We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH MY WORD! A must stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

When I got online to book rooms, I just wanted a good place to stay and not too far from the beach....well let me just tell you folks, for the money we spent I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw this was our place to stay. You walk to the beach! It's GORGEOUS! Very stylish! Very friendly. Very much welcoming! You will NOT be disappointed if you choose this hotel. We all agreed that the bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip! My husband and I will be returning there again in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msminner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 864 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Thanks to our AAA travel agent, we were directed to this hotel after checking out one that we were going to stay at. And boy we were very happy. The rooms, the staff, the location to the beach and the POOL. You could not ask for more. We had a pool view for four (4) nights. Grand kids spent almost the entire stay in the pool, with the beack only less then a 1/2 block away. Will be returning in the future. Must say this is more geared for adults, but kids loved it. Thanks AAA rep. for your re-direction to Castillo Real

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deputy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I came down to spend some time on the beach. The hotel was very nice and convenient. Spacious and clean rooms. Nice staff. The only thing we would have preferred is to have more light in the room and to be able to close the curtain on the window instead of just having the valence over the window. A very short walk away from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is beautiful! We spent two nights here in July on our way home from Orlando, and we wished we would have booked a week. Rooms very comfortable and beautiful. Bathroom is absolutely gorgeous with a huge tile shower that I did not want to get out of. You just have to walk out the backdoor and past a condo and you are on a beautiful beach. Pool area was nice with comfy lounge chairs and water features that the kids liked.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellutvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were very pleased with this hotel. Unlike previous reviews state, the swimming pool does not overlook old houses. It is only a short walk to the beach, which was very good for our family. However, the rooms are very dark. At 9 AM with the blinds closed I thought the clock was wrong. There is also some very bizarre artwork in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOTHEROFTRAVLERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

as an anniversary mid week get a way our experience at this hotel was comfortable and relaxing. The beds were comfortable, the showers were nice. our room had a hot tub, DVD player, bathrobes and other ammenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast at the restaurant seemed expensive ubtil it was delivered. The quality was well worth it. We will return

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffalobob666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Location was great, just a short walk down dead-end street to beach access. Rooms were standard but clean, bathrooms are huge! The pool is small, but great for small children. It has a zero entry with a water feature. Not many restaurants in the area, so bring some snacks/drinks. It is just a short drive to historic area attractions.

Room Tip: Do not recommend getting gulf-view room, it is blocked by beach houses, your only view is of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
830 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,401 reviews
4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $110 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing