We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of OLD House

OLD House
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and restaurant are amazing... some amazing people run it and the rooms are top notch equally a totally perfect experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“historic home with interesting family stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This house dates back to the early 1700's and has had some modifications that date back over 200 years. Oldest home in the 'new' world. The stories behind the different owners, their families and national origins are quite interesting and the guides really do a great job bringing those stories to life. This is a short tour but well worth the effort. This is a stop on the trolley tour which does frequent stops where users may hop on and hop off.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love The History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My son and I ended up having a private tour with our guide since we were the only ones there (at that time). Tour guide was very knowledgeable and I found it interesting how the house was altered according to the nationalities of the occupants. I wish there was more to look at but the historical society appears to be trying. Map room was a little disappointing. I was hoping to see real maps.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Historic Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful tour guide who had a genuine love for this attraction. Even on the Sunday before Memorial Day it wasn't too crowded. The garden is small, but shaded and the bathrooms are clean and air-conditioned. We loved the map room, where you could see Florida take shape in the eyes of explorers over the past 300 years. It was a great experience!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OLD House also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to OLD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing