We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing can be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bob Sikes Cut

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This channel, which separates St. George Island from Little St. George Island, is known for being a great spot to catch flounder.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fishing can be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The storm has made it somewhat difficult to get on the east jetty. You have to wait for the low tide, unless you want to wade to. At high tide its completely cut off.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spencer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    2
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No Swimming here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

A good fishing spot for islanders on St. George Island. Unless you are a guest in the plantation it is difficult to reach by car. Current is very swift through here and Sharks are known to be here! Careful walking on the rocks as a fall can slice you open and the closest ER is in Apalachicola. Been there, done that! Not good!

Helpful?
1 Thank BiBisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shells,shells,& more shells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family has a friend with a house on SGI so we stayed for Labor weekend. (thanks, Debi&David)
so we jumped at the offer.We took our boat and headed out to the cut.We where there not long after a hurricane the shell were every where very beautiful just remember your water shoes and my husband said the tell you all heading there to go fishing!!! The fishing is great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nice place to get away from the normal everyday beach environment. There were a lot of people out and about fishing and such. The area is clean and up kept well. Parking around the area could be a bit better but not a deal-breaker by any means. Overall, it is a nice place to see some wildlife and relax by the rocks. A great area to take a casual walk with friends or family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kytraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The fishing here is great. We used live shad that we caught with a cast net in the cut. I would say that plan on bringing some water shoes for the rocks and when wading in the surf there are a lot of sting rays. It was not really crowded there either.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Sikes Cut also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bob Sikes Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing