We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn & Suites(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Saint Augustine Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveler rating
499
273
74
28
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
273
74
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast vouchersbeautiful hotelvanity areaour room was spaciouscocina restaurantdvd playeron site restaurantocean viewshort walkhot tubst augustineaugustine beachgreat restaurantbooked this hotelthird floorhistoric areadefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 889 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are clean and well appointed and the desk staff extremely friendly and helpful. We have stayed here many times over the years in our occasional weekend get aways and have yet to be dissapointed. The restaurant, La Cocina is superb. You would not find better food in the more culinary sophisticated cities in the country.

Room Tip: You have to try the restaurant. It is on a par with places like New York, New Orleans and San Francisco.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mongo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Mongo71,
Thank you for returning again and again. We always eager to find out when we get it right and our guests keep coming back. You can't beat cleanliness and friendliness, so it is wonderful to hear that you always feel you are getting those items. I will also pass along your fondness for the La Cocina Restaurant. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After staying a few exits up the interstate, my husband and I decided to extend our stay and booked a great rate for Castillo Real on HotWire. We were both presently suprised and delighted with this boutique style hotel. The beds are so comfortable, the best I have ever slept on. The staff was great. We arrived early and though the room was not quite ready the staff gave us a parking pass and day pass for the pool. If we travel back to St Augustine, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Shannon S,
That is what vacation is about.....rest. I am so glad to hear that you slept so well. That is one of the many things we pride ourselves on. It also sounds as if you received great customer service, and we ca't wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Beautiful rooms, facilities, pool and a great staff. Didn't try the restaurant, but made short walk to the beach to watch the sunrise, although I could have seen it from my balcony. If you want the full affect, get a 4th floor room, but the third floor view is pretty good too. It had the look and feel of a very high-end hotel for much less cost.

Room Tip: Get a 4th or 3rd floor room facing the beach if you can be up for the sunrise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Neil H,
I am happy to hear that you were plesantly surprised by our property and staff. We always strive to exceed guests expectations and we love to hear when we have. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip through St. Augustine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in saint augustine, florida with my family for a few days. This hotel was our saving Grace. More importantly, Stacey, at the front desk, made our vacation so special. She took the time to go over the town and explain everything to us. When ever we went by the desk we were me with a smile and warmth that was real. It was a shame when Stacey wasn't working, lean was always in the back, when we had a question it was as if we disturbed her. She wanted us to buy tickets, and when we didnt she didn't want to help us. I dont know how an employer goes from wonderful employees to absentee employees.
The rooms were clean, big, comfortable, and had awesome black out cutains that made our sleep so wonderful. We slept in everyday, and with children. Housekeepers were polite and prompt. The manager, Rachel, came out when Stacey was at the front desk and it was as if we were their friends. My negative comment would be that the hotel should have Stacey never leave.
This is not the finest hotel that i have stayed in, but it is the finest hotel experience that i have ever had. Thanks to Stacey and Rachel. Lean almost ruined our stay, but since she was never at the desk we just asked the houskeepers and maintenance men anything we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marywaller1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said about this property. Our 7 day stay at the Castillo Real was just perfect. Friendly staff, very clean, quiet rooms, beds that were extremely comfortable, granite countertops and huge walk-in tiled shower. Even though the motel was not directly on the beach, it was as close to the ocean as some that were advertised as "beachfront".
Free continential breakfast would be the only thing that could make it better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Beach226,
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welocming you back again the next time you are visiting our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews