We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy & casual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
York, ME.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easy & casual”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband & I recently made a brief pre-tourist season vacation in St Augustine. Our the first time there & I wanted an easy place. We chose the Holiday Isle because it was an older hotel and not crammed in beside other newer beach motels. It was a good choice. Easy access to the beach and the pool area was comfortable. The oceanfront room could use some updating but was clean and quiet. The location for restaurants couldn't have been better and the drive into the city was also easy. The staff was helpful when you sought them out but didn't bother you otherwise. I look forward to returning there

Room Tip: I would choose an ocean front room unless view is not important. Leaving the patio door open to hear...
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly practices were not immediately apparent; there were no signs posted about towels, recycling, etc.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I'm so glad to hear we were your first choice in St. Augustine Beach and that you really enjoyed your stay. We are constantly making improvements to the property and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    326
    230
    128
    114
See reviews for
399
384
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is on the beach, but older and needs to be remodeled. It was clean and a place to lay our head, but we regretted not choosing a chain hotel. The breakfast that was a separate charge was absolutely delicious and the staff was friendly. In general, the hotel was over priced.

Room Tip: For $4.00 more you can get a room with a refrigerator. For $40 more you can get a room with an obst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bos10babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast from our on site restaurant. We offer an all you can eat $10 breakfast buffet with omelet station, waffle station, and large selection of both hot and cold items. We do also have rooms with refrigerators and rooms without. The rooms with a refrigerator are typically $20 more and these are the same rooms with a partial ocean view, whereas the rooms that are $40 more are our oceanfront rooms. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It can use a little updating, but it was a good beach location, and not a far drive from the historic section. It was clean, and despite the activity in the hotel, it was easy to get a good rest. The parking was a little inconvenient, but not impossible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Isle, where our beachfront location and affordable price point can't be beaten. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stewart, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was invited to go on a girls' weekend by a friend, and this was the hotel that they booked already. We are all 3 military wives and we were all planning on paying around $100 a piece or a grand total of like $307 for the 2 nights we stayed, however when we got there a showed our id's we each paid like $70 a piece which was a pleasant surprise. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. We got there a little later in the evening and they were able to point us in the right direction for places to eat that were still open and serving food.

While I do agree the hotel/motel is in SERIOUS need of an update and a good scrubbing down it was decent especially for the location. The pool was nice, though we didn't get to utilize it sine it was rainy and a bit cool. The beach was nice the sand was great in this location.

While the hotel advertised a "piano bar" type of atmosphere on Fridays and Saturdays I would use the term loosely. It was a guy that played on what appeared to be a keyboard with a few other electric type of instruments, Some of the music was pre-loaded and he just played along and sang a little. While me and the girls I was with are all in our late 20's early 30's we were decades younger than the crowd that was there. It was fun just not our cup of tea.

In the end for sleeping it was nice. Just needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm glad to hear the staff was friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your time here. As you mentioned, we offer an amazing value for our unbeatable location. We are always making property improvements and I hope you will come back when the weather is a little warmer and you can utilize our pool and tiki bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was average. The pictures on their site look a lot better than the rooms really are. The pool was very nice and the location was good,just a short walk to the beach. This hotel would be alright if you do not plan in staying in the rooms a lot. The rooms are shabby, a coat of paint to lighten them up would be nice and also new carpet. The lower floor had tile which looked much nicer than the carpet. We will not stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have been serving visitors to St. Augustine Beach for over 30 years. With direct beach access located only feet from your room, a beautiful pool with tiki bar, on site restaurant, and easy access to the historic district we are St. Augustine's best value on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The photos are deceiving. The rooms are in great need of renovation. The carpets was dirty, the bathroom had mold and mildew growing on the walls. The hotel was supposed to be a non-smoking facility with signs posted all over, however lots of people smoked on their balconies and the smoke got pumped into our room from the outdoor located air conditioning unit. This place was terrible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eekogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear you had a bad experience. As you mentioned, we are a completely non-smoking facility with smoking not permitted in rooms nor on balconies for the reasons you stated. I encourage any guest to report smoking on balconies or in rooms right away so that management may remedy the problem. In regards to the bathroom, I'm very concerned as this is unusual and I would ask you to please contact me directly so that I may look into the problem further. My direct email is gjordan@holidayisleoceanfront.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We just came in here today for a business retreat with our families and if it hadn't been for that reason, I would have checked out. The rooms are clean, staff is nice, but it really needs some TLC. I think they're doing their best to keep this place nice, but I think a renovation is overdue. Another thing that really bothered me was the pool. How can you be in northeast Florida and not have a heated pool? My girls love love swimming, no matter what, but the pool was just way too cold for them. They really tried their best to swim, but just couldn't take the cold. They're now sniffling. The floors of the hotel and rooms (the carpets) just need to be changed. So again, they're doing their best, it's just not for me. I'm used to renting homes and nice hotels. I was just here for a business retreat.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaliaH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. As you mentioned, we are not a four diamond property, however, we do keep the property well maintained and provide high quality service. Add to that our priceless beachfront location on one of N. America's most pristine beaches and we are the best value on St. Augustine beach. We are always making property improvements and I hope that one day you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.2 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#47 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing