We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, we didn't have enough towels, they cleaned our room and didn't give toilet paper, we ran out in the middle of the night, called down to the desk in the am and we had to go down to the desk to get it, they didn't have anyone to bring it to the room. Our headboard fell off the wall, the first morning they didn't make our beds, we were only in the room to sleep so we stayed but it was not worth what we were charged.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am very sorry about your issues with housekeeping and your room. I will be sure to address them with our Executive Housekeeper. Also, I have sent you a private message so that we may discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    332
    232
    129
    117
See reviews for
408
385
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. I just returned from St. Augustine I stayed this weekend. This is a very outdated, dirty hotel. AC won't work. Paper thin walls, you can hear everything next door... Misleading information on their webpage as well. Watch out for the "included breakfast" IT'S NOT INCLUDED. They charge $10.00 per person and is not worth it at all. The bathroom was the worst ever! I even counted the stains on the bathtub. Hairs (disgusting), mold and rusting lamps that wouldn't work. The carpet was so dirty that I could not believe my eyes. Since the very moment I saw the friendly staff I got this weird feeling like "There is something wrong"... and Oh Lord was I right!!! We were hoping for the maids to clean but they didn't. Our room was untouched during the whole weekend we stayed. We had to hunt down the lady to get some extra toilet paper, and coffee, she apologized and offered to clean but we were so tired that we just wanted to get a bath and sleep. Obviously there is nobody supervising these maids. By 9:00 pm my husband went to a nearby gas station and bought Lysol spray and other products to clean the bathrooms ourselves. Their soaps won't rinse off. Please don't stay here, we are very sorry we did and it does not come cheap. I was so glad to leave that place... I didn't sleep well because of the noisy rooms. Disgusted to even change there or use the toilet... The only good thing about this place is that is a walking distance from the beach. Next time I'll check reviews. I will never come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room. I wish you would have shared your concerns with us when you checked in so that we could have resolved your issues. Our staff is genuinely friendly and we would have gladly worked with you to make sure you were satisfied. Regarding breakfast, our website doesn't mention anything about a "free breakfast." We do offer a weekend breakfast buffet for $10, which most guests find to be a good value as it includes an omelet station, waffle station, eggs made to order, sausage, bacon, fruit, pastries and more. I have sent you a private message asking which room you were in so that we can investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for the price, better than I expected, breakfast is a bit expensive and very generic, ocean view rooms have a great view from 3rd 4th and 5th floors, don't book a room near the elevator, otherwise nice and clean you can see pride of ownership and employees are very friendly.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonSill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanking you for choosing our hotel for your wedding weekend. We are glad you enjoyed the view of the ocean. We do have a great staff and take pride in the jobs we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you are not staying in your room all the time, this is an ok place to stay. The plus was we had a partial view of the ocean, but balcony not private. The room was dated and the shower head needed replacing. Room service was very good, so staff is right on. The room was just dated. If they would just remodel, the place would be a gem. A close ride (or take a cab) to the historical district. The price was what drove us there.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stratgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

For the price we paid ... it was soooo not worth it! I'll start with what was wrong then I'll leave you with the very few things that were right/ positive about this hotel.

1. we got into our rooms and I went to check out the washroom. A towel that was hanging up had a long piece of black hair hanging on the towel. Disgusting!
2. after a long day out, we got to our room and we can't open the door with the room key card. It happened again the following day with our other room that we had reserved. I have never had this happen to me in 20 plus years of traveling.
3. any room near the ice machine and elevators will hear both throughout the night. The doors and walls are paper thin.
4. the sheets were wrinkled.
5 there was no spare blankets or pillows in the room.

The only positive things about this hotel was the location. Last, the hotel staff was friendly. But sadly... that was it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanierb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room at a good value. I have sent a personal message asking which room you were in so that we may research your issues more thoroughly. If any guest ever needs extra blankets or pillows, we are more than happy to deliver them to your room. We do appreciate the compliments about our service and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The staff was exceptional. Room was clean and had fridge and microwave and coffee maker. Nice cafe on premises for breakfast. We enjoyed the Nights of Lights while we were there. Enjoyed the beach view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebsie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We are glad you found our staff to be exceptional. As you mentioned, it is the 'Nights of Lights' season in historic downtown which is a lot of fun to go see. They have over three million white lights decorating the city this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first time to the St. Augustine area. The resort is right on the beach which was nice for early morning walks. We could not use the pool because it was not heated which would really make a great asset if the hotel can manage to do this. We had a partial view room, which i could see the beach if seated in the two chairs provided on the balcony. The best part of the room were the beds and linen which were very comfortable and the minifridge and microwave. They had a one-cup coffee maker that takes the filter pods, which they provided us with each day. The breakfast buffet on the weekends was fantastic and only $10 for all you can eat bacon, omelette and waffle station, and assorted other items. Yes, some of the fixtures and doors are aged but working fine. Near to "fiesta falls" minigolf.. best I been to in over 25 years of traveling. Thank you to the housemaid and maintainence worker who were very nice to us and smiled all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydiCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Isle O, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for your getaway. We appreciate the compliments about the room, breakfast in the restaurant, and our staff. Next time you are in St. Augustine, please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing