We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Melbourne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Pleasent surprise”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

For the price a hotel on the beach with great service, friendly staff & clean rooms, Holiday Isle Resort in St Augustine is the way to go. Family friendly & close to stores & historic downtown. Did I mention its on the beach.
Its an older resort in need of repair, maintenance, TLC & you can see its being addressed . I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and our facilities. As you mentioned, we are constantly doing repairs and renovations to improve our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    332
    232
    129
    117
See reviews for
408
385
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was told that the Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort used to be the Holiday Inn on St. Augustine Beach. The rooms and the configuration of the rooms and amenities resemble an old Holiday Inn. Like most older Florida beach hotels it has obviously seen a lot of traffic, spring breaks, and tropical storms. It is not the Ritz by any means. However, if you would like to spend an inexpensive vacation on a wonderful, broad Florida beach; you want to spend most of your time on the beach; and you are not super picky about your accommodations, the Holiday Isle Resort may be a good choice.
My wife and I stayed there the first week of June, 2013. The Holiday Isle is located on the south end of a long beach strip called St. Augustine Beach. The beach itself is broad, clean and beautiful. Lifeguards are present and the local sheriff's department cruises the beach on a regular basis. (You could get a $150.00 ticket if you take alcohol or glass containers onto the beach). The beach itself runs unbroken for about 14 miles from the cut at St. Augustine to the cut at Matanzas. Old St. Augustine is just a few miles away. There are important historical sites and other attractions in the area suited for everyone in your family. There is a Publix grocery store down the street about 1/2 mile to the south. There is a Dollar Tree store and a Wallgreen's Pharmacy in the same retail strip. Lots of bars and restaurants in the area, all have very nice happy hours. Interesting locals.
The air conditioning worked great; the beds were comfortable; the room was clean and well appointed; and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The staff at the Holiday Isle were all very helpful and accommodating. The Hotel seems to be under constant maintenance or repair. The elevator near our 4th story room was out of service almost the week we were there. The other elevator was so slow it didn't make sense to trudge to the other end of the building to catch a ride. We walked up and down stairs all week. There are a few ocean front rooms but most of the rooms offer only a partial ocean view due to the fact that the long hotel building sits perpendicular to the beach. Each room feature a small balcony.
We are not real picky about our accommodations when we travel so as long as everything is clean, well appointed and comfortable, etc. we are fine. We are not in the room most of the time anyway. If you have a similar mindset, Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort may be a good choice. We would certainly consider going back.

Room Tip: The hotel is very reasonably priced. Go ahead and spend the extra money for one of the ocean front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaboskcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your extremely thorough review of our hotel and the surrounding area. We are glad that you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable, and affordable. As you mentioned, we are an older beach hotel, and we are constantly working on ways to improve our facilities. We were servicing one of the elevators during your recent stay and I'm relieved to hear this was not too big of an inconvenience. We will continue to work to improve the quality of our hotel, and maybe on your next vacation you can enjoy one of our beautiful oceanfront rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

An average hotel. Needs renovation in the rooms. The hallways and elevators have no AC; was very hot during the day. We stayed in the ocean view rooms and expected better conditions for the price. The garbage dumpsters could be seen from our rooms and they were open the entire time, inviting the birds. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bar had entertainment that was lively. The restaurant is closed for lunch, which caused eating arrangement issues once. We ordered room service for breakfast the day we left but it never arrived. The reason given from the wait staff was that they are not really set up to do room service for breakfast. Rooms were clean and OK. Could have stayed down the road at newer hotels for the same price but with better accommodations.

Room Tip: Don's stay on the side rooms. Get an ocean view or nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Im sorry to hear that your "to-go" order never arrived to your room. This is not acceptable and I will make sure to speak to our kitchen management to ensure this does not happen again. The beach garden restaurant is closed for lunch, however our TIKI bar does serve lunch on the pool deck from 11am-7pm. As you mentioned, we are an older beach hotel, but we do out best to ensure that our rooms are as clean and comfortable as possible. We would love for you to give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a good location and the previous reviews lead me to believe this would be a good place to stay. When I arrived, the staff immediately became offensive with threats that smoking on the balcon would cost me $250 even though I was promised over the telephone that it would be okay. Once checked in, we found that there was only one elevator working for the entire building, but the other elevator was being repaired. I used the 2nd to find that it was a scary ride each time we used it. Note there were only 2 elevators for the entire building - 5 floors. When we went to the pool, there were cigarrette butts everywhere because there were no other convenient smoking areas, the pool was full of sand and the pool pump was extremely noisy. There was a tikki bar by the pool which was nice, but closed very early and opened really late. On a final note, the room smelled horrible and the window unit a/c was extremely noisy. Definitely wish I'd stayed further north. It definitely wasn't the cheapest. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: the bottom floor beach view was right beside the pool, tikki bar, and smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosyabigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. It is our corporate policy that smoking is not allowed on the balconies and smoking is not allowed in the room. We do require you to sign a paper understanding this policy and it is the job of the front desk to inform you that if this rule is broken, there will be a fine. We do this to ensure the comfort of all of our guests. We do make our pool area smoke friendly, and the area around the pool is supposed to be cleaned several times a day. Im sorry your room was less that satisfactory. I can assure you if this had been brought to my attention I would have done anything and everything possible to correct the issues at hand. Our management team is always available to resolve any issues you may have while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Oviedo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall our stay went okay. The staff was courteous and always kind and our room was as expected from the photos. I must agree that the in room a/c barely cooled the room off and was a tad damp. However, the hallways were like a sauna.... hot and steamy which made waiting for the slow, slow, slow elevators almost torture. Being that there were no outside bathrooms to use while enjoying the pool area (over run by locals by the way) running upstairs to use our own bathroom became quite a chore with the kids. Speaking of locals... why should we pay good money to enjoy your pool and tiki bar only to have the locals invade and crowd the same amenity? Lastly and most importantly.... there is a stench of urine on the wooden area by the pool shower that wafts over to the pool - perhaps you should bleach that area. I heard many local individuals complain since there were no restrooms to just urinate in the shower. YUCK!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad that you found the staff to be helpful during your recent visit. I do apologize that you found our pool area to be over crowded. Our Tiki bar is a local hotspot for beautiful summer days and we do make it available to the public. Our pool however is not open to the public, and I apologize if there were locals swimming in the pool. We have discussed this issue with our management team and we will be making a better effort to keep the hotel pool for our guests only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

While looking for a place to vacation that was right on the beach, we saw this hotel. Viewed the photos and amenities which looked really nice. IT'S NOT, THIS HOTEL IS EXTREMELY OUTDATED!!! This hotel is SO OUT-DATED and the pics don't look like this room. The room was humid due to the poor air conditioning (wall unit that was noisy and never stopped running), the balcony door wasn't sealed right (you could see the outside light from around the door), the bed springs were starting to pop up (worst bed I ever slept in), the bathroom was old AND HOT, no a/c in the bathroom, the hair dryer was extremely hot and didn't blow hard enough (like they get when they're ready to burn out), the ceilings in most of the room were patched and moldy looking, the toilet was a low boy (great if you were a kid), limited towels (one for each is not enough), the hallways and elevators ARE NOT AIRCONDITIONED, the balcony chairs are those plastic uncomfortable cheap chairs, the restaurant (not much of one), the only thing new in this room was the TV and we couldn't get that to work right when we arrived because the signal strap wasn't "Velcro connected", all n' all, for what this hotel charged for an oceanfront view, it was a dirty terrible room. When I walked in the lobby to check-in, that was a good clue that this was an old place. Run don't walk..... find another place to stay. Truly!! Brought this to the Manager's attention and it didn't matter. He should loose his job for not spiffing up this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. During your recent stay with us the only issue that was brought to our attention was that your remote control was not working properly. I responded to this call myself and fixed the issue within 5 minutes of it being brought to my attention. Had the other issues been brought to my attention, I would have done anything and everything possible to resolve them. We do indeed have air conditioning in our hallways, and in our bathrooms and our maintenance crew verified that they were indeed working properly during your stay. I'm sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed three nights over a long weekend. Hotel is right on the beach with easy beach access. The pool was nice and tiki bar was refreshing. Rooms are average with many options from which to choose. Service was great and room was cleaned promptly everyday with plenty of towels to accommodate three women. The room was seemingly damp, however, I feel that it was because we ran the AC non stop. For the location and price, you can't beat this place.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view on a fourth or fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent vacation with us. I'm glad you took advantage of our beautiful pool and relaxing tiki bar. You are corrent in saying that the rooms can sometimes become damp. This is because of the high humidity outside and the constant cold air inside. We do offer complimentary dehumidifiers if this becomes an issue. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing