We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay out of crazy downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay out of crazy downtown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a very nice little hotel with a great staff and service. As other reviewers noted the drive into town is no big deal and there is also a trolley if you prefer not driving in. Ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was good. The only drawbacks: there was no bar and the bedding wasn't very comfortable but I was still very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLuxFishVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
GuidelineLisa,

I am happy to hear you were able to find a bit of sanity and room to breathe, away from the downtown area, here at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    254
    69
    26
    10
See reviews for
227
414
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Castillo Real. The location was close to restaurants, shopping, and the beach. The staff was helpful, friendly, and very courteous. Our room was very clean and really spacious. The rates were very reasonable!! We will gladly stay again on our next trip to St. Augustine. I highly recommend the Castillo Real.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Brenda M,

Thank you for taking the time, during this busy holiday season, to let everyone know how much you enjoyed everything that our hotel has to offer. Staff friendliness and helpfulness, along with cleanliness are our biggest focuses. It seems that we met all of these with you and your family. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked this on Hotwire and could not have been happier. I think we paid $68, on a Sunday night (lowest occupancy night of the week). The room was clean, large, and had a large clean bathroom. What more could you want?
No breakfast, coffee available in the room and lobby.
It is about 7 miles from downtown St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Postman83,

We are happy to hear you were able to get a great deal with us and that you enjoyed yourselves. It seems that you felt you got a great value for your dollar. I also see you noticed the pride we take in our cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times when in the area for business. The hotel provides great access to the beach and is in a very quiet area. Would recommend to anyone! There are also several places to eat within a close distance to the hotel. If you need to grab some groceries, there is a Publix a couple miles down the street, which is very easy to drive to.

Denver Stick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Denver S,

Thakn you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your time with us enough to keep coming back. We are eager to welcome you back to your home away from home, next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I did a Priceline bid for the hotel. The rooms are fantastic, clean, and located 1 block from the beach. Travertine bathrooms and foyer in each room. Would definitely stay again. We didnt try the restaurant, it was a little pricey, but so is everything else in the tourist zone of both St. Augustine, and St. A Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Brian H,
I am happy to hear you got a good value for your money and also enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to reviw our hotel and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean, quiet, beds were very comfortable. Interior has architectural class. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Had two meals at their restaurant that where excellent. Would certainly stay there again

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyous77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Joyous77,

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are thrilled you noticed our cleanliness, as we strive for this to be noticable to everyone. It is also nice to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Plese join us again next time you visit our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went to St. Augustine to see the Christmas Lights, stayed at the Castillo Real which turned out to be a beautiful hotel and was convenient to everything in St. Augustine.
Rooms were very nice and very clean, the staff was always available if you were in need of anything. Will stay there again on our next visit to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astaire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Astaire S,
I really hope that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Christmas light in town. This is such a lovely time of year to visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found everything to be clean and convienent. We really do pride ourselves on cleanliness and friendliness. It seems that you were able to experience both of those during your stay. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing