We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Sea of Sand and 5 Stars...Luv!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
M G
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Many Problems”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lack of maintenance and cleanliness makes this house one to avoid. The pots and pans in the kitchen are disgusting and appear dangerous to touch. The floors are filthy and have not been scrubbed in years The lock to an exterior door is missing; not that the lock is broken, the lock is missing! No way to secure the door. The same screen mentioned in another review is still broken. The interior stairway is dangerous at night because the light does not work. There are no functioning towel racks in the master bedroom and the pics are taken to avoid showing the broken towel racks. The shower in the second bedroom is rusty and paint is peeling off the wall. The bedroom tvs are from the 1970s and the master gets 3 channels, 2 local. Before booking we asked about the property and the rental company promised that the repairs had been made to the property. Clearly not accurate. Send a clear message to the owner and rental company and rent a different house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Dear "Many Problems,"

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at A Sea of Sand and Stars. We apologize that the home did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed our maintenance data base since from your review I cannot clearly tell which week you stayed in the home, but we have no reports of towel bars being broken in the home. At this time the towel racks in all the bathrooms are functioning. We have referred the lock on the sliding glass door to an outside vendor and have a safety bar in the track so that it cannot be opened without removing it. The only screen that has been repaired is a sliding screen for the glass sliding doors that occasionally will come off when the rollers get caked with beach sand. It is easily repaired and working at this time. Please remember our housekeeping department has a wide variety of supplies, pots and pans and more that we can bring to you at any time when needed. We appreciate the feedback on the furnishings and will include that on our annual post season assessment for the home owner. We hope that you will continue to enjoy SGI and give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Resort Vacation Properties of SGI
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooz_and...
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spartan, Worn, and Moldy”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property is in need of a deep cleaning and lots of maintenance. The screen doors are torn and the downstairs screen door fell off the track every time it was used -- a problem noted on TripAdvisor three years ago. There is mold in the shower stall and in the bathroom window. Peeling paint appears to have been painted over. The outside of the house needs to be washed. Moreover, by comparison to the other nearby properties, the interior is extremely Spartan and feels like you're staying at a low-end hotel -- every other property at which we have stayed over the last five years was furnished in a much more upscale and inviting manner. While the location is great, the property is not -- but could be if time and money were invested into the property. In light of the better options located in close proximity, we will not stay at this property again,

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Spartan -- low-end hotel feel, moldy, and worn
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
photos_by...
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
“A Sea of Sand and 5 Stars...Luv!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A Sea of Sand and Stars.....We visited St. George Island with our kids and in-laws to celebrate our daughters 30th birthday the week of April 10th, this was our first time on the island and it was awesome!
If you want a spot that's absolutely beautiful, quiet and tucked away from the action, this is the place to be.
From our oceanfront home, we had a beautiful view of the beach on both floors and if you love to walk beaches, this is it!
The house was immaculate, decorated really cute, the beds are super comfortable, 2 very nice decks and a walkway right to the beach from your back steps, a grill, 2 car parking spaces, really clean fridge and the kitchen is well stocked with utensils, pots and pans for your use.
Pretty much everything is in walking distance including the lighthouse and the cutest little fresh market just a block away, rental items and souvenirs nearby as well.
I’m almost hesitant to do this review because I don't want it to become too popular, lol…The ‘Forgotten Coast' is perfect just like it is, serene and peaceful!
I also wanted to add that the staff was Awesome, very attentive and communication was top notch....Thank you, Dale for such a nice stay...
This is definitely a 5-Star Review!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2012
Dear Bramlett,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are ever so sorry you had a bad night in another property but are pleased that the rest of your stay was enjoyable at A Sea of Sand and Stars. The refrigerator was recently assessed and because it is in good working condition, the exterior areas have been painted and it has a fresh new look. Thank you for the kind words about the service you received from our company. We try our best to provide quality customer service and are so glad you found this to be the case. Thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to having you back as our guests again soon.
Best Wishes,
Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pella Wisconsin
Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed January 27, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AL
Reviewed January 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,750
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing