We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is a great place to stay on the beach, perfect location and *most* of the staff is great and friendly. We have been staying there for years and have to say it was a little bit better when it was the "Holiday Inn". Going on Memorial Day weekend *was* a tradition for my firends and family, but this year they did nothing on Memorial Day - the tiki bar was hardly open - they planned on not opening at all but did open at the last minute, with the kitchen being CLOSED (??) In the past this place was jamming with a live band - it used to be ALOT of fun. I will stay there again but for quick weekends -- no more "holiday weekends" for us, we will go to a place that is "happening"!!
As far as the rooms go I would recommend paying a little extra and staying in a pool room or ocean front - the rest of the rooms are just "ok"

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee15259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for staying with us on Memorial Day Weekend. We did keep the tiki bar was open the entire holiday weekend, including Monday but the kitchen only served food for the tiki bar until about 2pm on Monday. Though we did not have live music at the pool, we did have music playing and we had live entertainment inside on both Thursday night and Saturday night. We hope you still come back and visit during the year, and apologize that we didn't have the live band at the tiki bar that you remember. In the future, it was are planning to have live music by the pool, I will make sure it is posted on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

The hotel overall was okay. The pool area was very nice, large area and pool. Great beach access. The rooms, however, were not so great. As noted in previous reviews, seems like Holiday Inn did away with this hotel when renovations were neglected. Rooms need new paint, trim, tile and overall cleanup. Beds were very comfortable, however! We reserved two rooms and in one room, the air conditioner died (not good this time of the year)...however, the couple in that room was given another room to stay in so it worked out okay...we did realize when they moved to the other room that some of the rooms in this hotel are actually pretty nice! The room they were moved to actually had a thermostat instead of the a/c unit in the wall that you have to manually adjust and the overall room was just much nicer and renovated. (We reserved rooms on the South side w/balcony and the nice room was on the North side w/o balcony...there were no oceanfront rooms available on Memorial Day weekend so I cannot say how nice these rooms were). We had breakfast both mornings in the hotel restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

We thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed the restaurant each day of your stay. As you mentioned, the south-facing rooms are more weathered than the north-facing rooms and oceanfront rooms. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff are constantly doing minor updates to the rooms, but they should always be clean and comfortable and a good value for the price. Since we had a north-facing room available when the AC stopped working in one of your rooms, we were happy to upgrade you to an updated room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The showers are WONDERFUL! Bedding is new and cozy with new pillow top mattresses. This was a great experience with my family. Hotel is right on the beach with a nice pool (though the pool tiles did need a good cleaning). It was over-all very enjoyable, though a little pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyk1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for the compliments about our staff, hotel, and wonderful showers. I have let our maintenance department know about the pool tiles. They are usually really good about keeping the pool in great shape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Kim C. a great sever, restaurant had good food. Hotel was nice location on the beach, room needs a little tlc

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnbhenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family of 3 decided to take a mini vacation to a new destination and we picked St Augustine Beach after seeing the picture of the pool at the hotel. The pool is in fact huge, and we spent 90% of our time there. It was crowded but it was Memorial Day weekend and we expected that. The service was great, and the staff friendly. The rooms are not "luxurious" in any way and the bathroom could be bigger, but for the amount of time we spent in the room, it was adequate for us. All ground floor rooms are pet friendly so if you are allergic, make sure to ask for an upper floor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our stay was vey nice will surely be back, everybody from the front desk to the pool side were very comforting. The hole atmospher was amazing the pool, tiki bar, the veiw of the beach and the hotel its-self very very nice!!!!

Room Tip: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, St Augustine BchFL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyceabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2011

Thank you for the 'VERY WONDERFUL' review. We look forward to your next visit and I will pass on your compliments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I have taken my two young grandchildren with me to Holiday Isle for a week on three occasions and have always found it to be an excellent vacation for a family with young children. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and accomodating and the beach and pool are beautiful. It is a great spot to relax in a casual environment.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hizielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for choosing our hotel for a third time. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to accommodating you and your grandchildren again soon. We are glad you all love it here so much. Thank you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $113 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing