We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Count the steps to the top!”

Saint George Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This attraction covers nine miles of untouched beaches, dunes, bay forests and marshes.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Count the steps to the top!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our family enjoyed going to the top of the lighthouse. We counted the steps up with the kids, which was fun for them. The top is a beautiful view of the island, but it is not open air. Expect it to be a little stuffy and small. Hard to keep the windows perfectly clean for clear pictures, but still beautiful. The museum is also very neat and there is a great playground next door. It's a "one and done" kind of visit for me, but my kids want to go back. :-)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfam40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    102
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hiking in St. George Island”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The area is beautiful. I camp in an RV but did not camp here. After hiking the area and checking out the RV site, I would absolutely camp out there. The site was beautiful with water and electric hookups. Also, large enough for large motorhomes. The only downside would be that the Park closes it's gates at sunset which I assume means you have to be inside, haha. This would be a bit of an issue if staying for more than a couple of days because there are a lot of restaurants and bars not only on St. George Island but in the surrounding areas such as Apalachicola. There is also a primitive camping area that you can either hike 2.5 miles out to or kayak out to. At this site there were a couple of picnic tables and a fire pit, all right on the beach. The water was still, clear and delightful. This is nature so, yes, there are bugs, haha. Great relaxing area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit and live... LOL!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went here several times and the last time we saw a wedding on the beach. This is the first place we caught blue crabs with some nets and they were yummy too...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrakeConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“St. George Island”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very unique area that takes you back to the 60s for shell collecting and peace at the beach. No chain restaurants or shops.....great pizza and seafood fresh from the bay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonBrenda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, for a while.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The beach and surrounding area is without a doubt stunning. However, once you get past that you realize there is absolutely not much to do. If you go in town, don't be surprised if places close early or just not open.

We found the rangers at this park much less friendly than we have at other State Parks.

Nice to visit but won't be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint George Island State Park also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Saint George Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing