We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was the second time we were staying there in two years. No regrets both times. The hotel is located in convenient walking distance to the beach (2 minutes). Rooms and facilities are in good shape. Some rooms are currently undergoing renovation. The restaurant is a little pricy, but offers excellent food and service. Would return there any time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Michael L,
Thank you for your repeat patronage. We make it a goal to have all of our guests want to come back again and again. Hopefully you will be back soon, to see the final transformation of the rooms since our renovation is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 862 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a perfect week here! We loved the Spanish looking decor. The room was perfect and beautiful with a huge whirlpool tub and a little balcony. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The beach was very close and it was gorgeous. There is a very nice pool and hot tub as well. We enjoyed a very impressive dinner at the onsite restaurant and there are plenty of other places to eat in walking distance. There is a grocery store not too far away and after a visit we had snacks for our in room fridge and microwave. The bus stops during the day to take you into the old town so you don't need to drive and hunt for parking. We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWL_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

JWL_VT,
Wow! We can't beat perfect! Thank you for sharing what a fabulous stay you had here at the Castillo Real. Our goal is for everyone to feel the way you do about their stay with us. We are eager to welcome you back as soon as you can get here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel was very nice and had a wonderful restaurant in the hotel much to our surprise as we did not anticipate such a good restaurant. Delicious late dinner. Coffee and water available in lobby at all times and much travel information readily available. Staff was attentive to our needs as we wanted non allergic pillows and comforters.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Foodie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Foodie410,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I will pass on the info regarding the restaurant, as they are independently owned and operated. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities and that our staff met all of your needs. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I can only describe the décor as 'upscale funky Mediterranean'. Nothing negative meant by saying that. The place is gorgeous. Bright orange and yellow hues and strange, modernistic paintings in equivalent colors. Our room was an "inexpensive" room so I would assume that it was a smaller room, but it was substantially larger than the inexpensive rooms in most upscale hotels. Great bathroom, shower only with the sink and make-up area external to the bathroom. Large, double-sided make-up mirror and comfortable seat made the "boss-lady" happy. Nice outdoor pool with a giant funky fountain that looked like a mushroom. Orange pool towels. CARPETED FIRE STAIRS!!! You've GOT to be kidding!!! The nice, friendly computer area just off the lobby has bookshelves so that it's not your usual austere area for printing your boarding pass. Lots of really nice and well-thought-out little touches. It really is a wonderful property and we will certainly stay here if we return to St Aug. The shower floor is constructed of the same tiles as the shower walls and they become extremely slippery when your feet are soapy. The hotel has provided a rubber shower mat, but the shower is soooo large that the mat only covers a small area of the floor. Stay on the mat. We travel a lot and we've stayed at some pretty nice places, but this is a one-of-a-kind property. I'm 70 and in pretty good shape, but I felt a good 10 years younger while we were here. It's just that kind of a place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveawningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

steveawningman,
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our boutique atmosphere here at the Castillo Real. I am glad that we made the "boss-lady" happy with the bathroom design and amenities. It seems as though you were really able to relax and enjoy yourselves while you were hear and that make everything we do worth it. We really do try to pay attention to the small details that others may overlook. It is nice that you noticed that we do go to that extra effort. I will look into what we can do with the shower floors, thank you for that info, as the staff does not actually shower in them; that is info we would not have with out guest input. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful property and beautiful city soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our second stay in an Ascend Collection hotel and both have been top notch. The entire facility was excellent. While we were there they were in the process of replacing all the furniture in the rooms, even though the furniture in our room certainly did not look like it needed it.

There is a rather upscale restaurant in the hotel. We didn't eat there, but it looked very nice. The only downside to our trip was that the only available breakfast was in this restaurant which cost guests $8.50 each. We went elsewhere.

I can highly recommend this hotel. We will certainly be looking for more Ascend Collection hotels during our travels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Larry H,
We are glad to hear that you have had such wonderful experiences at the Ascend hotels that you have visited. Since we have completed our renovation our rooms appear larger and more open. We hope that you will return to experience them. Please have safe travels and enjoy all of your future Ascend Collections stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice Hotel just a block off the beach. Front desk girl was pleasant and helpful. In hotel restaurant is very nice - upscale - not a beach bar. Hotel is surrounded with other beach bar places to eat, so there is good variety. Pool area is nice. Our room was clean and pleasant. There was a ocean view, but it is over the roof tops of some houses so expect that if you ask for an ocean view. In room Jacuzzi was really very weak, so was more like a large swirling bathtub, but it was ok. In room Fridge, Microwave and coffee maker. Large comfortable bed. The beautiful beach was 3 minute walk away. The pier is 0.5 mile walk up the beach. I will come back here

Room Tip: Ask for a East side room. There is a very busy road on the west side and there will be street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Steve P,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. Your depiction of our ocean view is very accurate, thank you for that. I am happy to hear that you found our staff pleasant, and our rooms clean. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is our second visit to this property and both times the visit has been pleasant. The rooms are clean and the staff is very accommodating. The location is convenient, also. On this visit. the room phones were acting up and we couldn't get a wake up call. The staff sent someone to our room to knock on the door. I thought that was very thoughtful and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable to sleep on, something I put a lot of value in. I do have one complaint and that is the water pressure in the shower - not exactly what I'd call "free flowing". Adequate tho.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyking09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Skyking09,
First off, thank you for your repeat business and taking the time to write your review. I apologize for the phone issues and am happy to hear that the front desk was able to find a solution to the problem. I will have maintenance check into the water pressure issue. Once again thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
899 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $115 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing