We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place-Great Location”
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We were originally staying with friends, but decided to stay closer to the airport. The hotel offered a great rate and had a good rating.

The hotel is a very, very short walk from the beach. The beach is very clean and wonderful for walking. It is also a short drive from the historic area. Which we stumbled upon. Very cute.

The check-in staff at the front desk was wonderful. They were very helpful. The pool was clean and nice.

Although we did not dine, the food looked and smelled great. The only complaint (not that it is really a complaint is no room service)

Overall it was a great stay at a great value.

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach and the historic area
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartmouthhockeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    261
    70
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
425
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of January and will not be staying here again.

In the Choice Hotels directory, the description sounded like it would be a very elegant place to stay. Unfortunately, I was so impressed with the 'elegant' that I didn't realize that breakfast is NOT included as it is in many of the other hotels. We drove a few blocks south to Sea Oats Caffe, 1075 A1a Beach Blvd. which turned out to be the BEST breakfast and FRIENDLIEST service. I had a big bowl of homemade oatmeal with fresh fruit and enjoyed every bite. Very reasonably prices.

When we cheked in to the Castillo Real, we had difficulty understanding the not-terribly-friendly woman who checked us in. The room was very large and at first glance looked elegant just like the hotel -- at first glance.

The shower/toilet room was like a large closet. In the morning it took a long time to get hot water in the shower. The finishing work was very poor and noticeable. The lamps on either side of the king bed were not good for reading and the room was on the dark side. There was no place to hang out a few hand washables. Everything seemed to be just a little bit 'off.'

We ate dinner in the on-site restaurant which was good and also expensive. It was difficult to understand our server.

The lobby computer was definitely hi-speed but the wireless connection in our room was sluggish.

We thought we were in for a luxurious treat but that just did not happen. We will stay elsewhere next time.

This was our first time staying in a Clarion Hotel and we will be more careful if we ever decide to choose one again.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank missannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We just returned from a Saturday night away from the kids. Very happy with our choice of hotel. We come to the St. Augusinte area once or twice a year for the past 20 years, and found this hotel one of the best. We had a king, with whirlpool bath, ocean view room, with balcony. Room was beautiful and spacious, including the bathroom area, all were very clean. Ocean view, really means you can see just a tiny piece of the ocean during daylight hours, but was no big deal. Ocean was a 2 minute walk. We did not try the restaurant, but there were many people for dinner on Saturday night, as well as for breakfast on Sunday morning. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kirbey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

My husband and I found this wonderful place called St Augustine Fl. We walked into the Castille Real but there were no vacancies. The next chance we had to visit St Augustine we booked a room at Castille Real. It is a wonderful hotel. Beautifully decorated, superbly kept, immaculately clean. The rooms are large and spacious. The marble floor in the bathroom and shower is lovely. The bed was comfortable. I love this hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is five star caliber.
Make a special trip to St Augustine and stay at the Castille Real you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

My family and I stayed here for the weekend. Having stayed at other places in the area we decided to give this place a try. First impression was great. Very nice paver driveway and very nice lobby.

Once we got into our rooms, we were surprised. Surprised because we paid so little for such a nice room. We had a nice sizable two bed room. It had free high speed which was perfect for our laptop and iphones. The room was very nicely decorated. The blinds kept all of the light out. Even our baby slept until 9:30 AM the first night.

The bathroom did not have a bath, only a shower, but was very nice. The vanity area is nice because it's seperate from the shower which allowed us to get ready faster.

Pool area was nice with a nice hottub.

My wife and I are going back in Feb for our anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Hotel seems new and the hardware is upscale. During our stay December 5, 2007, the room was very clean, but maybe too much so as it smelled of chlorox-cleaning-type fluid. Got a 4th floor room(top), as requested on line, but facing the street. Was presently surprised that there was no street noise. However, our Room 403 was in close proximity to the center of the hotel, and I assume the elevator motors were making that humming noise we heard at night. Didn't bother me, but my wife complained about it.
Staff were a bit cold, maybe typical of Eastern Europeans, which is what they seemed to be.
The eggs benedict breakfast was excellent, although at $26 inc tip for two, a little bit more than the free breakfasts at the lower cadre of Choice Hotel options.
I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Liked — upscale furnishings
  • Disliked — chlorox odor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

This was my first stay at a Clarion, so I really wasn't sure what to expect. I was very happy with almost everything about this hotel! Check-in went smoothly. Having never been to the area before, I had a few questions for the desk clerk. He was quite helpful. When I walked into the room, I was instantly impressed! The room had two queen beds, but still seemed spacious. The decor and color combinations were beautiful! And the beds were soooo comfortable! Housekeeping had also done a wonderful job.

The bathroom area consisted of a sink and vanity outside the actually door to the bathroom which had a toilet and a large walk-in shower. It was listed in the room description that way, so I wasn't surprised by it. One concern I had, was the marble floor in the shower was VERY slippery. I suggest bringing shower shoes.

If you want to workout, they have a fitness center with three machines and free weights. Also in the fitness center is a sauna and steam room. The hotel also has spa services. I didn't use that so I don't know what services they offer.

The pool was great! Large, clean, and not your typical rectangle. I loved it.

No breakfast was provided but they do have a full service restaurant and have coffee available all day in the hallway.

This hotel IS NOT beach front, the website didn't try to make it sound like it was. The walk to the beach is very short, and no busy streets have to be crossed to get there.

You will have to drive about two miles to find a grocery store or pharmacy, but there are several restaurants within walking distance.

I was very happy with my stay here and look forward to coming back!

  • Liked — Bed and pool.
  • Disliked — Slippery shower.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RhiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing