We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View Lighthouse”

Saint George Island Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ocean View Lighthouse”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved the lighthouse in St George Island Florida. It sits very close to the ocean and has a visitor center next to it with a very well informed you lady to fill you in on Oyster harvesting history which was fascinating and there is a gift shop. The town is small but has a very friendly feel. We visited this area for the first time and were impressed with the friendly people and scenic choices everywhere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cowgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    78
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, MO
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun stop with great view”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great easy stop with very interesting local history. Lady running the museum was very friendly and helpful. Was obvious a local because she knew the history and even the backgrounds on the various vendors. Would be fun for kids since you can climb the lighthouse (small fee).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank szvacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Good Climb”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Enjoy visiting lighthouses that you can climb up. Visitor center next door has gift shop and small walk through museum exhibits. The top of this lighthouse has a tight ladder entry to it and I must admit it got hot up there- not an open top where you can enjoy the breezes. I could see the ladder posing issues to people NOT in good physical condition. Nice playground next door as well.......

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A panhandle treasure”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been going down there for 50 years and never get tired of it. Lighthouse tours are pretty much a thing of the past, but still a pretty site. And the fishing can be good too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Spencer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun to go up! Great place for info about the area.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The lighthouse is great. You can even go up and see the island from the birds point of view. There are pavilions, restrooms, beach access boardwalk, showers, and a visitors center on this site. We hit this spot up as soon as we arrived and got brochures so we could plan our week! We stayed on the bay side of the island so we used the beach access a few times during our stay. It makes a beautiful backdrop for you as you are coming of the bridge from Eastpoint! The Island is a great place to visit and relax.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint George Island Lighthouse also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Saint George Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing