We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I liked the fact that this was a short walk to the beach and only about a ten minute drive to St Augustine. The employees were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean with plenty of towels. There was a decent beach wear shop close to the hotel if you needed anything. The restaurant inside the hotel was nice but expensive. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverwatcher4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Marge K,
We are happy to hear that our location worked well for you. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will think of us if you are visiting our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    258
    70
    26
    12
See reviews for
235
421
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It was about 8pm when we arrived after driving from Key West. Long day went for dinner and came back to room. Thought we would try the dry sauna but it didn't work so we reported it to front desk, it was fixed the next night. Steam room smelled pretty musty so we didn't try that. We were so tired we just crashed. I was awoken very early and numerous times by elevator beeping and every word or sound made in the room that had an adjoining door to ours I could hear it like they were in our room! I finally gave up on sleeping and got up to take a shower and noticed a dirty plastic utensil had been left under the bathroom sink. I reported all this the next morning the hotel was full so there was nothing that could be done. The room was good sized and décor was average but if you are a light sleeper make sure not to have an adjoining room or be near an elevator. Was a short drive to all the sites and beach was right there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
mimi1971,

I am so sorry that your stay was "just ok". We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and we obviously failed for you. We do hope that you will give us another chance to win you over in the future. We can definitely try to get you a room away from the elevator and/or in a quieter location within the hotel and also one without a connecting door. Thank you for your feedback so that we can improve ourselves for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Nice hotel. Not a chain which I like. Rooms very spacious. Love having the fridge and microwave, and laundry facilities. Too bad breakfast only starts at 8 a.m. which is too late for me. I stay here every time I'm in St. Augustine.

Room Tip: I like the 4th floor as you can get cell reception there. Lower rooms don't always get receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inglishprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Inglishprincess,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your repeat business and are so happy that you stay with us each time you are in town. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Room was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. Bed was comfortable. Not directly on the beach but only steps away. Short drive to the downtown area and historic district. You can purchase breakfast. It was just ok... Limited choices. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would not pay extra for an ocean view. Condo between hotel and beach. View will be obstructed.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Picabo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Picabo228,
We are glad to hear that we met your expectations and that you would stay with us again. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast was just "ok". Usually our restaurant is wonderful. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Lovely hotel - polite staff - location is fantastic - right next to the beach - so lovely to walk there of an evening and in the early morning when no one around. Took up the option of breakfast in the restuarant - which set us up for the day -accomodated need for vegetarian alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
lizzie3010,
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that our location worked well for you and you were able to enjoy the beach during peaceful times. We hope, if you are ever this way again, that we can further accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was there over the weekend with my 7 and 10 year old children. My first impression...beautiful hotel! We arrived too early to check in, but I was told they'd call us when our room was ready, and they did!! I asked a ton of questions about sightseeing and was given all the right answers! Our trip into town was based on their recommendations and was perfect advice! The weather was too cold to swim, but the hot tub was just right after our day into town! The restaurant was very accommodating as well, whipping us up a salad to go in no time, during a very busy dining service. I was very impressed from start to finish and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The only reasons I didn't give 5 stars is because we wanted an upper floor, but we didn't realize all the upper floor rooms were much more expensive than the lower floor rooms. Also, being on the first floor and near the elevator, as well as it being spring break time, it got very loud during our first night there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Andi L,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at the Castillo Real. It is great to hear that the Front Desk was able to give you such customized recommendations for you and your family. I will let the La Cocina Restaurant know how much you appreciate them. We do hope that you return again soon, maybe in the summer when it's warmer. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the resort hotel experience so much that we added a day. Reasonable rates, as comfortable as home and the staff was amazing. Wish it were closer to old town, but not enough to move to a different hotel. I will return and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Echoreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
M-Echoreo,
Reading your review made me smile. Thank you so much for your kind words. I am happy to know that my staff was so amazing and you felt like you were getting a good deal. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing