We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Goodnight Moon is a Haven by the Sea”

Review of Goodnight Moon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BilltheAr...
www.2soaringhearts.com
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Goodnight Moon is a Haven by the Sea”
Reviewed October 11, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a family vacation that included my wife and I, her two sisters and their husbands and kids. The house was beautiful and the amenities were excellent. All of the adult couples and two groups of kids each had a bedroom with a private bath. The living space is large and comfortable with plenty of soft seating, dvd, stereo, tv, books, games, etc. There are spectacular views in literally every direction with the open ocean on one side and the bay on the other. Less than 50 yards from the house the State beach begins and it continues for the next ten miles! There are virtually no people on that ten mile stretch and there are no buildings. This is a very special paradise that has been preserved in spite of development pressures. The island is connected to the mainland by a bridge/causeway so it's just a short drive to Apalachicola and other towns. There are fresh seafood trucks selling the daily catch. Our favorite was Dave's. He parks his yellow truck across from the St. George Island Trading Company and is generous with everything he offers. This is a very quiet, beautiful destination that is geared for outdoor living and a complete getaway from the pressures of daily life. There aren't a lot of night clubs or bars but there are a few if you have a mind. There are several operators who offer kayak tours, fishing, etc. We did a sunset kayak tour with Journeys. The owner, a lady named Dale from Australia came along on our paddle as a secondary guide. She and our main guide were both terrific. We ended at some oyster shoals and the guides shucked while we ate the freshest oysters you can get anywhere. We rented Goodnight Moon through Resort Vacation Properties. Special thanks and acknowledgement is due to Dale Kingon of that organization. He was very accommodating, patient and helpful throughout the process.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private baths in each room and spectacular views
Liked least: Small complaint about the elevator. It was a little touchy.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2011
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We especially appreciate the information you've provided about the Island. That is very helpful to others considering a visit...and it's so very detailed to help them with their decision. Thank you for the kind words about RVP and Dale in particular. He is terrific and we are pleased to learn that you are satisfied with our service. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodnight Moon
Reviewed June 10, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2010
Thank you for sharing your rental experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation on St. George Island and your stay at Goodnight Moon. We are delighted you have continually enjoyed your stays in the Sunset Beach community. We value your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tallahassee
Reviewed June 3, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our request for feedback. We are truly sorry that some of the amenities and Goodnight Moon were not functioning properly during your weekend stay and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. The elevator required extensive repairs and those repairs were recently completed and no further problems have been reported. We apologize that the fireplace could not function during your visit. As it turns out there was a bad gauge on the tank which showed there was gas when there wasn’t. Since your visit the gauge has been replaced and no further issues have been reported. With regards to the stereo system, the guest prior to you used it with no issues and it was only when you reported it that we became aware of the problem. A new stereo system was installed right after your stay. Again, we apologize that you left unsatisfied and that we were unable to fulfill your maintenance requests sufficiently prior to your departure. Should you choose to visit St. George Island in the future, we hope you will give us the opportunity to earn your trust again.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed December 14, 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Views of bay, wooden walls
Liked least: AC didn't work
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your rental experience with us. We are pleased that the home met your expectations but apologize that you experienced trouble with the A/C during your stay. We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you or your guests. When equipment malfunctions, we make every effort to have it repaired as soon as possible. One of the challenges of living on a barrier island is that parts have to be ordered & repair companies have to travel a longer distance, so what may be routine at home can often be an adventure here. We are pleased to report that the A/C was repaired and is in good working condition. Since you have had positive experiences with our company in the past, we hope that you will give us the chance to serve your vacation needs in the future.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tallahassee
Reviewed December 14, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your rental experience with us. We apologize for the extremely unusual circumstances you experienced during your stay. As you know, the property you had originally reserved became unavailable at the last moment at the owner’s insistence. We’re so sorry that you had to change homes mid-stay but due to the busy holiday weekend there were limited options available and we tried to accommodate your needs as best we could, even researching availability from other rental companies. The previous guests in this home had left it in an utter state of disarray and our housekeeping department was trying their hardest to get the home cleaned in a timely manner. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you and your guests. We hope that on your next visit to St. George Island, you will give us the opportunity to once more earn your trust and allow us to find a property that exceeds your expectations.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Reviewed December 14, 2009 for a stay in November 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Beauty of the area
Liked least: Broken shower enclosure
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Goodnight Moon for your niece’s wedding. The homes within Sunset Beach are some of our most popular rentals due to their proximity to the beach and their well-appointed accommodations. Elevators are a popular amenity in many of our homes. We are pleased that yours functioned properly, but apologize that others in your party were not so lucky. We make every effort to make repairs in a timely manner but one of the challenges of living on a barrier island is that parts have to be ordered & repair companies have to travel a longer distance so what may be routine at home can often be an adventure here. Thank you for reporting the shower issue. Guest satisfaction and safety is of the utmost importance to us. The issue was investigated and repaired after your stay. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GA
Reviewed January 27, 2009 for a stay in May 2008

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing