We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and okay”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Okay for a beach hotel. It's showing it's wear and tear and, while clean, has that mustiness that I don't care for. The pool is clean and small but the adjoining playground is a nice touch. I was miffed that the laundry room is inside the pool gates, which were locked after a thunderstorm so I get to the washing machine. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the breakfast crew had a hard time keeping up with the guests. It will be a nicer beach once the restoration project is complete and the uniformed beach patrol is not out keeping even the youngest beachgoers off of a long stretch of sand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    393
    218
    98
    50
See reviews for
476
535
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Why on earth didn't someone forewarn us that our beach view room would actually be a view of major beach reconstruction work which had large Cat Tractor Bulldozers working 24-7. Literally .... all through the night with reversing warning beepers switched on.
Oh ...... I know ....... because no one would have checked in.
The room was pre-booked and pre-paid, which made the experience even worse. We felt really sorry for families who used the beach because initially they had a hike of about 300 yds down the beach (in 90F ++) to find a clear stretch. On our final day they closed the beach off at the rear of the hotel completely. No access !! and still the hotel said nothing. No explanation at all about what was going on. We finally found information on the internet.
We understand why this sort of beach reconstruction needs to be done, and even why it's 24-7, because it needs to be done quickly, but to have the hotel behaving as though nothing's happening is a disgrace.
A really bad experience which showed that the hotel management held a completely contemptuous view of their "guests". They simply did not care. Do Hampton Inn's run any training sessions on guest relations?? ...... No they don't.
This was a poor quality Hamton Inn which should not really be in the "Hampton Inn" group.
We did ask what was going on and the receptionist said that we should have been told. She then offered a "free" 1 nights stay in another Hamton Inn, we would get a voucher on check out. We didn't, of course, we left our address and she said a voucher would be posted to us. As we live in England I don't expect to recieve anything. If we do I'll leave another post.
Poor show Hampton Inns.
Message to the local management ................ find another profession. Inn-keeper doesn't suit you.

Room Tip: Check out what's going on behind the hotel before booking any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach! During your visit, the county was working on a beach replenishment project that we are happy to report has been completed since the middle of August. The dates and times of this project were sporadic and while we tried to inform guests that may have had their stay impacted by this situation, we apologize if we did not reach you in time to let you know. We are excited to report that, in addition to the beautiful beach being open and better than ever, we will also be featuring all new furniture and updates very soon! We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you and pamper you with our warm Hamptonality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I read the reviews of this hotel but needed a hotel near the destination of a friend's sunrise wedding. Many of the reviews were sadly accurate. The hotel smells terrible, mold mixed with the stench of poor cleaning. The rooms are terribly dated, especially the bathrooms. The bathroom sink was stopped up -- yuk. In addition, dredging took place just outside the window ALL night. Hampton Inn corporate should remove their name from this hotel. To top it all, the room was quite expensive for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: Unfortunately the renourishment of the beach was out of our control. With that being said we were doing our very best to notify our guests in regards to this matter.
While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

the first day we got there, it was extremely convenient to walk out of the hotel to the beach.
the next day, the ramp was closed and "beach restoration" was taking place - defied the whole purpose of staying at this hotel
breakfast was ok, but space was limited
tv was glitchy (kept going back to main menu when first browsing channels)
wifi access is only in the common areas - wifi access in the room is weak

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds and when my husband pulled the blanket back to go to sleep, he smelled a very strong smell of urine. After turning the sheets back, he saw a 2 foot wide circle of fresh urine probably left from the last guests. How could a maid have changed the sheets and not noticed this. It was absolutely disgusting! the staff was very nice and changed our room only to find dried up blood in the next bed on the sheets. This hotel is not clean and people should beware if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apicellae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions always count, not bad driving in to hotel, check-in was good, room was ready, except that not completely ready for a new guest; bathroom was dirty, bed half done, ironing board in the middle of the room, let reception know and room was ready by the time we got back from sightseeing. Beach was closed so that was disappointing, went to the pool instead. Breakfast: not bad, considering only one staff member had to replenish hot food, danish/bagels, cereals, drinks, plates and utensils, plus clean tables. Looked like hotel was full, not sure why only one person manning the breakfast room. No water on Saturday night, started working around 3 am. Reception staff excellent considering everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Please allow us to address the issues at hand: Unfortunately the renourishment of the beach was out of our control. With that being said we were doing our very best to notify our guests in regards to this matter.
While we do face some issues being directly on the beach we have recently moved forward with a new housekeeping program and staff that we feel will be very beneficial to the property moving forward. With that being said we have always taken pride in our hotel and do everything in our power to keep it up to ours and Hamptons standards.
In regards to our breakfast staff we do our best to gauge our labor according to our business volume.
We apologize that you experienced a much less than satisfactory stay and would love any chance to redeem ourselves and the Hampton Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is a little dated, but clean and very comfortable. The hot breakfast was good and the service was outstanding. We had a queen, oceanfront room. The beach in front of the hotel was closed due to storm erosion, but we just walked a few feet to the next street and entered the beach there. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapeCoral_FLDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin K, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our property!! We greatly appreciate your business and your understanding about the beach renourishment as it was out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
730 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
836 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Address: 430 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing