We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“just great we love the island”

Review of An Island Breeze

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kentuckyb...
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Air Castle - Great View but Needs A Good Cleaning!”
Reviewed October 23, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 8 recently enjoyed a week at SGI - the 3rd time we've enjoyed the island together. The houses we've rented in the past have all been great. Air Castle was also a nice house but there were several things that needed attention. We all agreed the ocean view made up for some of the house's shortcomings but I'd probably look elsewhere the next time we rent. That being said, the staff at Resort Vacation Properties was courteous and helpful. The only complaint we had about the company was the fact the fireplace at the house wasn't working as advertised. The RVP maintenance staff knew about the problem but we weren't informed prior to arival. Not a big deal overall but there were several chilly nights while we were there and we were looking forward to sharing a fire with our grandsons. Those little guys were disappointed that we couldn't have a fire.

Positives and negatives are listed below:
Positives:
Wonderful ocean view - the best thing about the house
Five bedrooms - gave us room to spread out
Whirlpool tubs (2) - a hit with the grandsons
Two refrigerators - great to put drinks in one and everything else in the other
Pool - it was very dirty when we arrived but I called RVP and they sent someone out immediately to clean it

Negatives:
Only one entrance to the house. When our grandson asked how we would get out if there was a fire in the stairwell, it hit us - there was only one way in and one way out. The house lacks stairs from the great front decks and there is no exit from the rear of the house. It also means there is no communication from inside the house to anyone grilling or swimming in the pool (located to the rear of the house). It got to be a real pain.........we ended up having to call each other on our cell phones.

The house needs a detailed cleaning. It was obvious the RVP staff cleaned the house prior to our arrival. However, it was also obvious many things hadn't been cleaned in a while. The windows were filthy - the window sills had a buildup of dirt and insects. The floor grout was dark with dirt. The fridge just outside the kitchen had grime built up on the outside door. Ceiling light grills in the kitchen were filthy.

The home needed at least touch-up paint on the outside of the entry level. The white paint on the pillars was chipped and peeling.

Ceiling fans in the great room needed multiple light bulbs. The fireplace in the great room didn't work as advertised. One of the large wooden blinds in the great room wouldn't open - we had to fix it. Deck furniture wasn't nice - cheap plastic chairs.

The dish washer leaked every time it ran.

The shade in one of the master bedrooms wouldn't go all the way up. One of the DVD players didn't work. One of the TV remote controls didn't work.

Although the pool was nice. three of the lounge chairs were broken.

None of the house's shortcomings kept us from having a great week but we all agreed it could have been better. We loved, loved, loved the view but we all felt the house could have been cleaner and the disconnect from the interior of the house to the pool/grill area was a major shortcoming.

Although I'll probably use RVP again, I will be more careful about the condition of the house we rent. I don't mind paying a few more dollars to ensure a clean home with the features we want.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont florida
Reviewed June 10, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your most recent stay at Air Castle. We are delighted that you "love the island" and visit often. We value your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Be sure to check our website regularly for new specials and early booking discounts.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradenton FL
Reviewed June 10, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your stay at Air Castle. Thank you so much for the kind words about our company. We are just delighted that you feel "Resort rocks!" We value your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again this April for Rock by the Sea.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TN
Reviewed June 4, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location to beach & NO HI RISE CONDO'S
Liked least: Not sur I had any dislike's.
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your stay at Air Castle. We are delighted that you brought the entire family down this time & are so pleased they "loved" the island.Thank you for your continued patronage, we look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Be sure to check our website regularly for new specials and early booking discounts.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tallahassee
Reviewed June 3, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your stay at Air Castle. We are delighted that you found the home well appointed & well located. We apologize that the floorplan didn’t suit your needs well. We have a plethora of homes to choose from and our reservationists are very knowledgeable about our properties and would be more than happy to suggest some homes with fewer stairs for your next visit. We value your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Be sure to check our website regularly for new specials and early booking discounts.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
atlanta
Reviewed January 7, 2010 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steps
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Reviewed February 17, 2009 for a stay in July 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing