We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, and staff helpful to clueless Northerners like us”
Review of The Catfish Place

The Catfish Place
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyme, NH
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, and staff helpful to clueless Northerners like us”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After our airboat tour, we asked our guide where the locals eat, and he said The Catfish Place without hesitation.

A lot of things on the menu were new to us, and the waitress was very patient and helpful about explaining what’s what. We ordered lots of things, but weren’t that adventurous (catfish for my wife, but no gator for either of us). Everything was great, and big portions.

I’m a vegetarian, so the options were limited, but still good stuff. My first time having fried green tomatoes!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    158
    44
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good meal and friendly staff”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of the people who run Kissimmee Swamp Tours (see my review there). We'd not eaten catfish, gator or turtle before so asked our server what would be best to experience these, she recommended the platter which came with a bit of everything. It was indeed very good, and the ranch dressing was one of the best I've had. Would have been nice to have something not deep-fried, but that's what the menu has and it was still very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best seafood place in Kissimmee/St. Cloud”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The first time my wife and I went, we had seen the Catfish Place a few times driving by and didn't know anything about it. I did some research and it sounded really good. Since then we've been there twice and both times were awesome!!! You have to be hungry when you come because the portions are huge. Both times we have split the House Special. That's a platter of catfish, shrimp, clam strips, oysters, scallops, gator, turtle, and frog legs. For two people it's more than enough. The service, even when crowded, which seems to be all the time, is great. There's a reason why on the door and on the menu it says, "Where the locals eat." I'm making myself hungry typing this at 1 am...I wish we could go tomorrow but we can't.

Now, it is on the expensive side so you can't drop in if you're on a budget. But what you pay is worth every cent. The restaurant is a partner in my airline's frequent flier program so I can get miles for stuffing my face with the best seafood I've put in my mouth since we've moved to Orlando.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort Food 101”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always a delicious visit. Fried lobster and hush puppies out of this world! You better be hungry when you come here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mzgypsymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“outstanding catfish”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

For lunch I chose the Lake Okeechobee whole fingerling catfish, with mashed potatoes and gravy and special-of-the-day cabbage. Everything was excellent. The 3 catfish were tender, moist, and sweet with a very crunchy coating The cabbage was cooked with pork, rich and delicious. Nice white gravy topped the creamy mashed potatoes. I'll be back whenever I pass through St. Cloud.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catfish Place also viewed

 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Catfish Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing