We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to beach but pictures are not what you will get !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Québec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to beach but pictures are not what you will get !”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The pictures show nice rooms, balcony. However, you get the worst rooms of the hotel. Needs lots of renovations. Probably built in the 60's and never refurbish. We were very disapointed. Asked for reimbursment. Expedia honoured our request.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan1Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for writing. I have verified with Expedia's website that the photos they show for each room type are accurate. We allow certain third-party websites, such as Expedia to sell both our north-facing (updated rooms) and our south-facing (non-renovated) rooms. We also have oceanfront rooms, which can only be booked directly with our hotel or on our website. If you elect to book through a third-party site, we recommend that you review the confirmation email carefully or simply call us directly to verify that the third-party site reserved the correct room on your behalf. You may also book directly with our friendly reservations staff which are on-site and know the property and types of rooms very well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    326
    230
    128
    114
See reviews for
399
384
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We took a chance with this hotel. Some reviews were good and some bad. Our room was a dump. Rusty lamps and lampshades. Painted over mildy bathroom tiles. We were on the 4th floor and could hear talking in the parking lot. The chairs were old and scratched up. Demand a newly remodeled room or don't stay here. No microwave, no refrigerator and no free breakfast. The beach was beautiful and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize that the room was not up to your expectations. In the south-facing rooms, we are in the process of replacing the rusty lamp and lampshades that you mentioned, as well as some of the furniture. We do have refrigerators/microwaves in the north-facing rooms. However, they are not available in the south-facing rooms, which is partly why they sell for a lower price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Mt. Dora Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Don't let the negative reviews scare you away. Our extremely clean hotel room was facing the beach andd besides the great location and view we had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would book the hotel again. In this economy the priice is right, too. Ask for beach front. The cost is a little more, but well worth it. Close to restaurants and St. Augustine's travel buses stop for pick-ups to the historic sights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridatravelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed our service and the great view from our oceanfront rooms. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by friends due to the location and value. The location and price were perfect but the condition of the room was filthy beyond belief. The beds were uncomfortable and the bedding was really cheap and ugly. The worst part though was upon checking in, the hotel clerk was coughing and sneezing all over our paperwork and the other guests. I wondered if she had tuberculosis and why she wasn't sent home since her condition was obviously contagious. Sure enough, within the first 24 hours of our arrival, I was coughing and sneezing just like she was. I was sick my whole vacation and am just starting to recuperate. I feel that the germs in the room and throughout the halls were making everyone sick. Many other guests were coughing and sneezing and sniffling in elevators. I had to also clean the bathroom and surfaces in the room with bleach wipes since they were so incredibly filthy. The toilet paper ran out and was not replaced by the maid and when I saw the roll, I could not believe the filth on it and almost vomitted. The tables were not wiped off and it appeared as though the room had not been cleaned at all other than the trash being emptied. Too bad because it really is a nice location and with a bit of fresh paint and some attention to the sanitary aspects, it could be a very nice place. However, because I got sick for the first time in years, I blame them for their low standards of cleanliness. The pool also looked dirty. We did not go in because it was too cold but probably couldn't have anyway. This is probably a good choice for groups of college kids wanting to party but for families and couples, its not a quality hotel. All that said, the beach was beautiful and only steps from the hotel and the staff was very polite and friendly. Free internet was also great. The hotel should offer free coffee and tea in the lobby since the kitchen service was extremely slow and there is really nowhere else to get a quick cup of coffee on your way to watch the sun rise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augustine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Recommended by friends, and now by us.
Formerly (until last October) a Holiday Inn, now an independent. It retains that HI look and feel, and is well managed.
The location is fabulous--right on the beach, while competitor hotels are on the other side of the highway.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel was once a Holiday Inn, it still has the sign on the road.
Rooms are showing their age, but not bad for the price.
There is no safe or microwave in the rooms, something thought was standard.
Maids aren't too bright, kept forgetting to leave us towels and coffee.
We were on the 4th floor. On our balcony, there are wooden supports holding up the 5th floor balcony! What a cobb job, that can't have been approved by any code enforcer.
Best part about the place is the oceanfront. Pool area is nice and very nice pavillion near the beach.
If you do go, get a room facing south, gets more sun. And be careful where you park, lot really floods when it rains. Check out my pictures.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was, until very recently, a Holiday Inn. When we pulled into the parking lot on February 24, 2011, the Holiday Inn sign was still out front and other Holiday Inn items were still around the hotel. What I believe is that the Holiday Inn just stopped maintaining this place and sold it to a management company in lieu of dropping big bucks into a major refurb. The whole building was just beyond it's years. We ended up in two different rooms because in the first, our toilet wouldn't flush. Both of the rooms were very, very tired with awful carpetting, cracked and broken tiles and furniture that should have been sent to Sally Ann years ago. The doors and windows needed to be replaced 10 years ago and the balcony dividers were just painted 2 x 4s! This wasn't a place to be proud of. You'd never walk around barefoot! We should have asked for better rooms but.......did anything better exist in this hotel? Doubt it!

One thing that we can't critcize though is the service. It was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location (it really is right on the Atlantic) is outstanding with quick and easy access to the ocean.

Until this building undergoes a major upgrade, I'd stay far, far away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kckuhar, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
MikeNet, thank you for staying with us and for your honest review. After being a Holiday Inn for many years, our owners recently decided to go independent and we have been working hard to replace all the Holiday Inn branding and update the hotel. Our new sign by the road has just been completed and installed. We are also in the process of updating the hotel further. Both the oceanfront rooms and the north-facing rooms have been renovated in the past few years, leaving only the south-facing rooms which you must have stayed in. Our south-facing rooms are more weathered, but are still clean and comfortable and are a good value for the location. Housekeeping is deep-cleaning all the carpets and maintenance is doing minor upgrades until the full south-side renovation happens. Thank you for complimenting our friendly and helpful staff. I will pass those comments on to our employees as well. We hope you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.2 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#48 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing