We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We were very happy with our two night stay at the Castillo Real. The lobby was beautiful, our room was clean and well stocked with Bath & Bodyworks products, the pool was clean and the beach was close and BEAUTIFUL! I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hawkorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 876 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Through the rewards program that this hotel offers (Choice Privileges), we secured a rate of $89 for a week night and $125 for the weekend for a king, non-smoking room.

The bed was huge and comfortable. Our room had a coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The hotel offers high speed internet and they have a computer with Internet access in the lobby for complimentary use. There is also a pool and hot tub. Although we did not use the services, the hotel has a spa and fitness center.

If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend that you request a room away from the elevator.

Although the hotel does not offer complimentary breakfast, they do have their own restaurant that I believe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The hotel is a very short walk to the white sandy beach.

A neat thing that I liked about this hotel is how great the drapes in the room shun the light from entering our room in the mornings. At 9am in our room, with the drapes drawn, it looked like it was midnight. This probably helped us sleep a little longer than usual. If this appeals to you, I would suggest requesting a room facing west.

For great eats, check out Cafe Eleven, a few steps away from the hotel. We had a delicious breakfast buffet there. Also, check out O'steens for yummy shrimp at terrific prices. They do not accept cash. Be aware that this restaurant usually has a long wait, but it's worth it to try it at least once.

We would likely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jak000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

This hotel is not on the beach but a short walk of a block away. Only the highest rooms on the ocean side have a limited water view. The lower rooms are blocked by buildings. The non-smoking room smelled of smoke. They have a major roof leak and the carpet smelled of mildew. We booked the largest most expensive room they advertised and they tried to put us in a smaller one without telling us. When we complained that it was not what we paid for they said that all of those were booked. When we contemplated leaving they suddenly found one that was free. We can usually find something nice to say about all hotels, but this one should be avoided.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank frtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

My husband and I traveled to St. Augustine for a wedding. We booked this hotel because of its better-than-average rating on TA and the close proximity to the ceremony location. We lucked out! It was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced (we got the "Internet User's Rate” on Clarion's website and shared the room with another couple).

The hotel is richly decorated with an Egyptian motif throughout. The bathrooms are spacious, well-lit and stocked with Bath & Body Works shampoo, conditioner, lotion and bar soap. The showers are large and clean, but a hook or towel bar to hang wet bathing suits would be a welcome addition.

The location is okay – not exactly beachfront – but close enough for us! The boardwalk entrance is a short walk past one other building. Many of the balconies overlook a well-kept pool area.

We did have a brief issue with our key cards not working, but that was quickly resolved by the friendly and accommodating front desk staff.

There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we didn’t eat there. One of our friends ordered a breakfast burrito of some sort. She said it was pretty good if you’re willing to pay $8 for breakfast. Otherwise, there is a Publix and plenty of smaller beachy restaurants within short driving distance -- downtown St. Augustine is only a few miles away.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ugaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I stay at this hotel everytime I visit St Augustine (1-2 times a year). We always get the king room with jacuzzi next to our bed, really nice, really spacious. The hotel staff are friendly. We always have the best time here.

We had brunch at the hotel restaurant, very good food and very good service.

Bars and beach are walking distance, and the hotel is not too far from downtown either.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tqlagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Very nice Very Clean but do not expect much for an ocean view. There is a row of homes approx 2-3 deep between you and the Ocean.

There may be a few rooms with a good view but many are not. Ask for 4th floor (highest floor).

With that being said it is easily within walking distance to the ocean.

Restuarant within motel Is very spendy.

No washout hose for your feet when returning from ocean.

Rooms are large nice and very clean. Cost is a bit high but proably better to spend an extra $50 dollars for this location though as it is Very Clean and nice.

Use fact that it is not right on the beach (although very close) and most views are very limited to negotiate price.

If you need to be right on the beach with a view go to the Quality Suites Oceanfront at Jacksonville FL. All of their rooms are full ocean view with nothing between you and the beach. Plus the location in Jacksonville has 2 free drinks with snacks in evening and free breakfast in am with bacon, waffles, sausage etc.

To my knowledge this location does not have free breakfast or drinks as restaurant inside is not owned by motel.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fallguy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

I stayed here for 15 days in March, 2007 while training for a walking marathon - the hotel, staff, management, facilities were absolutely wonderful - the room was large - huge shower - the 1st day my room was not cleaned - just an oversight, I believe - I found the staff to be pleasant and always helpful
Originally my husband and I came to St Augustine for a weeks vacation, being very, very frequent visitors to the area for many years - I made the decision to stay for additional days because of the training - St Augustine Beach is wonderful for walking and running as well as just beaching it - the sand is soft for sun bathing if that is your choice and terrific for running/walking as it is firmer where the waves make their turn so on can wear good supportive tennys - Castillo Real is located in a wonderful area - love the casual restaurants in the area such as SunSet Grille, Oasis Restaurant - most everything is within walking distance - Going into St Augustine is easily done with the shuttle or by driving - some prefer the shuttle as parking is trying in the city - DO NOT miss a meal at OC Whites (across from the marina) in St Augustine - wonderful, wonderful food - their seafood is fantastic - their chowder is out of this world good!
I'd stay at Castillo Real anytime!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvelynsMorMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.7 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: $125 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing