We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, Charming Hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice, charming hotel in St. Augustine Beach with easy beach access. Restaurant is very good for breakfast and dinner. Room is quite large and the shower is huge with nice bath wash. We are returning again later this month.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Suzie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you have been enjoying your time with us. Thank you for your return business and we are eager to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    258
    70
    26
    12
See reviews for
235
420
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked an oceanfront room through central reservations. When we arrived we were told that we had a pool front not an ocean front. We decided to pay an additional fee for what we thought was an ocean front. The view was a partial view of the ocean with 3 rows of houses in front of us. The room was not an ocean front and was not worth the 2 additional charges.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Len N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Len N N,

I apologize that you thought we were oceanfront. Here at the property, we never say ocean front, only ocean view, because as you know we are definitely not an oceanfront property. I am not sure which avenue you booked through, but I am sorry that you were mislead. We hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a great beautiful and charming hotel on the beaches of Saint Augustine. The rooms are large, graciously appointed and very clean. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is not oceanfront, the beach is only a few steps down to the beach access. We've had farther to walk to get to the beach at other 'oceanfront' hotels, so don't let the fact that it's not right on the beach deter you from staying at this hotel. Don't bother spending extra money for an ocean view room, though, unless you specify the top floor or if you want the balcony to sit on....only the top floor will actually have view of the ocean; buildings block the view on lower floors. Do buy the breakfast tickets for the restaurant on site. It is top class restaurant with excellent food and the tickets are a great value. Will definitely stay again at this hotel when in the Saint Augustine area.

Room Tip: Don't bother spending extra money for an ocean view room, though, unless you specify the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
MsViolet,
We appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Castillo Real. I will pass on your compliments to the La Cocina Restaurant for your breakfast. Thank you for your business and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Room 213 was clean and quiet even though it is close to an elevator. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The lemon water was very refreshing after sitting by the pool in the afternoon. I love that they have neutrogena products in the bathroom. We purchased breakfast vouchers for the on-site resturaunt. It was well with it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hidrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
hidrat,
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will be back. Thank you for noticing the little things that go into making everyone's stay more pleasurable. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel! The décor is very nice and the rooms were clean and spacious. The only problem was with parking. The first night we came back to the hotel at 11:00 and there were no parking spaces so we had to park across the street in the public parking lot which made me a little nervous but turned out fine. Also, on Sunday morning they were vacuuming outside our door at 9:15. Luckily, I had just gotten up or I would have been pissed!! But other then that, this was a beautiful hotel and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theobatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
theobatch,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your recommendation means the world to us. I am sorry you had an issue with parking, usually at the time of the evening we still have spaces available in our south lot. As for the vacuuming I apologize. A lot of guests like to get up and go to the beach to watch the sunrise and then they track sand back into the hallways. We do try to wait until after 9am, but we really do have to keep the public areas clean during normal business hours. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A friend recommended this little jewel and I'm so glad she did! Wow! The hotel is very clean and more like a boutique hotel. The lobby is decorated in an elegant Spanish motif as is the rest of the property. There was a walk in marble shower in my room with unique accessories and a balcony overlooking the pool. (Room 210). There is a restaurant on the premises with a very good breakfast and I heard from my friend that the dinner is good as well. You have to pre purchase discounted breakfast vouchers at the front desk. There is a pool and a nice HOT hot tub to enjoy. The beach is VERY close, just down a short street. There is a good seafood restaurant just a block up the street, easy walk. If you pre-purchase the trolley tickets, ask the desk to call the terminal the morning you expect to be picked up and make sure they know to PICK you up! Otherwise, you could be "patiently" waiting forever like we did! In hindsight, I wish we had of driven to town, paid $10.00 to park in the downtown parking garage, walked across the street and purchased the trolley tickets. Then we would not have had to spend $20.00 for the cab back to the hotel and we wouldn't have waited forever on the cab. Also, expect your car to get covered in reclaimed water from the sprinklers at the hotel parking lot. Nowhere to get away from it....not a big deal, just messed up my freshly washed car. I did hear from another guest that he paid $88.00 for the same room style that I paid $134.00. He got a coupon from one of those coupon maps from a Florida Welcome Center out on the Interstate, but you can't use it for a reservation. It's what I would call a walk in coupon that is only good if there is availability. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are expecting to have time to enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: We were happy with 210. Quiet, clean, no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Janice S,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We also would like to thank your friend for recommending us to you. I am sorry that you had an issue with the trolley. I do know that if you have tickets for the Old Town Trolley (the green and orange one), we have scheduled shuttle service from our hotel to the welcome center/stop #1, 6 minutes after the hour from 9-4. I apologize for the spots on your car from our ground water. It is the same regular ground water that everyone uses in our area for lawns, but I'll look into it. I am happy to know that these little items did not hamper you from having a good time. We hope to see you again soon and Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The decor was beautiful, the rooms quality, but the carpeting made our feet dirty. It is within easy walking distance to the beach. It had a fair amount of parking. The pool is not heated and was a big disappointment to our children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
JZak2014,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your family trip to St. Augustine. I apologize for your carpet, that is very unusual for our property. We do hope you will try us again when it is a bit warmer and you would be better able to take advantage of our wonderful pool area. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing