We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castillo Real Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castillo Real Review”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel was recommended by our friends in Atlanta. It is a very nice hotel. We loved the - boutique type hotel as it was very cozy and calm. The restaurant was elegant and had delicious food. We loved the pool and other accomodations. The staff was real nice. Rooms were wonderful. The location is perfect, quiet but with a lot to do. Also very close to get to historic area in St. Augustine and good shops, restaurants and other attractions. We liked it so well that we can't wait to go back for another vacation. It is one of our favorite places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Loved the King Size Jacuzzi tub room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Claudia L,

We are so happy that you took your friends advise and visited us. We love to hear that word of mouth really does work. Thank you for your kind words and wonderful descrpition of our hotel. I am so glad that this one of your favorite places and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    261
    70
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
425
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel has a great location. You can park your car and walk everywhere. There are very good restaurants near by. The hotel itself is very nice. It is the nicest one in the beach area. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good and a nice fine dining choice for dinner. The hotel and rooms are very clean. They also have great window shades that can make it nice and dark and easy to sleep late. The beach is easy to get to and there is plenty of beach after the resent beach restoration in the area. The pool area is also very nice. The front desk staff, management and housekeeping are all very friendly and knowledgeable. Maureen, Melinda, Stacy and Rachel all make you feel right at home. In fact, I made a booking error and they were happy to fix the situation for me with out making me feel bad about my mistake. It is a good hotel choice for either a family trip or a romantic weekend. We try to spend as many of our free weekends here as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haciendamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Haciendamargarita,
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our property. I will pass along your kind words to the La Cocina Restaurant and to our wonderful staff. They love to hear when people remember them. I glad that you were able to take advantage of our awesome black out shades, and get what I assume was some much needed rest. We look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Enjoyed the stay there had wonderful help and the service was awesome! Stacey at the front desk was a big help and made the stay even more enjoyable with all her help! And they have an amazing resteraunt in the hotel which is like heaven def would recommend to others!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nexttrippleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Nexttrippleas,

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed you recent stay with us. Customer service is our #1 priority and it seems we succeeded with you. We appreciate your kind words and are eager to welocme you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend and had a great time. We loved the decor and the cleanliness of the whole property. Housekeeping did a great job and front desk was quick and responsive. It's just a short walk to the beach and is in a great location. I will stay here again when we go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PCB32413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
IS3,

Thank you. Thank you for your stay; Thank you for your kind words; and Thank you for your review. We hope to welocme you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I loved my stay here. As you walk in the hotel to check in, you're greeted by wonderful art work and a beautiful chandelier. The staff was very nice and helpful, especially the overnight front desk lady. She was awesome and allowed us to go swimming after hours. The room was way nicer than we expected. Even for being right on the beach, everything was well kept. Room and house keeping did everything in a timely fashion. I defiantly will be staying here again when I come back in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meluhknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Meluhknee,
We are glad to hear that our first impression on you was not the only one you enjoyed while here. We love to hear when guests are happy. I am thrilled to hear that our staff left a great impression on you and that you were pleasantly surprised by your accommodations. Tank you for your stay and we await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for my niece's wedding. The accommodations were great and we really enjoyed ourselves at the hotel. I would recommend the hotel for a weekend getaway! The weather cooperated and having a wedding on the beach was superb and all the guests at the wedding were pleased with the location choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Anthony S,
We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We drove down from Raleigh, NC and wanted a nice, romantic getaway and we found it at the Castillo Real. We had such a great time. We stayed for a week and absolutely loved it. Our room was very nice, the staff was great, the pool was cool and refreshing. The bed was extremely comfortable. The lady that checked us in, STACY, was the absolute best. She was extremely knowledgable about the area and was a great help to us in finding a new place to eat every night. Next time we are in St. Augustine, we will be staying here!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Stacy before you decide on a place to eat. She knows all of the good places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Chris S,

I am so happy to hear that you loved your recent stay with us and that our staff was able to make your stay even better. Cleanliness and service are our 2 main focuses and it seems we got it right with you. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you visit our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing