We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We were greeted by the friendly staff and were acknowledged every time we left and came back to the hotel. Always came back to a clean room. Nice array of television channels with 3 channels of Showtime. This place is just a small 2 minute walk to the beach and close to some nice restaurants. The WiFi was quick and set up was easy. The only issue we had was the breakfast, i don't think who ever was supposed to make it knew that the start time was 0600 like the front desk briefed at checkin. This happened on the first morning and i thought "no biggie she's a little behind this morning" could happen to anyone. But when it happened the very next morning again i suspected a trend. The worst part was that when she was asked by another guest for a item that should have been out on the floor already as it was packaged, she shrugged here shoulders, which i took as very rude given gesture figuring that it was her that obviously doesn't know how to back plan to meet timelines. I think it would have been a better situation if she had acknowledged the 5 guests waiting for her to put stuff out 15 minutes past the start time, but there was no acknowledgment, apology or explanation. She definitely needs some retraining in customer service and time management.
Don't get me wrong i like this hotel and would stay here again. I would recommend to others visiting the area to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travlin_Fam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was very happy with the hotel and staff at this location. The beach was nice and high and the staff told me it had been restored by the US Army Corp of engineers. Historic downtown was only 5-10 minutes away. Free coffee and tea anytime and nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a 2nd floor room with balcony facing the ocean and just below us the pool area.Very clean, comfortable beds, on the small side. Just enough room for 2 beds with room to walk, no soft seating, a desk and chair (free wifi), TV, frig and microwave. Check-in was fast and friendly, free parking in front. Nice spacious bathroom. All of the staff greeted us when we walked around. Breakfast was included and about what you expected. Breakfast room isn't big so can be difficult to get a table, also tables placed close to serving area make it difficult to move around (at times).
Out the back there's a walkway past the pool to the ocean, large lovely beach . One alert, people walk dogs there, don't always clean up after. There is also a sharp cut with a drop of several feet - watch the little ones.
Would happily go back.

Room Tip: A higher room would have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaleN536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

After a long day from flying from Moline, Illinois to Jacksonville Florida then drive over 50 miles to reach St. Augustine it was so nice to get great welcome to Hampton Inn by Tracy. She was so pleasant and helpful during my check in. I came back to the desk and she got my I-pad going on the wi-fi and offered me some fresh baked cookies. I travel all over and stay at many places, I wish there was more Tracy's out there!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank MartyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice hotel and very clean but definitely had an well used feeling. Very easy access to beach.
Excellent response to 2 broken items in room, fixed while we were out.
Typically good Hampton breakfast with very friendly staff.
Definite great value

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillieRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

It's the typical old beach hotel. You know. The ones where the hotel room walls look more like they should be the outside stucco of an old doctor's office. The rooms are small; and, there are still some broken things here and there. My two-year-old really liked playing with the broken knob on the adjoining hotel room's door, for instance.
The closet door is silly. Really, there's no other explanation for it.
The windows, unfortunately, let so much light in that I had to put pillows against the curtains to help a little. Also, sadly, even on the fourth floor we could hear cars, at all hours, honking (locking) their doors securely.
The pool is NOT heated, though there is a hot tub.
Tip: unless you get a balcony room on the fourth floor, you're wasting your money on the "beach view," as a large-standing dune separates the hotel from the ocean. You still won't get a great view, just a slip of view.
The cleaning crew makes little effort to be quiet before 10:00am.
The cookies at the front desk are comparable to Chips Ahoy! It's best to just not do them at all.
Lastly, though we are well-established Hilton Honors members, we were not greeted as such nor were we offered any sort of upgrade, water, etc. We didn't get our newspaper; and, when we asked about it, we were told that to "save on paper" they were no longer giving out papers. Further, we were told they kept them downstairs but, "they go quick!"
They were under-staffed and had an employee sharing with everyone, loudly, how unhappy she was being called in for someone at 5:00am that morning, as people waited for their coffee.
The Good:
The staff were nice and did what they could to accommodate us.
The free breakfast included waffles.
They keep hot coffee and chocolate in the lobby, regularly.
There are towels kept at the door between the hotel and pool.
There is an outside restroom by the pool.
They do have the expected four-machine workout room.
They have a boardwalk that not only takes you straight to the sand but there is an added bonus of a large playground.

Overall Impression: If, during the cooler months, you want to stay at a Hampton Inn, stay at the one on Vilano Road. It's nicer, larger rooms, more balconies, heated pool, better breakfast, newer updates. Parking is limited sometimes but you will always have a spot and not be charged. You will have to walk past the parking lot and down a boardwalk to the beach, but there are showers between.
If it's Summer and you have little ones, this Hampton Inn should meet your needs; but, it was the worst Hampton Inn experience we've had. It was more like we were staying at a Super 8. We've removed it from our travel planner for my husband's company. It was so apparent that everyone was over it that we didn't even feel it would be worth our time asking for a manager.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank cress115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when actions of the staff did not meet your expectations.
we are always looking for ways to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It was nice to be right on the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The complimentary breakfast was good. It was conviently located to St. Augustine's many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with , Hope to see you agin in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
808 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $147 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing