We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to ask for an upper floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be sure to ask for an upper floor”
Reviewed June 12, 2006

I stayed here last week for four days. I had asked for an ocean view room, all they had left with ocean view was a family suite so I opted to pay the extra to get the view. I was put in a ground floor room and could not see the ocean. It also was right across the hall from the laundry room were the staff congragated in the mornings making lots of noise. I complained right away about the view and they reduced the rate. The next morning after experiencing the noise I complained again and they took a night off the bill. The staff was great, very understanding, but the company needs to rerate the room.
Other than that problem all else was fine. I would stay here again but insist on an upper floor.

Helpful?
2 Thank Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    394
    218
    99
    50
See reviews for
479
535
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

I have had good results with the Hilton chain and chose to stay at this Hampton because it was on the beach. I should have listened to the reviews that I read on trip advisor. I stayed for two nights in July 2005 with my husband and 2 younger children. The room was ok, balcony was nice, staff was short, but somewhat friendly, and the breakfast ok for everyone except me since I am dieting. Other than that it was a mess. The hotel floor was covered in sand for most of the stay. The hotel pool was like bath water and was more like a bath for people coming out of the ocean. The beach access was a fairly long trek for someone with small children and several items to carry. I stepped out on my balcony with my children to see a little child of approx 11 years of age peeing next to his car. Apparently the beach access used for the hotel is a public beach access. I think most people in the pool were just beach goers. There wasn't anyone out cleaning the pool or surveying either to determine that only hotel residence were using it. Our room door would not completely close. Requested assistance and was told they will get to it. We had to slam the door to get it to latch. I was very disappointed and will most likely stay across the street the next time I visit at the Hilton instead. I can use the public beach access anyway!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JHanshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

I am writing to let you know my recent stay at the Hampton St. Augustine was a huge disappointment. We arrived at the hotel at approx. 11 pm Monday evening. The room was a smoking room, the only one available. I understood this and asked that an air cleaner be placed in our room prior to check in, which it was. Once in our room I noticed the entire side of the room near the air conditioning unit was sopping wet. I was traveling with two young children and wanted to get them in bed. I called the front desk to inform them and they said they would send maintenance in the morning. In the middle of the night we were awakened by a sound that we thought was a fire alarm but was actually the machine which cleans the air. After reading the directions on the machine it clearly states to vacate the room when in use. In the morning I noticed the bathroom was filthy with urine caked on the floor around the toilet. I went to the front desk to request a room change, I was told it would be looked into but it would be the "same type" of room. I went back to the room and after informing my traveling companion on the situation I noticed a metal beer bottle cap placed in the light fixture between the two beds. I immediately went over to the Hilton Garden Inn where the front desk manager or assistant manager readily helped me get a room and was very accommodating. I immediately went back to the Hampton and checked out. Hilton should be ashamed to have this Hampton as part of their family.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank kkonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 1, 2005

We stayed at the St. Augustine Hampton for four days and found the service great. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly.They also have a great continetal breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing