We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

I can tell this hotel was not originally a Hampton Inn. It is a bit more unique than your typical cookie cutter Hampton. It appears to be a slightly older property than most Hampton Inns. However, it is maintained very nicely and kept clean. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Our room was on the oceanfront side on the first floor. We could not see the water from our room, but the friendly front desk staff offered to let us move to another room (on a higher floor) the next night. The lack of a view didn't bother us, so we decided to keep the original room. It was convenient that we could just throw our luggage straight onto the balcony instead of lugging it down the hallways to the elevator.

The room itself was decent. My least favorite feature was the small size. The furniture was dated and a bit bulky for such a small area. Even though the room was slightly cramped, it was perfectly acceptable. Not to mention, it was free since we booked this stay as a Hilton Honors Rewards stay. For the price, it was excellent!

One thing that boggled my mind was that the inside hallways were about twice as wide as an ordinary hotel hallway. The extra space was filled with tropical plants. This looked very nice and was cool/different, but I think the space would have been put to better use if it had been part of the room itself. Check out my pictures to see what I mean.

Another thing I wondered about was the fact that they had the laundry room in the little house by the pool! I would rather see a concession stand or something besides a boring laundry room on prime oceanfront real estate. Also, other reviewers have noted that random beachgoers who are not staying at the Hampton Inn use the pool. This is true. They also use the parking lot and no one with the hotel cares! I had to drive around for ten minutes one night looking for a place to park.

As far as the service here goes, both the front desk staff and continental breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just your standard continental breakfast and every day it was packed with the usual bratty kids standing in the way, etc (not that Hampton Inn can help that!).

The breakfast area was kind of small, but they open up the nearby conference room for extra seating. Also, in the evenings, they put out freshly baked cookies in the breakfast area! I thought this was a really nice touch! Coffee and tea were available 24/7.

If I found myself at St. Augustine Beach again, I would most likely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Decent Location, Cookies in Lobby
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesoreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    376
    208
    92
    39
See reviews for
442
512
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

My family stayed here for just two nights. We didn't want to leave. The rooms were great and the balcony was fabulous. We actually saw a bird's nest in the Palm Tree near our balcony and a dove sitting on an egg. It was so serene here and lots of nature. There were ducks on our grass and lots of seashells and starfish on the gorgeous beach.The lady at the front desk helped us with information about St. Augustine. We took the Ripley's Red Train Sightseeing Tour and it was great. The Breakfast Staff and Cleaning Staff were so friendly and helpful to us. Wonderful Laundry area, clean and air conditioned. Great Pool too. I will come back some day and recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family.

  • Liked — The view from our Balcony
  • Disliked — The eggs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghFirewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB, Florida,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We just returned from a 4 day trip at the Hampton Inn on St. Augustine Beach and had a wonderful time.We were a little concerned about the reviews and have always tried to stay at hotels in tripadvisors top 10 (Hampton Inn was 13) but decided to give it a try and we are so happy that we did! The location is perfect and from what we saw this is definitely the nicest hotel DIRECTLY on the beach. The rooms were clean and spacious and the front desk was always helpful and polite. Free continental breakfast each morning was served with a smile.The pool was cleaned each morning and there was always someone cleaning the main areas.Just be careful if you rent beach chairs because you will have to hunt the man down to return your change.Overall a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back !!

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — pool size was a little small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunnyWPB_Florida_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

At the check-in time, the front desk coordinator was very rude with us. First she could not give us the type of room we had requested and then she gavue a bad attitude. Nonetheless, we tried to move on and enjoy our stay. When we got home, I received the survey about how was our stay. Indeed, I expressed that the stay in general was okay, but that the staff was a bit rude. But it could not stop there!!! the following day, the front office manager sent me a personal email stating that they had cameras and that she saw in the videos that nobody had been rude to us!!!! she also stated that we should not come back to that property and many other inappropriate comments that should not be sent to any guest at all. It was total nightmare. We were looking for a nice and relaxing vacation, but it ended up in a total nightmare. It seemed they had no experience in hospitality. I have been about two weeks with this problem!!!! what a vacation.

  • Liked — the room was pretty nice!
  • Disliked — the customer service provided by the front desk and front desk manager
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank samantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

We spent a wonderful weekend in St. Augustine and stayed at Hampton Inn on the beach. The service was excellent but the hotel itself REALLY needs to be updated! The rooms are old and tired. You have to watch when walking out to the balony that you dont trip and hurt yourself because of the sliding glass door the bottom frame sticks way up! When you are walking down the hall you can clearly hear people in their rooms talking etc. For the price you pay it is not worth it and seeing that Hilton owns Hampton Inns you would think they would come off some of those millions and fix the place up! Would I stay there again? NO, mainly because it is not worth what they are charging. We paid almost 200 per night and it was worth half of that.

D.S. Tampa, FL

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank dswantampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Stayed here for one night, experience started out by front desk hostess not saying 'hello' but saying 'well nothing is ready yet' that pretty much summed up how the front desk treats you. The good news is, the rooms are very nice and clean, property is well maintained, would definately stay here again. The rest of the staff is SUPER nice, housekeepers, breakfast room workers, etc etc were always saying hello and smiling. The three front desk hostesses we encountered never said hello or smiled at us coming or going or when we needed help. Would have given this hotel an above average rating if front desk was nicer

  • Liked — very clean, good food across the street, nice beach access
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psutommy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

After having read some of the rosy reviews, I am wondering if we stayed at the same Hampton Inn? No doubt that the beach location deserves accolades. But I suspect that the beach allure may have obscured the obvious problems with this hotel. For the negatives: The place is old and in serious need of upgrades. Everywhere I looked, there was evidence of aging - rust, worn frames, carpeting, etc.. We walked into our room and were greeted by an overwhelming perfume smell from a cleaning agent. The smell never left the room. I noted that the door did not close all the way - you had to manually close it. I noted that the drapes to the balcony was ripped. (The balcony rendered a beautiful view of the ocean.) I noted that when I used the stairs to descend to the lobby, the worn carpeted steps were dirty, I thought that some children may have dropped food carrying it to their room but it was still there the next day. This place was horribly kept throughout. There was poor water pressure in the bathroom. My AC unit konked out during the night and we never did get it going again.l But the worst dilemma I came across was the bed. The mattresss was not only out of date - it was alive! I didn't sleep a bit that night. We had planned on staying for 2 nights but that was the straw that broke this camel's back. And almost directly across the street is a Hilton Garden's facilitiy that looks pretty new - I wished I had booked there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank zargeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing