We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Saint Cloud
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This restaurant served really great Barbeque at a good price. The pulled pork plate I had was great. My son had a sampler plate with a little of everything (which I ate part of) and the barbequed chicken on his plate was great too. I will definitely eat there again if I go back to St. Cloud.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I travel from Melbourne to Orlando once a week for class, and drive through St. Cloud to get there. I decided to go there once after classes and got the all you can eat ribs, and they were delicious! It was so good, a lot better then the one where I live. The server was friendly, quick to get me refills and even brought me to-go cups with fresh tea in it. I was very pleased!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaStaysTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not the best”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm a big BBQ lover and this is just mediocre at best. A little pricey for what it is. Meats were overly sauced, mac n cheese should be homemade and not from velveeta. Side weren't great, watery green beans, stale tasting bread. Not the best experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank anonymous2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It really is the pits”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very poor salad bar which is expensive for what they offer. Typical heavily salted, greasy food. Side dishes (corn, beans, etc) are very overcooked. Staff is really not very attentive and try to find them when you need a drink refill - good luck. Overpriced for what you get. Try Fat Boys Bar-B-Q for a tastier, more reasonably priced and friendlier service when that urge for Bar-B-Que strikes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Husband's Fave”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We eat here at least once a week! My husband loves the sliced pork as well as the sliced brisket. I love the brisket and the pulled pork. The "Big Deal" is such a great value. You get so much food (too much) for such a minimal price. We're regulars! Have been for years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 
Kissimmee, Central Florida
Kissimmee, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing