We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an original HI and you can tell but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Not the quality/appearance of usual HI's. Furniture is all fine but walls, entry doors needs replacement.Dreary. Location is great as it is oceanfront (no busy street to cross) Friendly staff. Rooms might be small and seem to have a lot of furniture. We had a roll away cot in so that always makes it tighter. Loved the outlet thing they had on the bedside table for charging and electrical needs. Third floor, great view. Good sitting on porch, 2 chairs and a table there so great. We fit 2 more as well. Just have to feel the air conditioner vent sadly. Nice option for when it it raining. Pool very nice. Hot tub nice. Apparently when the sprinklers go on in Florida there is a strong smell of rotten eggs. We thought there was definitely a gas leak but staff member said it was the norm. Breakfast was good. Could use a more energetic staff person or two people handling and replenishing all a little quicker. Hot water for tea was not hot at all! Coffee later in day, in lobby tasted like it had been sitting there since morning. Had to ask/pick up towels 3 different times, plus toilet paper. I don't understand why they skimp on the tp! This is not the first time!! Pool towels are provided but they are about a good as paper towels but not as absorbent. Room towels much nicer. Clientele nice and beach not that crowded. It was an absolutely beautiful beach. Water clean, clear, fantastic. Huge beach. Great place to stay but you just don't feel like you are staying at a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We got a last minute room and the staff was very nice and got us 2 rooms across the hall from each other so that we could at least have some ocean view. I felt the price was a little high, but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel to use some of our Hilton Honors points. When we arrived they said they "upgraded" us to a pool garden room. However, our room (#101) smelled like sulfur from the sprinklers hitting the balcony at all hours of the day/night, which kept you from using the balcony. There were many tiny sugar ants in the room which was not pleasant either. The mattress was terrible in this room. It was very uncomfortable and had a sag in the middle. I don't know if all mattresses need replacing but this one certainly does. The sprinklers come on in the evening and they shoot directly into the pool and jacuzzi so the timers should be set to run when the pool area is closed (after 10pm) because it hits the guests (especially anyone sitting in the jacuzzi), gets the chairs wet, and stinks up the deck. It really is a huge distraction from enjoying the pool deck in the evenings. I can't believe this can't be adjusted so the guests can enjoy the evenings in the pool area. Everyone was complaining about this and several men reported it to the front desk but nothing was done to change the timers. Hampton Inn offers a free breakfast but this hotel was out of nearly everything no matter what time we went down for breakfast. It was crowded and they used the excuse of only having one worker. This is when a good General Manager would push up his/her sleeves and pitch in to help. They only have one waffle maker so the lines were 10-12 deep waiting. Everything else was empty and guests were going back to the kitchen asking for something to eat or drink. It was bad the entire week we were there and there is really no excuse for that since they know in advance how many guests will be in their hotel so they can plan accordingly. It would not cost anything to add another waffle maker, most Hamptons have at least two going to help with the crowds. The parking is also a problem. Two nights we were unable to find parking in the lot and had to find a place across the street and hope we were not towed. The staff was friendly but there are a lot of things that can be done to make this place a much more enjoyable stay for it's guests.

Room Tip: Avoid end rooms on the first 2-3 floors. You do not have an ocean view and the rooms are sprayed wi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our vacation this year at the Hampton at St Augustine Beach. The staff was over the top friendly and accommodating. Rooms were in the process of being upgraded and the beach newly refurbished. We will make this one of our get away Hotels on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here one night of our vacation. The hotel is further back from the beach than I expected, however the beach is beautiful. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. The hotel was clean, pool and hot tub were nice as well. There were some people that snuck into the pool after hours which wasn't great as our room overlooked the pool and we could hear them. We had a pool/beachfront room. The restaurant across the street was great-Sunset Grill. The hotel baked fresh cookies at night as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnthompson3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The most friendly and helpful hotel that I have stayed. They seem to be glad you are there. The hot breakfast was very good. The staff kept area clean and food fresh. The pool and grounds were kept clean. They even have hot coffee and tea in the evening along with hot cookies. This place was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and well maintaiined. We did not use the breakfast or other amenities but they were readily available. We would stay here again. Price was high due to the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $132 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing