We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cold Day, Fun Fishing

We took a half day trip with Captain Wes and Bay View Charters in January. He had some overalls... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jefffulmer
,
Nashville, Tennessee
Great fishing experience

We had such a good time going bay fishing with Bay View Charters. Everyone caught at least one fish... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
caseyagriffin
,
Louisville, Kentucky
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
  
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
54
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capt wes grouper offshore fishing nice size red snappers next year half day trip dolphin encounter boat ride can't wait to go again great trip saw dolphins joanna granddaughters newbies bay sgi
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 54 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We booked Wes for a group of 5 to go deep sea fishing. The trip also happened to be a bachelor party which Wes had no issue with. Wes was an excellent captain, the boat was very nice and he knew exactly what he was doing. The trip was a huge success and our group could not have been happier about the trip. We caught a total of about 30 fish, including: Mangrove Snapper, Red Snapper, Cobia, Spanish Mackeral, undersized Grouper, Spade Fish and possibly others I cant recall.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank MrBrian904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYVIEWCHARTERSOFSGI, Owner at Bay View Charters of SGI, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Thank you. Enjoyed taking you guys out. Too bad we had to throw the Grouper back so it could grow bigger for the next time. Joanna and I want to wish you and your future bride all the best. Thanks again for booking with us! Hope to see y'all the next time you are on the island.
Captain Wes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Had a great time with Captain Wes. He put us on the fish and was great with my daughter and nephew. He made it a great first of many trips for them. thank you for a great time. we will be back

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank justinbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYVIEWCHARTERSOFSGI, Owner at Bay View Charters of SGI, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you. It was a great day on the water. Really enjoyed fishing with you and look forward to seeing you the next time y'all are on the island.
Captain Wes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

Had a great time! Took a three hour trip to see dolphins, look for shells on Little St George Island, and watch the sunset. Captain Wes was very nice. Would definitely go again!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank mjprtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYVIEWCHARTERSOFSGI, Owner at Bay View Charters of SGI, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Enjoyed taking your group out and thank you for posting the photos. We really hope to see you next time you are on the island.

Captain Wes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We had the best time! Our kids had never been on a boat and loved every minute of it. Joanna was great and very responsive with emails. We were supposed to go earlier in the week but weren't able to and bad weather kept us at bay but they got us in and it was wonderful.

Capt. Wes was so patient with our very inquisitive child and answered all his questions. We weren't able to collect a lot of shells because of how conditions were but Joanna was wonderfully sweet and gave a bunch from her own collection to my sons and they love them. It's the personal touches that help make these experiences great!

We hope to do another tour next year when we go back to SGI!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYVIEWCHARTERSOFSGI, Owner at Bay View Charters of SGI, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you, Michelle. It was a pleasure taking your family out on their first boat adventure. We really hope to see you again!

Capt. Wes & Joanna McCall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

What an incredible experience! Our family of six, including two younger children, thoroughly enjoyed the fishing adventure. Joanna was very responsive on email, and helped put together the right package for our family. Looming weather the week of the trip forced some last minute modifications, but Joanna made the process easy for us... truly exceptional!

Captain Wes was great... a patient instructor for our kids, and someone with unparalleled knowledge of the local area and and local waters. He set us up for success by finding all the right fishing spots! This is a definite repeat for our family. Make this a part of your family vacation to St. George Island. You will NOT regret it.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYVIEWCHARTERSOFSGI, Owner at Bay View Charters of SGI, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Thank you Andrew, for your kind words. We enjoyed working with you. We were lucky Tropical Storm Cindy blew out and we were able to get you and your family out on the water for a memorable experience. Captain Wes enjoyed your fun family and that everyone had a good time! We are looking forward to your next trip to the Island!
Captain Wes & Joanna McCall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews