We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. George Island”

Saint George Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This attraction covers nine miles of untouched beaches, dunes, bay forests and marshes.
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“St. George Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very unique area that takes you back to the 60s for shell collecting and peace at the beach. No chain restaurants or shops.....great pizza and seafood fresh from the bay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonBrenda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    96
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, for a while.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The beach and surrounding area is without a doubt stunning. However, once you get past that you realize there is absolutely not much to do. If you go in town, don't be surprised if places close early or just not open.

We found the rangers at this park much less friendly than we have at other State Parks.

Nice to visit but won't be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful in the Off Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a great time walking the beach and trails in the park. The facilities were clean, and the park staff was friendly. We saw quite a number of different shore birds, along with bald eagles and an osprey.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank k_squared2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“RV camping on St George Island, FL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We took an RV down to the Gulf Coast for a long weekend with the kids. When we visited it was off season, so very quiet. There may be some other people on the beach with you, maybe not. The camping amenities were excellent. Although there was a shower in our RV, the park has great facilities with showers, restrooms, etc. so you don't need to fill up the waste tanks on the RV if you don't want to. The weather was pretty nice, we hiked two of the trails with the kids and the scenery was amazing.
For a quiet family vacation , this park is great. There are no retail type of places in the park. Just the camping area, beach, sand dunes, trails. Phone service was sketchy (TMobile) but it was kind of nice to disconnect for the weekend. And get the kids disconnected from there various electronics.
Make sure you bring everything you need to the park , as it would be difficult (maybe just a pain..) to leave and find a supermarket or drug store, etc.
We would go back in a heart beat-

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank doclink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world...the state park is an unspoiled wonderland. Not a contractor or professional tanner to be found.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MartianGranola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint George Island State Park also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Saint George Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing