We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Property and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Property and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I recently had a block of rooms at the Castillo Real for my wedding guests. At least 50 people stayed at the Castillo Real, and I think the front desk knew most of them by name. The rooms are large; beds are comfortable; and you can't beat the location. But, the staff really exceeded our expectations. Welcoming, accommodating and warm ... all of them. This is a great boutique hotel, and certainly the best hotel in St. Augustine beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We were so glad that you choose for your wedding party to stay with us. We had so much fun with them while they were hear. It felt like everyone was part of one big family. Our staff was more than happy to help accommodate anything and everything that was needed. We are all hoping that we will see some of you and your freinds and family again in the future. Congratulations on the marriage and we hope to help you celebrate many anniversaries along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    254
    68
    25
    10
See reviews for
225
411
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I checked into this hotel April 17th and stayed through April 19th. We were in Florida staying with family off the St. Johns river and wanted a couple of nights to ourselves. I looked up reviews and made an easy decision after all the positive reviews on this site. The service at this place is beyond supurb. We had one small issue that actually made this experience the main reason I'm writing this review. (and it's positive). We checked into this hotel, got to our room and threw down our luggage so we could go explore old town. Didn't make it back until 10:30 that evening. We got to our room, unpacked a little and sat down to watch some tv. One problem: the tv wouldn't turn on. This hotel has a flat screen tv, DVD player and cable box all with remotes; so we tried all three. Not one worked, tried the buttons on the tv, turned the tv to check the cables... and nothing. I was a little dissapointed since it was late but I simply walked up front to the desk to see what could be done. The very pleasent woman at the front desk was very understanding, even came to our room to check it out as well. In the end, we couldn't get the TV to work. She said "looks like I need to get you a new tv", and took about 3 steps to the door. She stopped and asked us if were unpacked and if so to just go ahead and get our stuff ready, she was going to put us in a different room. We didn't bring a lot and we were fine with moving. She moved us from the 1st floor standard room to a 3rd floor room with a view and a huge tub. Our original room had a king bed and she wanted to give us a room with a king, this was all she had. Perfect. BOTH rooms were HUGE, but this one was amazing with the tub as a bonus! The hotel let us stay in the room both nights and didn't charge us any different. 100% professional and polite customer service! We left with HUGE smiles and had a great time. This was the 3rd week the desk clerk had been working there too, sorry I cannot remember her name but we wanted to thank you! You were awesome!

Besides our unique experience, the hotel is beautiful. Very nice lobby with FREE coffee all day and night. Nice pool outside however we didn't take advantage of it. There is what look like an old SPA on the 4th floor that has a sauna and steam room. Could use a couple more workout machines but was nice to offer none the less. There is a great balcony looking over the front of the hotel that was neat to walk out on. Maybe some tables and chairs out there would be a nice touch too! The rooms were HUGE and nicely decorated. Loved the wood headboards, art and other decorations. The beds a comfortable and we slept GREAT! Huge vanity area with ladies make-up area and HUGE walk-in tile shower. There was a microwave in the room as well as a mini fridge with 2 bottles of water! Room was clean and tidy and crisp. Didn't look worn in any way. Our upgraded room had a whirlpool tub that was big enough for 2+, I'm 6 foot 4 and fit with NO issues and LOTS of room to spare. Took a while to fill, but it's a really big tub!

Hotel has a restaurant in the lobby, smelled good but we had too many options on the beach and in old town, so we did not take advantage of it. The hotel is 1 block back from the ocean. There is a road next to the hotel that you can walk to the entrance. Beach was calm and comfortable. Not too crowded and very nice sandy beach. We strolled down the beach to A street where there is a GREAT little beachfront place called the Beachcomber. My wifes family has been coming there for years and it was amazing! I think we went 4 times throughout our week stay in the St. Augustine area. Good dinner, drinks and Aligator tail!

All in all, a great trip. Really appreciate the customer service and wonderful hotel! Will stay here next time, might spring for the ocean front room next time!

All in all, great hotel. Really appreciate the customer service and

Room Tip: first floor rooms don't have a view, you get what you pay for though. There are plenty of ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redgagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We are so glad to hear that what could have been a dissappointing stay, turned out to be so wonderful. Stacey, the FD clerk, was thrilled to hear that she was able to make your stay so memorable. I am sorry about the small issue that you did have; but I am so glad to hear how happy you were with the way it was handled. We can't wait to see you again in the future and help you to make more amazing memories. We Welcome you to the Castillo Real Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here on a quick overnight trip to St. Augustine. Because we had previously stayed in Old Town, we wanted to try the beach. This hotel is clean, the employees are friendly, the pool is nice, and it's one block off the beautiful beach. Although check-in is not until 4PM, we were given a room when we arrived at 1PM. There are a couple of restaurants nearby-we had a great meak at Sunset Grille. We didn't take the Trolley into town but it picks you up right at the door if you want to make the trip. Overall, we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms have nice balconies with chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabreline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We love to hear when guests feel they got a great value. Thank you so much for your kind words about the friendliness of our staff and your great experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and making more wonderful memories for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We chose this hotel based on other reviews. We had good interactions with staff and were very happy with room. The lobby is distinctive and lovely.
We got a standard 2 queen room for 4 of us. There was room for reading chairs and a desk and it still felt roomy. There was a fridge and microwave too. The bathroom area was divided up nicely for privacy with an extra vanity area so I could apply makeup while hubby shaved. We used pool and hot tub and walked to beach. Is not oceanfront but since it was really blustery we enjoyed the shelter of the walls around the pool. Easy access to old st Augustine. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC-Jen_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experence. We ar so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your interactions with the staff were positive. We were happy to read that you were able to make use of some of our wonderful ammenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was a great hotel for the price! I had looked first at the Best Western, but it was more expenisve and it is not even right on the beach. So glad we went with this one instead! The room was large with a nice bathroom and right on the beach. Cute Spanish inspired furnishings that gave it some originality for a beach hotel. Great restaurants are just a walk away. Super pool for the kids! Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholeysmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
We are thrilled that you found us to be a great value. Thank you for the kind words about our rooms and pool area and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The staff was very great, when we arrived and the girl gave us our room it was a different price then we reserved, right away she corrected it. We had a view of the pool, and well part of the ocean, which I knew about before I booked, after reading reviews, I was happy to be on the 3rd floor. The Sunrise was just perfect from the balcony. The steam shower, and Sauna on the 4th floor where a great little treat after walking all day in St. Augustine. The showers was very nice and large, plus the Jacuzzi tub in the room was great. Great restaurant in the hotel, all I can say about the food is WOW, A short walk down the side street to the beach. there is a little Ice Cream place a block away on the left which was a nice evening walk, and a store for gifts on the right a block away. Just a short drive to Downtown St. Augustine, and a few other places not to far on A1A to eat. If you go there you must check out Salt Water Cowboys, great seafood.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drivingalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of our property. The staff is always thrilled to hear that they were a help to someone and remembered for their effort. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy most of the ammenities that the hotel has to offer and the close proximity of the local attractions and eaterys. We look forward to seeing you again, if you return to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was the nicest hotel I've stayed in. Very modern and yet colonial style with a lot of granite and marble throughout. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. I loved the very large showers. Great coffee served all day in the front lobby. They have a very nice restaurant there. It's just a very short one block walk with direct access to the beach. They only problem was I couldn't get their WiFi to work from my room. I had to go out to the lobby to connect, and saw this was a problem for others as well. Staff was friendly and I would reccommend this place to everyone. Is close to restaurants and shopping but a bit of a drive to downtown. The trolley shuttle will pick up right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that your accommodations exceeded your expectations. We are fairly certain that we remedied the WiFi problem just this past week and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1A Beach Boulevard, Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing