We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint George Island State Park

Saint George Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This attraction covers nine miles of untouched beaches, dunes, bay forests and marshes.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Nice Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent two different days here while staying in Apalachicola. It was very convenient and the price of admission (four dollars, I think) was worth every penny to find a pristine and uncrowded beach. A short walk from the parking lot and we enjoyed the beach as if it were our own. The water here is not clear blue like in Destin, it's a little darker thanks to the rivers emptying in to the bay. And the seaweed was pretty thick along the beaches when we were there, but not too much in the water, thankfully. The seaweed can make the place look dirty, even if it is all natural, and it can smell a little fishy if the wind is still. The dunes are not nearly as spectacular as at Cape San Blas, but this beach is a lot easier to access and enjoy. The facilites are well-maintained and looked almost new on my visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    96
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Camping and Beaching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, let me say that it may just be the time of year, but the MOSQUITOS in the campground are ridonkulous! And biting flies at the beach, though comparatively much less annoying. I watched little biters flying THRU bug spray to get to me. Not cool.
Otherwise, great campground with 2 very well kept bathrooms, playground, firewood AND ICE sold from camp host (site 51), plenty of recylcing everywhere, and a late check-out (1pm). I will def get a site with cement pad next time, if I can. It's just that much better.
There are plenty of beach access areas, with the 2 main sites having at each 3 big covered pavilions and a large bathroom facility and outdoor spray-off showers. There is a very short walk from the parking area to the beach.
Cell service is spotty at best throughout the park, but there are courtesy phones in various locations (by the bathrooms in the campground,...)
It was a LONG drive for me, but definitely nice to be Off The Grid and away from the more populous beaches (ahem Destin/PCB).
And don't forget to bring your groceries! There's very little else nearby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, but no dogs allowed on park beaches.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We camped here with our friends and all five of our kids, ages 2-8, over Labor Day weekend. The campground was well manicured and very clean. Fellow campers were also families and the atmosphere was really nice. The bathrooms were very clean with a nice space to shower and change. The beaches were breathtaking. The kids were so excited to find a star fish, crabs, and jellyfish our first evening there. No dogs allowed on the beach inside the park, strictly enforced! We had to drive down to the lighthouse to the public, much busier beach to let our dog play. Another helpful hint to families camping with kids: don't forget their bike helmets! This too is enforced!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This park is beautiful and peaceful. You can have a long stretch of beach all to yourself! I will definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RebaWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice clean park to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This park was nice for pictures. It had a few private beaches and provided bathroom facilities. Nice nature trails and lots of birds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gabriel449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint George Island State Park also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Saint George Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing