We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here at the request of a friend who booked the hotel. The value was very good for being on the beach and close to nearby attractions. We usually stay in higher level hotels and from the pictures, it did not look bad, so we gave it a shot.

Overall, you get what you pay for. While the value for location was excellent, the hotel, despite some renovations is in need for more substantial work. There is rust on the doors, the baths have evidence of mildew, although there were clean, but the hotel in general is dated.

On the bright side, the staff was both friendly and helpful and as others have pointed out, the beds were very comfortable. On the negative, the pool did not seem too clean and they did not do a great job of replenishing pool towels. Again, you get what you pay for and if you are looking for bargain basement prices for the beach, then do not expect 4 or 5 star accommodations.

Room Tip: make sure you confirm that you get a renovated room, ours was and I can only imagine what the unreno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorfan-Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As you mentioned, we are not a 4 or 5 star resort nor do we claim to be one. However, we do have a fantastic location with clean comfortable beachfront rooms at a great price. The oceanfront rooms are our nicest rooms, and are also the ones that have been updated most recently. The north-facing rooms, which have partial views are also updated, but not as recently. Our maintenance department is also working around the clock to constantly improve our hotel to make it a better place for all our guest. We hope you try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    332
    232
    129
    117
See reviews for
408
385
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
grain Valley
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I usually do not write reviews but I feel I have to write something for all the staff being so nice. Everyone who worked there was extremely friendly including the ladies who cleaned the rooms to the guys who worked there doing the maintenece. They always spoke to us and greeted us every morning like they were long lost family. We couldn't get over how nice these people were to us. The last morning we ate at the hotel for breakfast and discoverd it was the best breakfast by far in St. Augistine and at a great price. Our waitress Susan was extremely nice and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We also remember her from last year when she worked in the other part of the motel and how nice she was then. I would recommend this resort to anyone. The price is great, the staff is like family and the location is beautiful!

Room Tip: Reserve your room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
We love that you loved it here! Also, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I have passed on your feedback to all of our employees and especially to Susan in the restaurant. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We've been several times to this hotel and have never been disappointed. The location right next to the beach is superb, the food is adequate and the facilities are all that you need to have a good time. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate34711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank your for staying with us multiple times. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is an older hotel that has been renovated. We had an oversized room with 2 queen beds and a refrigerator and microwave (parking lot view). The hotel was on the beach and the beach was clean and not overly crowded. Most of the parking is in front of the hotel (sides fill up quick) but it is only a short walk. Not a luxury hotel but if you are looking for a clean standard hotel room on the beach this hotel will do. Take the short drive into town and see the sites in the historic district. There is a Publix nearby and a really good mexican restaurant in the same plaza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaMom005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to write a review. We hope you stay with us next time you are in the St. Augustine area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our 2 week Florda flydrive holiday. The hotel was fairly standard - room was clean and friendly check in staff. It is set back from the beach with the pool in front. Pool was ok but a bit shaded by the hotel! We walked in the evening to find a restaurant - it was a bit of a walk and a lot of the restaurants were too busy but we managed to find a good lively place to eat in the end (can't remember the name though!). Went to Dennys over the road from the hotel for breakfast so can't comment on hotel breakfast (Dennys is great though!). Not a bad hotel but not brilliant - ok!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_C007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. One of the nice things about our hotel is that it is in the quieter area of St. Augustine Beach, with condominiums on both sides, which limits the number of people that have direct beach access to our section of the beach. However, because of this, we are slightly farther from the busiest section of the beach, which has more restaurants. Most are between half a mile and a mile away. We also have a restaurant on property for breakfast and dinner which is quite convenient and good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms look nothing like they do in the picture. They are Very mix matched with the drapes/curtains and mold is Everywhere! The floor is dirty, the walls are dirty and the room all together is less than desireable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccaj1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
We are sorry that we disappointed you. There is a little variation in the drapes/curtains in the southside rooms, but the photos posted of each room type are accurate and are recent. If there was mold in the room or if it was dirty, I apologize. We should have been able to move you to a different room to satisfy you. I have notified our Housekeeping Manager of your concerns as well. We sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the hotel with our 2 children from July 28-July 31. Absolutely everything was fantastic! Every employee we spoke with was friendly and helpful. Customer service was excellent. The restaurant was surprisingly really delicious and very reasonably priced. We weren't expecting that from a hotel restaurant. We ate there for almost every meal. They also have kids meals. It's open for breakfast and dinner only. The poolside bar is open for lunch but we didn't eat there. The pool was great with warm water.
We had a renovated room with a balcony and it was very comfortable and clean. We couldn't hear our neighbors which we appreciated since we're late sleepers. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. We found out that this used to be a Holiday Inn up until 6 months ago and they are now renovating alot of the hotel. Make sure you request a renovated room. The building with the guest rooms is separate from the reception area and you cannot get in the building without sliding your room key. A little extra security that's appreciated.
The hotel is located directly on the beach. We were surprised to find so few people on the beach. It was great not having to hunt for a place to put down our towels. We're guessing it's because the hotel is next to some apartments so the public doesn't come down this way.
The trolley that takes you to the historic district picks you up right from the hotel and drops you back off at the hotel. It leaves every hour and last return is around 5pm or so. I think it's $5 per person round trip. We didn't use this because we didn't want to return so early. However, the regular trolley that makes 22 stops around the historic district also stops running around 5pm. If you're planning on staying later and are using the trolley or red train then you should drive there, less than 10 min away, and park in the free trolley/train parking.
We had a great time and we're planning on returning in November to see other attractions we missed. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you for the detailed review of our property. We hope to see you back here in November. FYI, if you are coming late in November, you will be here for St. Augustine's "Nights of Lights" celebration which begins the weekend before Thanksgiving, and is a must-see. It runs all the way through the end of January.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing