We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Dinning with a Friendly Staff!!”
Review of Pete & Pegs Roadhouse Grill - CLOSED

Pete & Pegs Roadhouse Grill
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Dinning with a Friendly Staff!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a great family dinner at Pete and Pegs. They have a very friendly staff! They also have some of the best gumbo in town!! Their catfish is very fresh and tasty. You also get nice portions. It's defiantly worth a taste!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raven_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
210 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Old and Cluttered”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My family visited on a Saturday for lunch at 12:30 PM. We were the only patrons in the restaurant. The restaurant is very small, old and with cluttered walls. The outdoor patio seating area had a table full of dirty dishes, but the employees were sitting and chatting. The kitchen was open to the seating area and patrons were able to hear every word of staff conversation. The food tasted good and the portions were very large. I doubt if we will ever return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonByle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice spot”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went on a Friday night ( one of the few nights this place is open for dinner). It is well named "Roadhouse". Extremely friendly service. A throwback to the 50's. We had one of the best chicken gumbos, excellent salad, and then opted for Italian. My chicken parm was under $11 and very delicious. My wife ordered lasagna which was also excellent. We will be back next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drocton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best omelet in St Cloud in a venue that looks like a house.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stay alert: Parking is forbidden on the side of the street opposite Pete & Pegs.

Breakfast everyday and all day long. Lunch everyday, and dinner only from Thursday through Saturday.

The Meat Omelet and the Veggie Omelet are excellent. The former comes filled to the rafters with bacon, ham, sausage, mushrooms, spinach, onions, and tomatoes.

Peg takes the orders, and you may substitute some ingredients. Of course, some things she does not have: fresh unflavored yogurt and fresh berries, but you may substitute the usual fries or mashed potatoes and toast with broccoli cooked al dente.

The cook is a large man who knows how to make a fluffy omelet and stuff it to the gills without tearing the delicate egg wrapper and who likes to make his own hot sauce. That is a sauce with flavor beyond the usual vinegar and salt, and more capsaicin than the usual commercial grade "soda pop" that anybody may buy at a grocery store. His sauce is not on the menu, but be sure to ask for it if you like capsaicin. It's not Naga Bhut Jolokia hot, and by that standard, it's mild, but very flavorful. That same cook is writing a cookbook.

Only one demerit: Instead of whole milk, they had only 2%!

Will I return? Yes, and maybe for dinner.

Will I recommend it? Yes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FastidiousDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you didn't know it was there you would think it was a house but once you go inside you are in for a real treat. The food is great. Be sure to try the "Stomp" if you like spicy, flavorful soups

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete & Pegs Roadhouse Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing