise. The rangers are serious about the ecological balance of everything on the island as there are lots of endangered species around. Pay attention to the posted flags about beach conditions. There was an unfortunate drowning in rough waters while we were there. We were in a 40' motorhome and will definitely return. Satellite is possible if you have researched the sites. Internet was possible, but slow. We purchased fresh red snapper, grouper, shrimp and oysters from Dail's (trailer) and would recommend him as his prices seemed to be in line or less than mainland. Restrooms are immaculate and attended by an off site company. There is an area to put small boats in the water and a junior camping area. Don't miss the Bay side of the park - it is beautiful.

Room Tip: To find a good site, go to the ReserveAmerica site and look at the pictures as well as consider the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank skylady158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The State park now has a decent road into it and all of the way to the tip of the Island. Years ago we went in and got stuck in the sand with our four wheel drive and it cost us nearly $300 to get pulled out --- now they have fixed these sand traps. The end of the island is very secluded which is what we wanted - but you need to bring all of your own supplies as there are no services. We love the beach combing and watching the dolphins as they pass between the islands from the Gulf of Mexico into the Bay. The State Park has very nice bathrooms and picnic area, but the tip of the island is still many miles in (5 miles I think). I love the seclusion and can spend the whole day just looking for fabulous shells and sea creatures to watch in the tidepools. This isn't the place to go for "excitement" --- it is for serenity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zzzbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
2.8 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
230 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Island State Park

Address: 1900 East Dove Beach Drive, St. George Island, FL 32328
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St. George Island
Price Range: $15 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nine mile area includes untouched beaches, dunes and marshes and offers camping sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing