We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotels website doesn't do justice for how beautiful it is! We stayed on the 4th floor with beautiful ocean views. The rooms are very unique, extremely clean and moderately spacious. We loved the Spanish theme, big shower, & huge jacuzzi. The balcony was my favorite part though, we watched the sunrise a few mornings and were in heaven!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotURavgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

honeymooner4211,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear when a guest is able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. It seems as though you were really able to relax on your vacation and we can't ask for more than that. If you are ever in the area again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 862 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is honestly the best on the beach as far as cleanliness and service is concerned. The location is great, although lots of people think it’s right on the beach, it’s on the ocean side of the street and less than a 2 minute walk to the beach. The staff is always so friendly and the rooms are immaculate. We are a young couple, not at all the “party” type and prefer hotels with more mature guests and not a lot of noise. This hotel was perfect!

We stumbled upon this hotel when we had an awful experience at an “Ocean View” inn on Vilano beach. The Castillo had one room available and the woman at the front desk was very pleasant and was able to help with our situation.

The Castillo Real is now our go-to hotel in St. Augustine and we tell all our family and friends about it, and now my family stays here every time they visit. It can be a bit pricey at times, but remember, you get what you pay for. You can usually get a good deal if you book early enough. The Castillo is also a part of the Choice Hotels line, so we signed up for the “Choice Rewards” card and get good rates through them too.

So if you want to be guaranteed a great stay, clean rooms and friendly staff and don’t mind a tiny walk to the beach, choose this hotel! You won’t regret it!! Oh, and not to mention, it is within walking distance to great restaurants and right next door to a beach store!

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms don’t offer a full ocean view. We go with a regular room and a lot of times, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

JJCreasy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I also appreciate your description of our location, that we are not directly on the beach.We are glad that you noticed the cleanliness and service. Those are the some of the most important things that we work on everyday. We are so glad that you keep choosing to return. We hope yo feel at home here and we look forward to your next stay. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary this weekend in St. Augustine, Florida. We stayed at the Castillo Real Hotel. Our stay was lovely. We were greeted in our room with two delicious cupcakes and a handwritten letter from the hotel's manager welcoming us and thanking us for experiencing our anniversary with them. The rooms were very grand. The huge jacuzzi tub was great after a long day of sight seeing. The breakfast at the restaurant on location was delicious and very formal. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSUTiger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

JSUTiger98,

Happy Anniversary! We are very glad you enjoyed the cupcakes. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. Hopefully we will see you back again for your 8th Anniversary. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We truly stumbled on the Castillo Real when our GPS got us lost trying to locate the Holliday Isle at midnight after a long day at Disney in Orlando. The Castillo looks like a Mexican style resort that you may find in Puerto Vallarta, with fantastic service and great location. When we arrived late at night, the overnight desk clerk, who's name escapes me, but is a very nice young man, went out of his way to help us and even bumped us to a Jacuzzi suite for our 2 night stay! The rooms were very well decorated, with full tile floors throughout and a massive walk in shower, again fully tiled. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room had both a microwave and a mini fridge with complementary bottled water. The hotel has a great restraint and has terrific free coffee in the lobby, along with a great workout room, and sauna/ steam room! The hotel is located less than 30 yards from the beach right down the side street. The whole area is terrific with a lot of beach bar and cafes within walking or biking distance. Another thing that you definitely do not want to miss is The Tasting Tours in historic St Augustine! How about a horse drawn carriage ride with WINE, and food and your own tour guide telling you not only about all of the history, but the fun antidotes associated with St Augustine like the "Kissing Tree", and the great shoppes that you normally wouldn't get to see on a normal drab tour! We will most definitely be back to St Augustine, stay at the Castillo Real and go through another Wine tour with friends.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

mangodesk340,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we very much enjoyed reading your review. I have passed onto Josh, the overnight desk clerk, how greatful you were for his assistance. We can't wait until you return to the area and we can welcome you back. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was supposed to be on the ocean. We paid about double what we could have by staying at a nice hotel closer to St. Augustine. There is a street and houses between the hotel and beach. Our view was of the building next door.
Note: We were NOT charged the rate that was quoted online, and when I received the email confirmation, instead of showing the rate, it said "Rates are confidential; please contact the hotel directly for more information." I have never before received a confirmation email that did not show the rate. I highly suggest you confirm the correct rate is on the "sign-in" paper you initial. (I let this one get past me because I have never had this issue before.) Also, the rate had tripled from the time I started looking online, to when I actually booked. But this is probably typical when spring break/high season begins.
However, to be fair, the room was HUGE and very clean. Upon check in, we were offered breakfast vouchers for $8 at the hotel's restaurant La Cocina which included entree and drink. The food was very good, but service was pretty bad. We had to wait a LONG time, and it was not crowded. I asked 3 times for water, then gave up. Next time we will stay in town and save $$.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver1953Atlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Silver1953Atlanta_GA,
Thank you for staying with us. I am curious to know which website that you booked through, so that I may contact them. The 2 websites directly linked with the hotel (choicehotels.com and castilloreal.com) do include the rates in the email confirmations. I apologize that someones website misled you. We state that we are Ocean view and not Ocean front. We do let guests know that we are on the same side of the street as the beach, but that there are private homes between us and the sand. I am glad that you did enjoy your room and your meal in the restaurant. I will pass on to the owner of the La Cocina your Kind words about your meal and also that the service could have been better. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed two nights, the room was huge, bed super comfortable, shower awesome. Unless your a big eater don't bother with the breakfast voucher. The pool was big and clean. The only problem is that I paid for an ocean view and if you looked really hard you could see it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobkat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

bobkat53,
I am so glad to hear that you found your room to be well appointed and comfortable. I apologize that the view is not what you were expecting. Hopefully we will have the chance to make your next stay even better. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on our way to other destinations in Florida, we have always found it clean and inviting, short walk to the beach, nice friendly staff.,highly recommend. Good restaurant nearby, walking distance Sunset Grille,check it out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Ron R,
We are so glad that we have become your regular stopping point in your travesl. Having a guest return time and again is the highest compliment. Thank you and we are waiting to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
899 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $115 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing