We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woman at desk-RUDE- poor english--have to drive to beach or old town” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Woman at desk-RUDE- poor english--have to drive to beach or old town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The woman at the front desk is very rude and didn't have much information. The manager(man) was nice and more informative. Rooms are not well kept...ours smelled moldy. outdated furniture.
It is a long walk to beach,..better off to pay extra and stay at beach or old town. AWFUL continental breakfast...not very sanitary.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpipersally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
I apologize you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and appreciate any feedback to help us improve our service. We are located six miles from downtown St. Augustine and about 800 yards from the beach. We have shopping, great restaurants and nightly entertainment within walking distance from the hotel. We have a great cleaning and maintenance staff. If you ever have an issue with your room just let us know and we will correct the issue or give you another room. We offer a continental breakfast that includes coffee, tea, milk, o.j. oatmeal, grits, four types of cereals and a variety of bagels, english muffins, sweet rolls, breads etc. and all the condiments every morning. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    152
    66
    17
    13
See reviews for
124
133
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We would definitely stay here again....the staff (and owner) were VERY friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is close to Old St. Augustine - a very quick drive, but away from all the traffic. There are many good restaurants within walking/driving distance, along with Walgreens, Publix, WinnDixie. The beach is also a short walk/drive. Breakfast is basic (we are not breakfast eaters), but there is cereal, bagels, english muffins, whole wheat/white toast, oatmeal, orange juice and coffee (and kept spotless). Pool was great after a day of touring the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel, never heard any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The staff is very nice and helpful. We stayed in the jacuzzi room this month it was very comfortable. The pool was great, it just needed to have a net taken to it. Breakfast was light. Coffee is terrible. That would be the only thing would change. We stay once a month even though we live here and we enjoy it.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the front office because The pool is in the back, there is a lot of foot traffic. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto Bay, florida usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Not great, but not bad... comfortable, clean, with a nice staff. The location worked great as a place to tour historic St Augustine. It's also about a 10-15 minute walk to a superb beach! There are good restaurants within 1 block each way. The breakfast with limited yet good. Overall, its a good value for a bargain price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from JAX to a vacation rental. I suppose some of my criticisms can't actually be blamed on the hotel, but be aware that it has all the feel of a bargain (lower-end) motel and may attract a different crowd. There were definitely a whole lot of spring break-age people around, and the noise level was pretty high at times. (and I think my 8 yr old learned a few new words that I'd rather he hadn't overheard)

Check-in was fast - like really fast, as in, get out of here... Desk clerk was efficient, but abrupt and somewhat unfriendly (but I'm from MT, so am used to people who chat and visit - it's just the way we are...). The room was clean, but smelled strongly of disinfectant. Towels were a tiny bit worn (wasn't a big deal), but everything was fine and functional. Fridge/microwave was a nice addition to the room. We had plenty of space and didn't feel cramped.

I think the hotel is pretty close to the beach and parks, which is nice. But I would only recommend this as a stopover or as a decent place to crash. We will likely stay elsewhere next time we're in transit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27polecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is clearly a value for Spring Breakers. The college students were running rampid til the early morning. The beds are firm, but the hotel is very clean and the staff is very informative and friendly. Overall, you get a great value if you stay just to sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We were in the pool this last weekend and it is no longer salt water. We are very unhappy about this. We live here locally and book this hotel for weekend getaways and for friends and family so when we checked in and got in the pool we were very upset to see the water had been changed.. We even have reservations at the end of the month as well. We have been using this hotle for 5 plus years, Other than that the places always clean, very nice staff and the free breakfast is filling. We will be back the first weekend in May

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikimeishajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
1.2 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#47 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach

Property: Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach
Address: 3955 A1A South, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Best Western Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing