We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
“We'll Be Back”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had reservations at another Hotel but upon arrival were not pleased with what we saw. We looked around and decided to give Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resorts a try. Mary Ann was at the front desk and was very welcoming and more than helpful. We explained that we were celebrating our Anniversary and she extended her congratulations to us but went on to explain that you had 2 weddings going on that weekend and were very busy but she would try to get us a room.

She was able to get us in and we loved the room, pool and easy access to the beach. Also, we were very excited to watch the beach wedding. Some wedding guests even invited us to attend the reception!

Thanks so much Mary Ann and the rest of your helpful staff.

Great job!

Brian and Kay Pauley
1425 Spring Ridge Drive
Winter Garden, FL 34787

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Congratulations on your anniversary! I am glad Maryann was able to get you in last minute. It sounds like you had a great time. Watching the wedding probably made your anniversary even more meaningful. Please come back again soon. We'd love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    326
    231
    129
    114
See reviews for
401
384
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I usually take reviews for hotels with a grain of salt realizing that you will never make everyone happy, but sometimes I have reservations about a place if I see alot of 'bad' reviews. I must say I'm glad I followed my instinct on this one. Granted, I stayed on the North side but from what I could tell the hotel is not near as bad as some people say. Yes, it's old but I've stayed in much worse. It was clean, the staff friendly and helpful and it is in a good location for the beach and some 'beach' restaurants. There is a shuttle into town if you choose to not drive which is good as well. I would stay again.

Room Tip: get a room with a North side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for taking a 'chance' with us. We are glad you had a great time, and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We just took our family to St. Augustine for vacation and were very pleased with our stay at Holiday Isle. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly from the front desk to housekeeping to maintenance-- any employee we would see would greet us. The ocean is just steps away from the pool & hotel so it was a great location. We would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. Being only steps away from the beach is definitely one of our biggest assets. Another is our employees, and I will pass on all your compliments to them all. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The location of motel is right on the beach, which was a big plus. The staff was friendly and responded well to several issues we had during our stay. The Motel is really old, and needs some updating, but the accomodations were adequate. The bathroom was small, and now counter space.
We experienced electrical issues on our visit, that required resetting the bathroom service several times, and the TV went out so an additional one was added. removing even more of the limited surface space. All in all not a bad trip, but could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadynNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for the compliments regarding the ocean view and the staff. TV issues and electrical issues are very rare and in our hotel, and I do apologize. We are an older property, but we are working hard to maintain it and are constantly trying to make it an even better place for our guests to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We started in St. Augustine Beach for the first part of our anniversary trip. We wanted somewhere a little on the nicer side and on the beach. I'd read some reviews that this hotel needed renovations, but it appears they're working on that in several of the rooms. Our room wasn't anything "fancy" per se, but it was clean and spacious and to me that is more important. We got a king size room with a north facing balcony. We actually did have a pretty fair view of the ocean from the room, since we were on the 4th floor. Our bed was comfortable, that was a big plus. We always bring our own pillows, so I can't vouch for the hotel pillow quality. The room had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and an iron.
On Thurs and Sat nights the hotel lounge has a piano bar and that was a fun time. We were by far the youngest couple in there, but it was enjoyable to listen and laugh at all the antics. The bars drinks were reasonably priced, my husband had several. I just sipped my sprite :) We only had 1 meal at the restaraunt on site (which also happens to be in the lounge area) and that was breakfast. But they've got a pretty decent variety on their menu and it was reasonably priced. The service was a little slow, so don't go there if you're in a hurry to start your day, but it was nice to have a hot meal and some fresh fruit.
Our 1st morning there the fridge broke and we let them know at the desk as we were leaving. It was fixed by the time we returned that evening, so they were very attentive.
The pool area was nice, nothing over the top, but clean and roomy. They have a tiki bar there that was a little over priced on some items (like my alcohol-free margarita was still $6), but it was a nice option to have. The beach is very clean and beautiful as well. It was nice to have both right at your fingertips.
All in all it was a great stay, mostly worth it for the money. We'd stay there again, but who knows when we'll get another vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineRN28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and photos with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope you find a way to take another vacation again soon. We would love to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The service staff, from reception, maintenance and maid service were very nice and pleasant. This hotel is going through renovations and some rooms are still being updated. It was clean and the location is very good with pool and beach access. The hotel was full and there was a variety of groups and families. Next time I would like to have an ocean side view to enjoy the sunrise, which is my favorite. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanasofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit. You will love the sunrise views from the oceanfront rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I'd like to offer a review after staying for two days. I can tell you a lot depends on your personal maintenance level as I am sure the room I stayed in would be completely unacceptable to some. The furnishings are outdated, a 27" old (pre-flat screen) TV, no microwave or refrigerator. The carpet was damp and the paint in the bathroom peeling (from humidity, I suppose). At night the sheets felt sticky due to the dampness of the room, the AC did nothing to mitigate this. I think everything was clean but due to the dampness it made it feel dirty. I hope I don't get scabies. I'm not sure why they can't seem to fix this problem, I was just in a Holiday Inn Express and it was dry as a bone, no problems.

The door to the balcony had a deadbolt that was difficult to operate and I am an athletic person (firefighter by trade), I can only imagine the frustration someone with less physical prowess might have.
The water was very soft, to the point it felt I could not rinse the soap off my body.

Be careful where you park as 20%-30% of the parking, esp. close to the doors, floods when it rains and you end up parked in a big puddle.

Okay, that's the bad, here's the good:

Although I didn't use the pool, it looked really clean and the little tiki bar was open. Access to the beach was easy and there is a rental kiosk if you need a boogie board, sunscreen or a chair for the beach. The laundromat on the 1st floor cleaned and dried my clothes for $4 in quarters (I brought my own soap, saving $1) The staff was always pleasant and helpful with all my requests from icing my cooler to finding me a masseuse.

Overall, I would not stay here again but it is not the worst place I have ever stayed. There were no roaches or rats.

Room Tip: Check the room/carpet before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearpalomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate the compliments about the pool and beach area and understand your concern about the moisture in the room. The rooms (the south side more than the north and oceanfront) seem more prone to moisture after a heavy storm, but should not be that humid. The blankets should be completely dry and comfortable. You should not have been checked into a room that was that humid, and If we were made aware, we would have been able to change your room immediately. I apologize again for the disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing